Fife Council Archive Centre


Parochial Board  /  Parish Council Records

Parochial Boards were created in 1845 to administer Poor relief and Poor houses. At various times, they had powers and duties with regard to water supply, hospitals, public health, cemeteries, etc. They were replaced in 1894 by Parish Councils which remained in existence until 1929.

The catalogue can be searched on the Fife Council website (select  A in the A-Z list, then  Archives enquiries).

Records are held for the following parishes. In general, they are the Minute Books from 1845-1930 and are largely concerned with the relief of paupers and management of the cemetery.

Abdie Kemback
Aberdour Kennoway
Anstruther Kilconquhar
Auchterderran Kilmany
Auchtermuchty Kilrenny
Auchtertool Kinghorn
Ballingry Kinglassie
Balmerino Kingsbarns
Beath Kingskettle
Burntisland Kirkcaldy
Cameron Largo
Carnbee Leslie
Carnock Leuchars
Ceres Logie
Collessie Markinch
Crail Monimail
Creich Moonzie
Culross Newburgh
Cults Pittenweem
Cupar St. Andrews
Dairsie St. Monance
Dalgety Saline
Dunbog Scoonie
Elie Strathmiglo
Falkland Torryburn
Ferryport-on-Craig Tulliallan
Flisk Wemyss

Fife Family History Society have published an index to people sent to the poorhouse by the Parish Councils of Dysart and Markinch. (includes Markinch Paupers 1868 - 1888, Dysart Paupers 1878 - 1883) in their Publications Series, 34.