"village and parish in north of Dumbartonshire. ... The parish contains also the village of Tarbet, and is about 15 miles long. Acres, 25,858. Real property in 1880-81, £5291. Pop. 517. The surface extends about 3 miles along Loch Long, and nearly 14 miles along Loch Lomond; is bordered along all the west by Argyleshire, and all the north by Perthshire; displays rich, diverse Highland scenery, and is so full of mountain and moor as to comprise only about 400 acres of arable land." ...
"...The village stands on the east side, near head of Loch Long, 17¼ miles north of Helensburgh; is a terminus of steam communication on the Upper Clyde, and a resort of tourists and summer visitors; is engirt by very grand, striking scenery; and has a post office, with money order department, under Dumbarton, an excellent hotel, an Established church of 1847, a Free church, and a public school with about 60 scholars."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Arrochar parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1759-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1768-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1783-1784
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Arrochar to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Arrochar has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NN301083 (Lat/Lon: 56.236387, -4.743236), Arrochar which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)