"LUSS, village and parish in Dumbartonshire. ... The parish includes a number of the Loch Lomond islands; measures 10¾ miles in length, and, inclusive of the islands, 6½ miles in greatest breadth; and comprises 24,206 acres. ... Pop. 719. The surface includes a considerable flat tract in the south-east, and is elsewhere mainly mountainous, with intersecting glens. Luss glen bisects the northern half, descends 5½ miles eastward to the village, contains and adjoins slate quarries; and is overhung, on the north side, by mountains 2108, 2149, and 2302 feet high; at the head, by mountains 2244 and 2328 feet high; on the south side, by mountains 2338, 2149, and 2158 feet high. The only mansion is Sir James Colquhoun's seat of Rossdhu, and the chief antiquities are a cairn and traces of an ancient fort." ...
"... The village stands at mouth of rivulet of its own name on west side of Loch Lomond, 9 miles north-north-east of Helensburgh, and has a post office designated of Dumbartonshire, a pier, an inn, Established and Free churches, and a public school with about 76 scholars."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Luss parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1698-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1698-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Luss to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Luss has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS325919 (Lat/Lon: 56.090542, -4.693292), Luss which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)