"KIRKINTILLOCH, town and parish in detached section of Dumbartonshire.... The parish contains also Waterside village and part of Lenzie town, measures 6¾ by nearly 3½ miles, and comprises 7146 acres. ... Pop., quoad civilia 10,591; quoad sacra, 5356. The surface is nearly all a very gentle slope with northern exposure. Coal abounds and is extensively mined. Ironstone, limestone, and sandstone also are plentiful. The residences include several handsome mansions and many fine villas; and the antiquities include traces of Antoninus' Wall, the site of a castle of the Comyns, and Banheath Tower, once a stronghold of the Earls of Kilmarnock. Established, United Presbyterian, and Episcopalian churches are at Lenzie. Seven schools for 1610 scholars are in the parish, and 2 of them for 750 are new." ...
".... The town stands on Forth and Clyde Canal, adjacent to Kelvin river, 8¼ miles north-east of Glasgow; sprang from a strong fort on Antoninus' Wall, and retains a moundish remnant of it; possessed importance in the time of William the Lion; presents now the dingy appearance of a place of mere manufacture and traffic; was designed, about the end of 1879, to undergo some cleansing improvement; and has a post office, with all departments, under Glasgow, a railway station, 2 banking offices, a court-house, 2 Established churches, 2 Free churches, United Presbyterian, Original Secession and Methodist churches, and 2 public schools with about 428 scholars. Pop. 7352."
"KIRKINTILLOCH (ST. DAVID), quoad sacra parish with Established and Free churches in Kirkintilloch, Dumbartonshire. Pop. 3786."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
|Kirkintilloch, Wesleyan Methodist|
|St Mary, Kirkintilloch, Church of Scotland|
|Holy Family & St Ninian, Kirkintilloch, Roman Catholic|
|St Flannan, Kirkintilloch, Roman Catholic|
|St Paul, Milton of Campsie, Roman Catholic|
|Townhead, Kirkintilloch, United Original Secession Church|
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kirkintilloch parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1656-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1656-1710 and 1820-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1826-1854
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kirkintilloch to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Kirkintilloch has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS688740 (Lat/Lon: 55.94118, -4.101877), Kirkintilloch which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)