Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Berwickshire Maps

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Berwickshire Maps

Berwickshire is covered by the following Ordnance Survey Landranger maps (scale 1:50000, or 2cm:1km, or 1.25inch:1mile):

  • Sheet 67: Duns, Dunbar & Eyemouth area
  • Sheet 73: Peebles, Galashiels & surrounding area
  • Sheet 74: Kelso & surrounding area

The following Ordnance Survey Pathfinder maps cover places in the county (scale 1:25000, or 4cm:1km, or 2.5inch:1mile):

  • Sheet 409: Dunbar
  • Sheet 422: Abbey St Bathans
  • Sheet 423: Eyemouth & Grantshouse
  • Sheet 436: Duns & Longformacus
  • Sheet 437: Chirnside
  • Sheet 438: Berwick-upon-Tweed
  • Sheet 450: Greenlaw
  • Sheet 451: Norham
  • Sheet 462: Kelso

Parts of the county formerly covered by Pathfinder maps are now covered by the Ordnance Survey Outdoor Leisure map number 44 "Tweed Valley". This runs from Peebles in the west to St Boswells in the east, and from Lauder in the north to Ashkirk and Minto in the south. The map covers a larger area but is at the same scale as the Pathfinder maps, i.e. 1:25000. It is double-sided to permit this extra geographical coverage.

For a map with even broader coverage including this county try the Ordnance Survey Travelmaster Sheet 4 "Southern Scotland and Northumberland". This runs from Dundee (Angus) in the north down to Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Northumberland) in the south and east, and over to Campbeltown (Argyll) in the west. The scale is 1:625000, or 4cm:25km, or 1inch:10miles.

The county is also covered by reprinted one-inch to the mile Victorian Ordnance Survey maps. These are published by Caledonian Maps. The maps covering Berwickshire are:

  • Sheet 25: Kelso & Melrose, including Earlston, Galashiels, Gordon, Greenlaw, Lauder, Polwarth, Roxburgh, St Boswells, Selkirk and Westruther
  • Sheet 26: Coldstream
  • Sheet 33: Haddington, including Abbey St Bathans, Aberlady, Dirleton, Dunbar, East Linton, Gifford, Lammermuir Hills, Longformacus, Pathhead and Tranent
  • Sheet 34: Eyemouth, including Burnmouth, Chirnside, Cockburnspath, Coldingham, Edrom, Foulden, Grantshouse, Preston and St Abb's Head