"Danesfort", or Dunfort, a parish, in the barony of Shillelogher, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 3 miles (S.) from Kilkenny, on the road to Thomastown; with the parish of Annamult, and part of that of Tradingetown or Ballyreddin, 1263 inhabitants. This parish, which is also called Dunfert and Dunsert, comprises 5832 statute acres, as applotted under the tithe act: the land is principally under tillage. Danesfort, the seat of Major Henry Wemys, is pleasantly situated; in the demesne are the ruins of an ancient church. It is a vicarage, in the diocese of Ossory, and is part of the union of Burnchurch; the rectory is impropriate in the mayor, aldermen, and burgesses of the city of Kilkenny. In the R. C. divisions it is the head of a union or district, comprising also the parishes of Ennisnag, Killahane and Grove, Grange Abbey, and Annamult, and parts of the parishes of Ballyreddin, Burnchurch, Kells, and Ballybar: there are five chapels, situated respectively at Danesfort, Lady's-well, Grange, Bennet's-bridge, and Kells-grange. There is a school at Bennet's-bridge under the National Board, in which are about 80 children; and there are two pay schools, in which about 100 are educated. Here was anciently a castle, built by William, Earl Mareschal; and there are several Danish forts in the parish.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]


Church Records

Civil Parish: Danesfort. RC Parish: Danesfort and Cuff's Grange.
Earliest Records: b. Jan 1819; m. Jan 1824.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)

 Civil           Roman Catholic  Time            FHLC 
parish           parish           period           number 
Danesfort       Danesfort       1819-1876       0926193 

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Danesfort which are provided by:



The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.


Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
 Parish         Townland                Acres   Diocese 
Danesfort       Annamult                1351    Ossory     
Danesfort       Ballyda                 339     Ossory     
Danesfort       Bennettsbridge          450     Ossory     
Danesfort       Croan                   410     Ossory     
Danesfort       Danesfort               771     Ossory     
Danesfort       Dundaryark              546     Ossory     
Danesfort       Maidenhall              160     Ossory     
Danesfort       Pigeonpark              260     Ossory     
Danesfort       Rathclogh               582     Ossory     
Danesfort       Skeaghaturrish          187     Ossory     
The civil parish of Danesfort contained the townlands of:


You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference S5279247188 (Lat/Lon: 52.573842, -7.222065), Danesfort which are provided by: