Where in Fife is .......?


This list gives 2300 place names in Fife and the parish(es) in which they can be found. Once you have located the parish, go to the relevant parish page where a link to Places in .... parish takes you to a selection of online historical and modern maps.

Select a letter from the table below to change to a list of place names with a different initial letter.


This list is complied from various sources. Remember that the spelling of place names may change from time to time.

If you still cannot find a place, Glasgow University have a test version of a database of Fife Place-name Data. The site is searchable by parish or by place and gives map references.

Macedonia   Kinglassie parish
Mackies Mill   Markinch parish
Magask, Nether   Ceres parish
Magus Muir   StAndrews parish
Magus, Upper   Ceres parish
Maiden Castle   Markinch parish
Mains   Cameron parish
Mains House   Wemyss parish
Mains of Beath   Dunfermline parish
Mains of Comrie   Culross parish
Mains of Lindores   Abdie parish
Mairsland   Auchtermuchty parish
Makgill Row   Cupar parish
Manorlees / Manorleys   Kinghorn parish
Manorleys / Manorlees   Kinghorn parish
Manse   Abdie parish
Manse   Falkland parish
Manse (1)   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Manse (2)   Arngask parish (was in Fife before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Mansfield   Strathmiglo parish
March of Lathones   Cameron parish
Marionville   Aberdour parish
Markinch   Markinch parish
Maryfield   Kettle parish
Marytown   Forgan parish
Mastertown   Dunfermline parish
May, Isle of   AnstrutherWester parish
Mayfield   Ceres parish
Mayfield   Kilconquhar parish
Meadow Wells   Collessie parish
Meadowend   Dunfermline parish
Meadowfield   Kinghorn parish
Meadowhead   Saline parish
Meadowside   Markinch parish
Meetings, East   Markinch parish
Meikle Balgothrie   Leslie parish
Meikle Balquhomry   Leslie parish
Meikle Bein   Abernethy parish (was in Fife before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Meiklebeath   Beath parish
Melville Home Farm   Collessie parish
Melville House   Monimail parish
Melville Lodge   Collessie parish
Melville Muir   Collessie parish
Melville, Mount   Cameron parish
Methil   Wemyss parish
Methilhill   Wemyss parish
Mid Conland   Falkland parish
Mid Duloch   Inverkeithing parish
Mid Mill   Dunfermline parish
Mid Strathore   Dysart parish
Middle Balbeggie   Dysart parish
Middle Deuglie   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Middle Grange   Culross parish
Middlebank   Dunfermline parish
Middlefield   Cupar parish
Middlefield   Kettle parish
Middlefoodie   Dairsie parish
Midfield   Saline parish
Milesmark   Dunfermline parish (was in Inverkeithing parish before 15 May 1891)
Mill Farm   Aberdour parish
Milldeans   Kettle parish
Milldeans   Kinglassie parish
Millfield House   Falkland parish
Milltail   Falkland parish
Milltown   Markinch parish
Millwaters   Falkland parish
Milton   Ballingry parish
Milton   Leuchars parish
Milton   Saline parish
Milton of Balgonie   Markinch parish
Milton of Blebo   Kemback parish
Mire End   Dunfermline parish
Miry Hall   Saline parish
Monimail   Monimail parish
Monksholm   StAndrews parish
Monkstown   Collessie parish
Montquey   Aberdour parish
Montrave   Scoonie parish
Montrave Home Farm   Scoonie parish
Monturpie   Newburn parish
Monziehall   Aberdour parish
Moonzie   Moonzie parish
Moonzie Mill   Leuchars parish
Moonzie, Torr of   Moonzie parish
Morendy   Forgan parish
Morningside   Dunfermline parish
Morton   Forgan parish
Morton   Kingsbarns parish
Morton of Blebo   Kemback parish
Moss Cottages   Aberdour parish
Moss Morran   Aberdour parish
Moss, The   Tulliallan parish
Mossbank   Aberdour parish
Mossgreen   Beath parish
Mossgreen   Dalgety parish
Moss-side   Beath parish
Mount Melville   Cameron parish
Mount Pleasant   Abdie parish
Mount Pleasant   Newburn parish
Mount, The   Monimail parish
Mountfleurie   Scoonie parish
Mountquhanie Farm   Kilmany parish
Mountquhanie House   Kilmany parish
Mourn House   Kinghorn parish
Mugdrum   Newburgh parish
Muir Park   StAndrews parish
Muircambus   Kilconquhar parish (was in Elie parish before 15 May 1891)
Muircambus, West   Kilconquhar parish (part was in Elie parish before 15 May 1891)
Muircockhall   Dunfermline parish
Muircraigs   Kilmany parish
Muiredge   Wemyss parish
Muirend   Dalgety parish
Muirend   Kettle parish
Muirfield   Arngask parish (was in Fife before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Muirhead   Auchterderran parish
Muirhead   Ceres parish
Muirhead   Crail parish
Muirhead   Culross parish
Muirhead   Dunfermline parish
Muirhead   Kettle parish
Muirhead   Leuchars parish
Muirhead Holding   Kettle parish
Muirhouses   Dunfermline parish
Muirmealing   Saline parish
Muirside   Collessie parish
Muirside   Dunfermline parish
Muirside   Kinglassie parish
Muirside   Moonzie parish
Muirside   Saline parish
Muirside   Torryburn parish
Muirside of Kinnedar   Saline parish
Muirton   Kinglassie parish
Muirton / Muirtown   Beath parish
Muirtown   Dysart parish
Muirtown / Muirton   Beath parish
Murdochcairnie   Kilmany parish
Murel   Aberdour parish
Muriespot   Markinch parish
Murnipea   Auchtermuchty parish
Murray Place   Auchterderran parish
Murrayknowe   Auchterderran parish
Murrel   Aberdour parish
Murrel, The   Aberdour parish
Mutton Hall   Abbotshall parish
Myregorney   Dysart parish
Myres Castle   Auchtermuchty parish
Myreside   Falkland parish
Myrie Hall   Saline parish