Where in Fife is .......?


This list gives 2300 place names in Fife and the parish(es) in which they can be found. Once you have located the parish, go to the relevant parish page where a link to Places in .... parish takes you to a selection of online historical and modern maps.

Select a letter from the table below to change to a list of place names with a different initial letter.


This list is complied from various sources. Remember that the spelling of place names may change from time to time.

If you still cannot find a place, Glasgow University have a test version of a database of Fife Place-name Data. The site is searchable by parish or by place and gives map references.

Saint Andrews   StAndrews parish
Saint Colme House   Dalgety parish
Saint Davids   Dalgety parish
Saint Fort   Forgan parish
Saint Leonards   StAndrews parish
Saint Margarets   Inverkeithing parish
Saint Marys Farm   Monimail parish
Saint Michaels   Leuchars parish
Saint Monance   StMonans parish
Saint Monans   StMonans parish
Saint Nicholas   StAndrews parish
Saint Ninians   Beath parish
Saline   Saline parish
Saline Croft   Saline parish
Saline Shaw   Saline parish
Saline Valley Collieries   Saline parish
Saline, Little   Saline parish
Saline, West, Farm   Saline parish
Saline, West, Steading   Saline parish
Sandal Hall   Auchterderran parish
Sandford Hill   Kilmany parish
Sands Farm   Tulliallan parish
Sands House   Tulliallan parish
Sandybank   Dunfermline parish
Sandydub   Saline parish
Sandyhill   Kingsbarns parish
Sauchenbush   Abbotshall parish
Sauchope   Crail parish
Saw Mill   Dunfermline parish
Scarhill   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Scoonie   Scoonie parish
Scooniehill   StAndrews parish
Scot's Mill   Inverkeithing parish
Scotscraig   FerryportOnCraig parish
Scotshall   Carnbee parish
Scotstarvit   Ceres parish
Scotstarvit, North   Ceres parish
Scotsventure   Crail parish
Scotts Walls   Aberdour parish
Seafield   Kinghorn parish
Seafield House   Dalgety parish
Seafield House   Kinghorn parish
Seafield Mains   StAndrews parish
Seafield Tower   Kinghorn parish
Seefar   Falkland parish
Seggie   Leuchars parish
Seggiehill   Leuchars parish
Shanwell   FerryportOnCraig parish
Shaws Mill   Abbotshall parish
Shaws Mill Farm   Auchterderran parish
Sheardrum   Saline parish
Sheelynn   Kennoway parish
Sheephousewell   Dunfermline parish
Shepherdlands   Culross parish
Shieldbank   Saline parish
Shiells   Beath parish
Shiels   Collessie parish
Shires Mill   Culross parish
Shore, Coble   StAndrews parish
Shore, The   Newburgh parish
Shoreside   Torryburn parish
Siberia   Newburn parish
Sillerhole   Scoonie parish
Silverbarton   Burntisland parish
Silverburn House   Scoonie parish
Silverton   Auchterderran parish
Simonden   Ceres parish
Sinclairtown   Dysart parish
Skeddoway   Dysart parish
Skeddoway Lodge   Dysart parish
Skeddoway, Old   Dysart parish
Skelpie   Cults parish
Slackacre   Kinghorn parish
Smeaton   Kirkcaldy parish (was in Abbotshall parish before 15 May 1891)
Smithfield   Crail parish
Smithfield   Kettle parish
Smiths Pendicle   Arngask parish (was in Fife before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Smithy   Kinghorn parish
Smithy Hill   Markinch parish
Smithygreen   Scoonie parish
Smithyhill   Arngask parish (was in Kinross-shire before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Sorbie   Crail parish
South Auchmoor   Kinglassie parish
South Baldutho   Carnbee parish
South Bogside   Auchterderran parish
South Bowhill Farm   Kilconquhar parish
South Burnside   Saline parish
South Callange   Ceres parish
South Cassingray   Carnbee parish
South Cult   Saline parish (was in Torryburn parish before 15 May 1891)
South Dron   Leuchars parish
