are payable to the rector, and the remainder to the vicar.
There is a glebe of 4a. 2r. The church is in ruins, the west window and a portion of the walls being its only remains. In the R. C. divisions the parish is the head of a union or district, called also the Four-mile-water, comprising this parish and those of Derrygrath and Kilronan: there are two chapels in the union; that of Newcastle is a large building, erected about 20 years since, and recently enlarged considerably. On the bank of the river Suir are the ruins of a castle which had been in the possession of the Birmingham family, and afterwards passed into that of the Prendergasts, and thence, at the period of the revolution, into the Perry family, in which it is still vested: it forms a very picturesque feature in the landscape.
from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland, 1837.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Newcastle to another place.
You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference S1350710597 (Lat/Lon: 52.24741, -7.802965), Newcastle which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Irish Ordnance Survey (Has old Irish maps)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)