BALLYMACORMICK, a parish, partly in the barony of ARDAGH, but chiefly in that of MOYDOW, county of LONGFORD, and province of LEINSTER, 1½ mile (S.)from Longford; containing 3935 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the road from Longford to Ballymahon, comprises 9641 statute acres, of which more than 3000 are bog and waste land: the cultivable lands are chiefly in tillage. On the lands of Mullaghavorneen coal is said to exist, but the vein has never been explored; and limestone and sandstone are found in all directions lying very near the surface. The Royal Canal runs through the parish, affording a facility of communication with Dublin. The only gentleman's seat is Rockspring House, the residence of W. Coates, Esq.

It is a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Ardagh, and is part, of the union of Templemichael: the tithes amount to £200. The church, a neat building with a square tower, situated nearly in the centre of the parish, was erected in 1826, by a gift of £900 from the late Board of First Fruits. The glebe comprises 34a. lr. l0p.

valued at £70. 12. 6. per annum. In the R. C. divisions it is included in the union or district of Templemichael, the chapel of which is situated at Shrand. The parochial school is supported by local subscriptions and an annual grant from the Ardagh Diocesan Society, and there are three other schools, altogether affording instruction to 170 boys and 170 girls; there are also nine private schools, in which are about 280 boys and 140 girls., and a Sunday school. There are some remains of the old church; and on the lands of Ballinamore are the ruins of an old church and of an ancient fortress.


from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837.


Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ballymacormick which are provided by:



The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballymacormick to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.


Historical Geography

The civil parish of Ballymacormack contained the townlands of Aghafad, Aghalust, Aghantragh, Ballinamore, Ballintempan, Ballyclare, Ballymakeegan, Ballymichan, Ballyminion, Barrack Bog, Brickeens, Caldraghmore, Calfpark, Carrigeen, Carrowmanagh, Cartronageeragh, Cloonanny, Clooneeny, Cloonkeen, Cloontirm, Cloonturk, Cordivin, Corlagan, Craane, Crockaun, Curry, Doonameran, Dunbeggan, Farnagh, Farranyoogan, Feraghfad, Garvagh, Glebe, Gorteenagloon, Gorteenboy, Gowlan, Gragh, Knockagowny, Knockanboy, Knockatarry Brickeens, Knockatarry Poynton, Lisduff, Meelick, Mullaghavorneen, Newtown, Stonepark, Trillickacurry, Trillickatemple,

The civil parish of Ballymacormick contained the following townlands: