Church Road, Craigrownie, Church of Scotland

Craigrownie, Dumbartonshire

Church Road ,
G84 0LZ


"Cove, a charming watering-place in Roseneath parish, 
Dumbartonshire, to the right or E of the entrance to 
Loch Long. Conjoined as a police burgh with Kilcreggan, it comprises a number of neat villas and cottages.
 At it are a post office, with money order, savings bank,
 and telegraph departments, a steamboat pier, and Craig
rownie quoad sacra church. A public hall for the united
 burgh, with recreation and reading rooms, was erected
 in 1892. See Kilcreggan and Craigrownie."

From the Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland, Francis Groome, 1896


Church History

A Category B Listed building dating from 1852. Designed by H.H.McKinney of Liverpool, substantially altered and extended in 1889 by Honeyman and Keppie of Glasgow.

Cove had two churches, two hundred metres apart. The union of the United Free Church of Scotland and the Church of Scotland in 1929 created a second Church of Scotland in the village. Worship ceased in the former United Free Church on Shore Road in 1961 and that building became the Church Hall (which has since found a new use as a community facility).

The foundation stone was laid on 31 July 1852, opened for worship as a chapel of ease on 14 February 1853. Craigrownie became a parish Church on 1 December 1863.

The organ was built by James J Binns of Leeds. The Church hosts various examples of stained glass including J Benson, S Adam, Mayer & Co. including mural paintings of the four Evangelists by the sisters Doris and Anna Zinkeisen.

Craigrownie Parish Church serves the communities of Ardpeaton, Cove and Kilcreggan.

SERVICES - Sundays 11:15 am

OPENING ARRANGEMENTS - Open by arrangement



It is located at NS2242281052 (Lat/Lon 55.989473, -4.848436). You can see this on maps provided by: