Hide
North Bute
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"BUTE (NORTH), parish containing Port Bannatyne or Kaimesburgh village, and comprising the northern part of Bute Island and all Inchmarnock, Buteshire. Acres, 14,764. Real property in 1880-81, £12,196. Pop. 1192. The post office is Kaimesburgh under Rothesay; the churches are Established and Free; and 2 public schools, with accommodation for 263 scholars, belong jointly to it and the landward parts of Rothesay parish."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Hide
The parish of North Bute was created from the northern end of the parish of Rothesay in 1835.
Hide
| North Bute, Church of Scotland |
The parish church records are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for North Bute parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1844 - 1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1844 - 1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from North Bute to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS036662 (Lat/Lon: 55.848972, -5.139481), North Bute which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.