Daniel and Mrs. Wall, and the Misses Elizabeth, and Harriet Hardy: the tithes amount to £235, of which £156. 13. 4. is payable to the impropriators, and £78. 6. 8. to the dean; and the tithes of the whole benefice amount to £408. 6. 8. The church, a neat modern edifice, was erected by aid of a gift of £500 from the late Board of First Fruits, in 1815. The glebe-house is situated on a glebe of 7a. 1r. 18½ p., and there is also a glebe of 15 acres in Terryglass. In the R.C.
divisions this parish forms part of the union or district of Kilmore; the chapel is a modern building, situated on the townland of Ballyquiveane. There is a parochial school of about 20 boys and 20 girls, supported by the dean and John Bayly, Esq.,; and there are two pay schools, in which are about 80 boys and 10 girls. The poor have the benefit of the dispensaries at Nenagh and Silvermines. There are some remains of the old church adjoining the present structure, and also of the castle of Ballynaclough, which have a picturesque effect.
from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballynaclogh to another place.
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference R8940775145 (Lat/Lon: 52.827515, -8.15789), Ballynaclogh which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Irish Ordnance Survey (Has old Irish maps)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)