"Kilmacahill", or Kilmocahill, a parish, in the barony of Gowran, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 2 1/2 miles (N.) from Gowran, on the road from Dublin to Waterford; containing 1391 inhabitants. It comprises 4396 statute acres, mostly good arable land, with the exception of 100 acres of mountain land at Knockadeen. Limestone and flag-stone abound, and there is a marble quarry at Butler's Grove. Here is a corn-mill, worked by a small stream, which falls into the Barrow. The principal seats are Mount Rothe, Viewmount, and Paulstown Castle. The last is an ancient square pile of building, said to have formerly been the residence of Sir Pearse Butler. The living is a vicarage, in the diocese of Leighlin, and in the patronage of the Bishop; the rectory is impropriate in the Master and Brethren of the Hospital of the Holy Ghost, Waterford, and Henry Flood, Esq. There is a glebe-house, with five acres of glebe. In the R. C. divisions the parish forms part of the union or diostrict of Grange-Silvae. The parochial school in which about 20 children are educated, is partly supported by the vicar. There are also two private schools, in which about 130 children are taught.

[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]


Church Records

Civil Parish: Kilmacahill, diocese of Leighlin. RC Parish: Paulstown and Goresbridge.
Earliest Records: b. Jul 1824; m. Jan 1824.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)

 Civil           Roman Catholic  Time            FHLC 
parish           parish           period           number 
Kilmacahill     Paulstown       1824-1880       0926124 

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Kilmacahill which are provided by:



The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.


Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
 Parish         Townland                Acres   Diocese 
Kilmacahill     Ballinvally             1030    Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Butlersgrove            207     Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Castlekelly             511     Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Garryduff               866     Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Jordanstown             95      Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Kilmacahill             269     Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Paulstown               1074    Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Redbog                  95      Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Sraghgaddy              313     Leighlin 
Kilmacahill     Woodville               118     Leighlin 
The civil parish of Kilmacahill contained the townlands of:


You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference S6384656996 (Lat/Lon: 52.660785, -7.05716), Kilmacahill which are provided by: