"KINGARTH, parish, comprising southern part of Bute Island, Buteshire. It has a post office under Rothesay, and contains the villages of Ascog, Kilchattan Bay, Kerrycroy, and Piperhall. Its length is 6½ miles; its mean breadth about 2 ½ miles; its area 8995 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £9943. Pop. 1260. About 4315 acres are arable, about 940 are under wood, and the rest of the land is pastoral or moorish. A chief feature is the Marquis of Bute's seat of Mount Stuart. The churches are 1 Established and 2 Free. There are 3 schools for 234 scholars, and 1 of them and a class-room for 75 are new."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kingarth parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1727 - 1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1837 - 1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1768 - 1786
- The transcription of the section for Kingarth from the National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868).
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kingarth to another place.
KERRYCROY, a village, in the parish of Kingarth, Isle and county of Bute, 2¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Rothesay; containing 97 inhabitants. It lies on the east side of the island, and on the western shore of the Firth of Clyde; and consists of several neatly-built houses at the bay of Scoulag: the coast road from Kilchattan bay to Rothesay passes through it. South of the village, in the demesne of Mountstuart, is a neat church, still in tolerable repair, and at one time used as the parish church.
KILCHATTAN-BAY, a village, in the parish of Kingarth, Isle and county of Bute, 6 miles (S. by E.) from Rothesay; containing 167 inhabitants. This village derives its name from the fine bay on the southeast of the island, opening into the Firth of Clyde, and eastward of which, and immediately opposite to it, are the isles of Great and Little Cumbray. In the village, from which is a good coast-road to Rothesay, are about fifty inhabited houses; and there is a wharf for lading and unlading small vessels. A rapid increase has taken place here, within the last few years, in the exportation of agricultural produce and of lime, which is very abundant in the neighbourhood. Near the north-east shore of the bay are two barrows, a short distance from each other.
PIPERHALL, a hamlet, in the parish of Kingarth, isle and county of Bute; containing 29 inhabitants.
You can see the administrative areas in which Kingarth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS090578 (Lat/Lon: 55.776065, -5.047344), Kingarth which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)