South Dundonald   Auchterderran parish
South Falfield   Kilconquhar parish
South Fod   Dunfermline parish
South Friarton   Forgan parish
South Glassmount   Kinghorn parish
South Highholm   Dunfermline parish
South Kinaldy   Dunino parish
South Lambieletham   Cameron parish
South Lethans   Dunfermline parish
South Lodge   Kinglassie parish
South Lodge   Leslie parish
South Lumphinnans   Ballingry parish
South Parks   Kinglassie parish
South Parks (present day)   Glenrothes new town
South Piteadie   Kinghorn parish
South Pitkinny   Auchterderran parish
South Straiton   Logie parish
Southerton   Abbotshall parish
Southfield   Leuchars parish
Southfield   Glenrothes new town
Southfield (1)   Auchtermuchty parish
Southfield (2)   Auchtermuchty parish
Spalding   StAndrews parish
Spalefield   Kilrenny parish
Spencerfield   Inverkeithing parish
Spittal   Auchterderran parish (part was in Ballingry parish before 15 May 1891)
Spittal Farm   Markinch parish
Sprattyhall   Kilconquhar parish
Springbank   Dunfermline parish
Springfield   Cupar parish
Springfield Farm   Cupar parish
St Andrews   StAndrews parish
St Andrews and St Leonards   StAndrews parish
St Andrews Wells   Kemback parish
St Colme House   Dalgety parish
St Davids   Dalgety parish
St Fort   Forgan parish
St Leonards   StAndrews parish
St Margarets   Inverkeithing parish (was in Dunfermline parish before 15 May 1891)
St Margarets Stone   Dunfermline parish
St Marys Farm   Monimail parish
St Michaels   Leuchars parish
St Monance   StMonans parish
St Monans   StMonans parish
St Nicholas   StAndrews parish
St Ninians   Beath parish
Stand Alane   Saline parish
Stand Alone   Saline parish
Star   Kennoway parish
Starley Burn   Burntisland parish
Starr, The   Kilmany parish
Starrbank House   Kilmany parish
Starrlaw   Kilmany parish
Steelend   Saline parish
Steelend Farm   Saline parish
Steelend, North   Saline parish
Stenhouse   Burntisland parish
Stenton   Kinglassie parish
Stenton   StMonans parish
Stenton, Nether   Kinglassie parish
Stenton, Over   Kinglassie parish
Stevensons Beath   Beath parish
Stirton   Kilmany parish
Stirton Mill   Kilmany parish
Stoniebriggs / Stonybriggs   Collessie parish
Stonybriggs / Stoniebriggs   Collessie parish
Straiton, North   Logie parish
Straiton, South   Logie parish
Strathairly House   Largo parish
Strathburn   Leuchars parish
Stratheden Hospital   Cupar parish
Strathendry   Leslie parish
Strathendry House   Leslie parish
Strathkinness   StAndrews parish
Strathkinness, Easter   StAndrews parish
Strathkinness, Nether   StAndrews parish
Strathmiglo   Strathmiglo parish
Strathmiglo Free Church   Strathmiglo parish
Strathore Cottage   Dysart parish
Strathore House   Dysart parish
Strathore, Easter   Dysart parish
Strathore, Mid   Dysart parish
Strathore, Wester (1)   Dysart parish
Strathore, Wester (2)   Dysart parish
Strathruddie   Auchterderran parish
Strathtyrum House   StAndrews parish
Stravithie   Dunino parish
Stravithie House   Dunino parish
Stravithie Mains   Dunino parish
Streamside of Blebo   Kemback parish
Stripesikes   Saline parish
Struthers   Ceres parish
Struthers Burn   Ceres parish
Summerfield   Arngask parish (was in Fife before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
Summerfield   Crail parish
Summerfield   Falkland parish
Sunnybraes   Crail parish
Sunnybraes (1)   Collessie parish
Sunnybraes (2)   Collessie parish (was in Cults parish before 15 May 1891)
Sunnybraes, West   Saline parish
Sunnyside   Torryburn parish (was in Saline parish before 15 May 1891)
Sunnyside   Saline parish
Swallowdrum   Dunfermline parish
Sweet Bank   Markinch parish
Sweethome   Collessie parish (was in Cults parish before 15 May 1891)
Swinkie Farm   Crail parish
Sypsies   Crail parish
Sythrum   Markinch parish