"Powerstown", a parish, in the barony of Gowran, county of Kilkenny, and province of Leinster, 3 miles (S. E. by S.) from Gowran, on the road to Graig; containing 1718 inhabitants. This parish comprises 5508 statute acres, as applotted under the tithe act; the greater portion is good arable and pasture land, about one-half being under tillage. On the lands of Currghlane, yellow ochre of good quality is procured; and at Mount Loftus is an extensive quarry, in which is raised excellent granite of a beautiful light yellow colour, fine-grained and very compact; it may be raised in blocks of very large size, and is mostly used for gate pillars and for buildings. A constabulary police force is stationed in the parish. The living is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Leighlin, and in the alternate patronage of the Crown and the Bishop. The glebe-house is a good residence; the glebe comprises 30 acres. The church is a small neat edifice. In the R. C. divisions it forms part of the union of Graig; the chapel, a neat edifice, was erected about 10 years since, and a school-house has been recently built near it, for the completion of which the Board of National Education granted £100; about 170 children are taught in the school.
[From A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837)]


Church Records

Civil Parish: Powerstown, diocese of Leighlin. RC Parish: Graiguenamangh.
Earliest Records: b. Apr 1838; m. Jul 1818.

Cross reference to Family History Library microfilm (double-check with the Library)

 Civil           Roman Catholic  Time            FHLC 
parish           parish           period           number 
Powerstown      Graiguenamanagh 1867-1931       0926114 

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Powerstown which are provided by:



The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.


Historical Geography

Townlands (1851)
 Parish         Townland                Acres   Diocese 
Powerstown      Annaleck Lower          170     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Annaleck Upper          272     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Aughkiletaun            462     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Ballycabus              130     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Boherkyle               301     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Coolatogher             275     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Coolnabrone             163     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Courtnaboghilla         425     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Curraghlane Lower       306     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Curraghlane Upper       262     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Garryleesha             60      Leighlin 
Powerstown      Gorteen                 421     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Grove                   169     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Mountloftus             48      Leighlin 
Powerstown      Pollagh                 639     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Powerstown East         399     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Powerstown West         15      Leighlin 
Powerstown      Stakally                356     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Tincouse                132     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Tinnakeenly             188     Leighlin 
Powerstown      Tomnahaha               231     Leighlin 


You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference S6785649270 (Lat/Lon: 52.590875, -6.999487), Powerstown which are provided by: