"BONHILL, town and parish in Dumbartonshire. The parish contains also the towns of Alexandria and Jamestown, and the villages of Balloch, Dalvault, and Mill of Halden, and it comprises the upper half of the Vale of Leven, and extends about 3 miles across the foot of Loch Lomond. Acres, 8373... Pop., quoad civilia, 12,524; quoad sacra, 2983. The surface abounds in both natural beauty and artificial embellishment. 9 large print works are within its vale; and Tillichewan Castle, Bonhill Place, Levenfield, Bromley, Balloch Castle, Cameron House, Belretiro, Arden, and other mansions are chief residences. Churches are in Alexandria and Jamestown. There are 2 public schools for 1481 scholars, and 1 of them and an enlargement for 967 are new." ...
"... The town is practically conjoint with Alexandria, divided from it only by the river Leven; dates from ancient times, but is a seat and centre of modern industries; and has a post office, with money order department, under Dumbarton, a banking office, Established, Free, and United Presbyterian churches, a public school with about 379 scholars, and waterworks projected in 1880. Pop. 2940."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Bonhill parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1676-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1676-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bonhill to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Bonhill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS389816 (Lat/Lon: 56.000047, -4.5856), Bonhill which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)