Where in Fife is .......?


This list gives 2300 place names in Fife and the parish(es) in which they can be found. Once you have located the parish, go to the relevant parish page where a link to Places in .... parish takes you to a selection of online historical and modern maps.

Select a letter from the table below to change to a list of place names with a different initial letter.


This list is complied from various sources. Remember that the spelling of place names may change from time to time.

If you still cannot find a place, Glasgow University have a test version of a database of Fife Place-name Data. The site is searchable by parish or by place and gives map references.

Halbeath (formerly)   Dunfermline parish
Halbeath (present day)   Dunfermline parish
Halbeath Colliery   Dunfermline parish
Halbeath Farm   Dunfermline parish
Hall Teasses   Ceres parish
Hallcroft   Saline parish (was in Torryburn parish before 15 May 1891)
Hallhouse   Dunfermline parish
Hallyards   Auchtertool parish
Halton Hill / Hattonhill   Abdie parish
Harestanes   Auchterderran parish
Harleswynd   Ceres parish
Hatton   Burntisland parish
Hatton   Largo parish
Hattonhill / Halton Hill   Abdie parish
Haughmill Farm   Markinch parish
Hawkhill   Tulliallan parish
Hawkiesfauld   Dunfermline parish
Hawklaw   Cupar parish
Hayfield   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Hayfield   Kirkcaldy parish
Hayston   Leuchars parish
Hazeldene   Leslie parish
Hazelton Walls   Kilmany parish
Headwell   Dunfermline parish
Heath Cottage   Aberdour parish
Heatherhall Wood   Collessie parish
Heatherinch   Collessie parish
Heatherwick   Strathmiglo parish
Heathery Wood   Dysart parish
Helens Mire   Collessie parish
Hercules, Pillars of   Falkland parish
High Beley   Dunino parish
High Valleyfield   Culross parish
Higham   Cameron parish
Higham   Dunbog parish
Higham, Old   Dunbog parish
Highholm   Dunfermline parish
Highholm, South   Dunfermline parish
Hill Cottages   Dunfermline parish
Hill End   Saline parish (was in Torryburn parish before 15 May 1891)
Hill House   Dunfermline parish
Hill of Beath   Beath parish
Hill of Tarvit   Cupar parish
Hill Teasses   Ceres parish
Hillcairnie   Kilmany parish
Hillend   Beath parish
Hillend (part)   Dalgety parish
Hillend (part)   Inverkeithing parish
Hilleraye   Kingsbarns parish
Hillfoot   Falkland parish
Hillhead   Dunfermline parish
Hillhead   Kingsbarns parish
Hillock   Dunfermline parish
Hillside   Saline parish (was in Torryburn parish before 15 May 1891)
Hillside   Aberdour parish
Hilltarvit Mains   Cupar parish
Hilltop   Dunfermline parish
Hilton   Beath parish
Hilton   Cupar parish
Hilton   Dunfermline parish
Hilton   Inverkeithing parish
Hilton Cottage   Dunfermline parish
Hilton Hill Farm   Kettle parish
Hilton of Carslogie   Monimail parish
Hilton of Crevie   Arngask parish (was in Kinross-shire before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Hilton of Duncrevie   Arngask parish (was in Kinross-shire before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Hilton of Kirkforthar   Kettle parish
Hilton of Kirkforthar   Markinch parish
Hilton, Nether   Markinch parish
Holding, Muirhead   Kettle parish
Holdings, The   Tulliallan parish
Hole Mill   Strathmiglo parish
Holekettle   Kettle parish
Holl   Leslie parish
Holy Land   Auchtermuchty parish
Home Farm   Balmerino parish
Homelands   StAndrews parish
Honeyhall   Kettle parish
Horselaw   Monimail parish
Hospital Mill   Cults parish
How, Robs   Kennoway parish
Howe, The   Auchtermuchty parish
Humbie   Aberdour parish
Hurlmakin   Carnbee parish
Hyndloup   Auchterderran parish
Hynds   Ballingry parish