BALLYBOYS, a village, in the barony of LOWER-DUNDALK, county of LOUTH, and province of LEINSTER, on the north side of the bay of Dundalk; the population is returned with Ballymascanlan. It comprises, according to the Ordnance survey, 1435¾ statute acres, and contains within its limits Bellurgan Park, the seat of E.Tipping, Esq., in which is a picturesque eminence commanding views of a bold and striking character. In the R. C. divisions it forms a separate district, called "The Lordship;" the chapel is situated near the bay, on the road to Riverstown.
from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballyboys to another place.
See the parish page on logainm.ie (The Placenames Database of Ireland)
The entry for Ballyboys from Griffiths Valuation 1847/64
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference J1004610040 (Lat/Lon: 54.027909, -6.321451), Ballyboys which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
710046,810040and paste it into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland.
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)