"A parish in Berwickshire, about 4 miles long and 3½ broad, containing about 1900 acres. The surface is in general level, declining towards the S. The soil is remarkably good, except towards the N., where it is poor moor ground, on a cold tilly bottom. There is plenty of whin and freestone, fit for building, and clay and shell marl are found in considerable quantity. Population in 1801, 395." From the Gazetteer of Scotland published 1806, Edinburgh.
Graham and Emma Maxwell have transcribed and indexed the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census returns for this parish.
Rutherfurd's Southern Counties Register and Directory of 1866 lists the following non-conformist churches:
- Free Church
There may have been other non-conformist churches at different times.
According to Rev. William Ewing's Annals of the Free Church of Scotland (published 1914 in Edinburgh):
"The congregation formed here [Nenthorn] in 1843 embraced adherents also from the parishes of Stitchel, Smailholm, and Ednam. A site for a church in Smailholm was refused. The congregation at Nenthorn was therefore largely drawn from that parish."
Rev. Ewing writes that by 1848 the membership of this congregation was 170; by 1900 it was 115.
The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1715. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).
Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For further details of this see the National Records of Scotland website.
A short article on Nenthorn's geography and history was printed in the June 1992 edition of the Borders Family History Society magazine, written by Audrey Mitchell.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Nenthorn to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Nenthorn has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
The National Records of Scotland holds the following as part of its collection of maps and plans:
- 1777: Plan of Newton including farms and adjacent lands/owners. Scale 1:3200. Size 103x91cm. Grid (map) reference NT7037. NRS reference RHP.3553
- 1816: Plan of Courthill. Scale 1:1600. Size 40x52cm. Grid (map) reference NT6836. NRS reference RHP.3600/3
- early 19th century: Sketch of Harrietfield. Size 100x40cm. Grid (map) reference NT7036. NRS reference RHP.3600/1
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT688374 (Lat/Lon: 55.629573, -2.497351), Nenthorn which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)