Where in Fife is .......?


This list gives 2300 place names in Fife and the parish(es) in which they can be found. Once you have located the parish, go to the relevant parish page where a link to Places in .... parish takes you to a selection of online historical and modern maps.

Select a letter from the table below to change to a list of place names with a different initial letter.


This list is complied from various sources. Remember that the spelling of place names may change from time to time.

If you still cannot find a place, Glasgow University have a test version of a database of Fife Place-name Data. The site is searchable by parish or by place and gives map references.

Walkerton Bleachfield   Kinglassie parish
Walton   Auchtertool parish
Walton   Burntisland parish
Waltonhill   Cults parish
Wards   Leuchars parish
Warout (part)   Kinglassie parish
Warout (part)   Markinch parish
Washer Willys   Forgan parish
Waterloo   Balmerino parish
Watties Ford Cottage   Beath parish
Wauk Mill   Falkland parish
Waukmill Cottages   Torryburn parish
Waulkmill   Markinch parish
Waulkmill   Torryburn parish
Weddersbie   Collessie parish
Well Eyes / Wellies   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Wellfield   Strathmiglo parish
Wellfield Steading   Strathmiglo parish
Wellies / Well Eyes   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Wellsgreen Farm   Wemyss parish
Welltree   Kettle parish
Wellwood   Dunfermline parish
Wellwood   Dunfermline parish
Wellwood Colliery   Dunfermline parish
Wemyss   Wemyss parish
Wemyss, Coaltown of   Wemyss parish
Wemyss, East   Wemyss parish
Wemyss, West   Wemyss parish
Wemysshall Mains   Ceres parish
West Auchmuir   Kinglassie parish
West Balbairdie   Kinghorn parish
West Balbarton   Kinghorn parish
West Baldridge   Dunfermline parish
West Balgonar   Saline parish
West Balgothrie   Leslie parish
West Blair   Arngask parish (was in Kinross-shire before 15 May 1891 then in Perthshire)
West Bonhard   Carnock parish
West Camps   Carnock parish
West Cassingray   Carnbee parish
West Coaltown   Markinch parish
West Coates   Newburn parish
West Conland   Falkland parish
West Finglassie   Kinglassie parish
West Forthar   Kettle parish
West Gilston Mains   Largo parish
West Goatmilk   Kinglassie parish
West Grange   Culross parish
West Grange   StAndrews parish
West Lethans   Dunfermline parish
West Lingo   Carnbee parish
West Lochhead   Auchtertool parish
West Lodge   Collessie parish
West Lodge   Strathmiglo parish
West Mill   Markinch parish
West Muircambus   Kilconquhar parish (part was in Elie parish before 15 May 1891)
West Newhall   Crail parish
West Park   Cameron parish
West Pitcorthie   Kilrenny parish
West Pitkierie   Kilrenny parish
West Saline Farm   Saline parish
West Saline Steading   Saline parish
West Sunnybraes   Saline parish
West Third   StAndrews parish
West Wemyss   Wemyss parish
Wester Abbotsdeuglie   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Wester Aberdour   Aberdour parish
Wester Anstruther   AnstrutherWester parish
Wester Balbedie   Kinglassie parish (part was in Ballingry parish before 15 May 1891)
Wester Balbeggie   Dysart parish
Wester Balgarvie   Monimail parish
Wester Ballo   Falkland parish
Wester Balrymonth   StAndrews parish
Wester Bogie   Abbotshall parish
Wester Bucklyvie   Aberdour parish
Wester Cartmore   Ballingry parish
Wester Cash   Strathmiglo parish
Wester Colquhally   Auchterderran parish
Wester Craigduckie   Dunfermline parish
Wester Craigfoodie   Dairsie parish
Wester Deuglie   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Wester Dron   Leuchars parish
Wester Durie   Scoonie parish
Wester Fordel   Arngask parish (was in Perthshire before and after 15 May 1891)
Wester Forret   Logie parish
Wester Friarton   Forgan parish
Wester Gellet   Dunfermline parish
Wester Gilmerton   Cameron parish
Wester Glasslie   Falkland parish
Wester Gospetry   Strathmiglo parish
Wester Kellie   Carnbee parish
Wester Kilgour   Falkland parish
Wester Kilmany   Kilmany parish
Wester Kilmux   Kennoway parish
Wester Kilwhiss   Auchtermuchty parish
Wester Kincaple   StAndrews parish
Wester Kinnear   Kilmany parish
Wester Kinsleith   Creich parish
Wester Lathallan   Newburn parish
Wester Lumbenny   Newburgh parish
Wester Nether Urquhart   Strathmiglo parish
Wester Newburn   Newburn parish
Wester Pitcorthie   Dunfermline parish
Wester Pitlour   Strathmiglo parish (was in Abernethy parish before 15 May 1891)
Wester Pitscottie   Ceres parish
Wester Pitteuchar   Kinglassie parish
Wester Radernie   Cameron parish
Wester Rossie   Collessie parish
Wester Strathore (1)   Dysart parish
Wester Strathore (2)   Dysart parish
Wester Tough   Abbotshall parish
Wester Upper Urquhart   Strathmiglo parish
Wester Whitefield   Dunfermline parish
Westerton   Auchterderran parish
Westertown   Leslie parish
Westfield   Auchterderran parish
Westfield   Cameron parish
Westfield   Cupar parish
Westfield   Falkland parish
Westfield   Leuchars parish
Westfield Development Centre   Auchterderran parish
Westfield House   Saline parish
Westfield of Pitlochie   Strathmiglo parish
Westgate   Markinch parish
Westhall   Monimail parish
Whallyden   Kennoway parish
Whey Park   Saline parish
Whinnybank   Newburgh parish
Whinnyhall   Beath parish
Whinnyhall   Kinglassie parish
Whinnyhall Cottages   Kinglassie parish
Whinnyhill   Carnock parish
Whins   Markinch parish
White Lodge   Aberdour parish
Whitefield   Abdie parish
Whitefield, Wester   Dunfermline parish
Whitehall   Auchterderran parish
Whitehall   Crail parish
Whitehill   Aberdour parish
Whitehill   Cupar parish
Whitehill   Glenrothes new town
Whitehill Cottage   Aberdour parish
Whitehill Farm   Culross parish
Whitehill, Old   Aberdour parish
Whitehouse   Beath parish
Whitelaw   Dunfermline parish
Wilkieston   Cameron parish
Williamsburgh   Elie parish (was in Kilconquhar parish before 15 May 1891)
Winchester   StAndrews parish
Windmill Cottage   Collessie parish
Windward Farm   StAndrews parish
Windyedge   Beath parish
Windygates   Ceres parish
Windygates   Markinch parish
Windyhill   Tulliallan parish
Winthank   Cameron parish
Wonder Fishing Lodge   Newburgh parish
Wood Mill   Falkland parish
Woodbank   Markinch parish
Woodbank Cottages   Markinch parish
Woodend   Auchterderran parish
Woodend   Beath parish
Woodend   Dunino parish
Woodhaven   Forgan parish
Woodhead   Abdie parish
Woodhead   Collessie parish
Woodhead   Culross parish
Woodlands   Ceres parish
Woodlee Farm   Inverkeithing parish
Woodmill   Abdie parish
Woodmill Bleachfield   Dunfermline parish
Woodmill House   Abdie parish
Woodmill Mains   Abdie parish
Woodriffe   Newburgh parish
Woodside   Largo parish
Woodside   Markinch parish
Woodside Cottages   Auchterderran parish
Wormistone Farm   Crail parish
Wormistone House   Crail parish
Wormit   Forgan parish