Hide

County Wicklow

hide
Hide

"Wicklow, a county of Ireland, province of Leinster, bounded N by Dublin, E by the Irish sea, S by Wexford and W by Kildare and Carlow, 32 m. long N to S, and 15 to 26 broad. (Irish.) Area, 311,600 Irish acres, divided into 58 parishes. Great part of this country is mountainous, with a mixture of rocks and bogs, so as to be ill adapted for cultivation; others are well wooded, and some of the valleys fertile. Chief rivers, the Liffey and Slaney. It sends 2 members to parliament. Pop. 115,162." [From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]

"WICKLOW, a maritime county in the province of Leinster, Ireland, is bounded N. by the county of Dublin, E. by the Irish Sea, S. by the county of Wexford, and W. by the counties of Carlow, Kildare, and a detached portion of Dublin. It lies between 52° 40' and 63° 14' N. lat., 6° 0' and 6° 47' W. long.; its greatest length from N. to S. is 38 miles, and its breadth from E. to W. 33 miles. The area comprises 781 square miles, or 500,178 acres, of which 280,393 are arable, 200,754 are uncultivated, 17,600 under plantations, 341 under towns and villages, and 1,090 under water. The population in 1841 was 126,143; in 1851 it was 98,978; and in 1861 it was 86,479. The number of houses in 1861 was 15,129, of which 14,418 were inhabited, 667 were uninhabited, and 44 were in course of construction. The Poor-Law valuation in 1851 was £248,410, and the general valuation in 1861 was £258,095. The number of persons from this county who emigrated from Irish ports with the expressed intention of not returning, between May, 1851, and December, 1865, was 13,095, or 13 per cent. of the population at the former date, a comparatively small number, as the proportion of emigration from the entire of Ireland during that term was 20 per cent. ...... More " [Description from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2018]

Hide
topup

Archives and Libraries

Wicklow Library Services

Holdings of the Wicklow Library Local History collection at Ballywaltrim Library in Bray.

topup

Cemeteries

Almost 100% of Wicklow's tombstone inscriptions have been transcribed and indexed.

Wicklow Cemetery Records - on IGP

Wicklow Headstone Photos - on IGP

topup

Census

Wicklow; National Censuses/Substitutes - on fianna

1911 Census - Co Wicklow FHLC numbers - on fianna

 

topup

Church Records

Wicklow Roman Catholic records - on Irish Ancestors

County Wicklow; Church of Ireland Records, dates, status - on fianna

County Wicklow; Methodist, Presbyterian and Quaker Records, dates, status - on fianna

County Wicklow; Roman Catholic Records, dates, status - on fianna

Wicklow Church Records - on IGP

topup

Civil Registration

Wicklow Vital Records - on IGP

topup

Court Records

Petty Sessions Order Books - Avoca & Rathdrum Sessions - on IGP

topup

Description and Travel

Welcome to County Wicklow, the Garden of Ireland

Wicklow Photos (places) - on IGP

Wicklow on wikipedia

Wicklow Walks

"The principal roads are the mail road from Dublin to Wexford, which passes Bray, Newtown Mount-Kennedy, Rathdrum, and Arklow, and has branches to Wicklow and Carlow; a road from Dublin to Carlow, passing Blessington and Baltinglass in the N.W. of the county; and the military road already mentioned, passing by Glendalough and Laragh. Many new roads have been made, and the condition of others has much improved,"

"The county is divided for civil purposes into 8 baronies, Arklow, Ballinacor, North and South, Newcastle, Rathdrum, Shillelagh, and Talbotstown, Lower and Upper, and contains 69 parishes."

"Fairs are held at 35 places, and there are 12 market towns."

 [Descriptions from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2018]

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription for this county from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Genealogy

John Grenham Website - Free Irish Genealogy Education Site - an excellent resource, including civil, church, property and census records.

Wicklow - Fianna's county page

WorldGenWeb - Wicklow queries

County Wicklow; Miscellaneous Records, lists - on fianna

Ireland Genealogy Projects Archives - Wicklow Records

Wicklow Photos (people) - on IGP

Wicklow Heritage Archive

topup

Historical Geography

Wicklow civil parishes - on Irish Ancestors

See the county Wicklow page on logainm.ie which has links to its civil parish pages

    "The Placenames Database of Ireland was created by Fiontar & Scoil na Gaeilge in collaboration with The Placenames Branch (Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht). This is a comprehensive management system for data, archival records and placenames research conducted by the State. It is a public resource for Irish people at home and abroad, and for all those who appreciate the rich heritage of Irish placenames."

topup

History

Killed in Wicklow during 1798 Rising - on IGP

topup

Land and Property

List of Landowners 1870's - on IGP

Rentcharges for the years 1832-1835 - on IGP

Griffiths Valuation 1847/64 on the Ask about Ireland site. Use the search box to bring up entries showing Barony/Parish/Townlands and lists of Occupants

Tithe Applotment Books for county Wicklow and its  parishes are available online on the National Archives of Ireland website (free).

  • The Tithe Applotment Books were compiled between 1823 and 1838 as a survey of land in each civil parish to determine the payment of tithes (a religious tax). Unlike Griffith's Valuation they do not cover cities or towns.
topup

Military Records

Wicklow Military Records (Irish Constabulary with native county of Wicklow 1840+) - on IGP

topup

Monumental Inscriptions

Wicklow Headstone Photos - on IGP

Wicklow Memorial Cards - on IGP

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames County Wicklow 1100 thru 1600 - on IGP

topup

Newspapers

Wicklow Newspaper Records - on IGP  (Freemans Journal; Irish Times)

Newspapers held at Wicklow Library Local History section

Wicklow People     

1889-1935
1936-1976
1977-1995
1996-2008
2009-2015

Wicklow Star   1895-1900
Arklow Reporter      1890-1893
Wicklow Post    1935
Wicklow Standard    1900-1901
Bray Gazette      1861-1873
East Coast Express      1936-1938
Bray Tribune    1939-1943
Bray Herald      1905-1927

Bray People   

1979-2001
2002-2012
2012-2015

Wicklow Newsletter      1858-1926
topup

Obituaries

Wicklow Obituaries - on IGP

topup

Occupations

"Smelting, principally of lead, is carried on to a small extent in blast furnaces heated with turf, lime, and blind coal.

The climate is mild and moist, but healthy. The principal agricultural products are oats, potatoes, and some wheat. Dairies are numerous, and large quantities of butter are made for the Dublin market. Flannels were formerly extensively manufactured, but are now little attended to. There is one silk-spinning mill with 1,182 spindles, which employs upwards of 100 persons.

The Wicklow fishery embraces parts of the Dublin and Arklow districts, but is not much attended to, chiefly from the want of safe harbours. Oysters are taken from Arklow bank."

 [Descriptions from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2018]

topup

Periodicals

From Fianna:

  • Arklow Historical Society Journal (annual),
    Mr. J. Rees, 3 Meadow's Lane, Arklow, Co. Wicklow
  • Bray Historical Record (annual)
    Mr. J. Scannall, The Old Bray Society, 19 Hazelwood, Shanganagh Road,
    Shankill, Co. Dublin
  • West Wicklow Historical Society Journal (annual),
    Mr. D. McDonnell, Ballinglass, Co. Wicklow
topup

Probate Records

Wicklow Wills - on IGP

topup

Religion and Religious Life

"Of the population in 1861, 15,285, or 17.7 percent., were members of the Established Church; 70,044, or 81.0 per cent. were Roman Catholics; and 1,150, or 1.3 percent., belonged to other denominations."   [Descriptions from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2018]