Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Athelstaneford

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Athelstaneford

Primary tabs

"ATHELSTANEFORD, a parish, containing the post-office villages of Athelstaneford and Drem, in the northern part of Haddingtonshire ... The parish is about 4 miles in length, from west to east; and between 2 and 3 in breadth, from south to north ... Population of the village of Athelstaneford in 1851, 274. Population of the parish in 1831, 931; in 1861, 902." [From the Imperial Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by John Marius Wilson, 1868]
A lengthier description is available.

topup

Cemeteries

The Scottish Genealogy Society, Edinburgh, contains records of 71 surnames from 46 gravestones in the cemetery in Athelstaneford, covering gravestones from ~1700 - 1943.
These have not been published.
The data was collected by DC Cargill in 1968.

A copy is also available in the Local History Centre, Haddington

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Athelstaneford area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1664. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the General Register Office for Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the Scottish Record Office as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

topup

Civil Registration

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. For details of these and other records held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh, see the GRO tutorial.

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Athelstaneford which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Extracts for this parish from the 1868 National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland are available.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Athelstaneford to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup
topup

Military History

The following names are listed on the War Memorial in the parish church.
In grateful memory of Athelstaneford men who gave their lives in the great war 1914 -1918

Lieutenant John Brown
Sergeant George Pow
Corporal John Dempster MM
Corporal James Fulton
Corporal William Dempster
Private William Barrie
Private Alexander Binnie
Private William Combe
Private Alexander Findlay
Private William Fletcher
Private Robert Fulton
Private William Gray
Private Hugh Hannay
Private John Hannay
Private Charles Jack
Private William Logan MM
Gunner William A Logan
Gunner William A Mann
Private Thomas Marshall
Private Andrew Melrose
Private John McGovern
Private James Ritchie
Private James Shattoch
Private John Tinlin
Private John S Wight

Their name liveth for evermore

And of those who fell in the war 1939 - 1945

Private Thomas Bell
Gunner John Bertram
Sapper David Blair
Teleg. David Campbell

topup

Population

Here are some figures showing the parish's population through time:

Year Population
1755 691
1778 955
1792 927
1801 897
1831 931
1861 902
1881 762
1891 745
1901 635
topup

Statistics

For a social and economic record of the parishes of East Lothian together with considerable statistical material, see Sir John Sinclair's Statistical Account of Scotland, which was compiled in the 1790s. Follow-up works to this were the New Statistical Account (also known as the Second Statistical Account) which was prepared in the 1830s and 1840s; and more recently the Third Statistical Account which has been prepared since the Second World War.

Thanks to a joint venture between the Universities of Glasgow and Edinburgh the First and Second Statistical Accounts can now be accessed on-line at The Statistical Accounts of Scotland, 1791-1799 and 1845.