"The parish of Kirkmabreck is formed of the old parish of this name, and the largest portion of the old parish of Kirkdale...

The general aspect of the parish is mountainous, and may be said to be formed of a succession of hills and valleys; and the ridges of mountains, which rise rapidly from the shore and intersect the parish, have a very picturesque effect, particularly from Wigtownshire....

There are several fisheries in this parish upon the Cree, and in the bay, principally for Salmon, spirlings, founders, herring, &c.; and the nets employed for taking them are stake-nets, bag-nets, draught-nets...

The situation of Creetown is very picturesque. It is built between two rivulets or burns and four bridges. The gardens are so abundantly stocked with fruit trees, that in spring, when the blossoms are exuberant, the village appears as if it had been built in an orchard...

It was erected into a burgh of barony through the influence of John M'Culloch, Esq. of Barholm, on the 13 December 1791...

The nearest market town is Newton Stewart, and is only six miles distant from Creetown.

The population has increased considerably since 1831, in consequence of the Liverpool Dock Company having opened a very large granite quarry in this parish, at which they have from 60 to 450 men occasionally employed...

The united parish of Kirkmabreck and Kirkdale is of an irregular shape, and is about 9 miles long, and 5 miles broad. It is bounded on the north by Minnigaff; on the east by Girthon; on the south, by Anwoth; and on the west, by the Cree and Wigton Bay."

Rev. John Muir, Minister, New Statistical Account, Blackwood.



History, Kirkcudbright. The New Statistical Account of Scotland, 2nd Series, W Blackwood, 1845.



The Church Yard of Kirkmabreck, Kirkdale, and Creetown has had pre-1855 monumental inscriptions transcribed and indexed. The index and transcribed inscriptions are included in a series of volumes that cover all of Kirkcudbrightshire. All three are in volume 6. Refer to the county page for additional details.



Presbyterian / Unitarian
Kirkmabreck, Church of Scotland

Church History

"The church is built upon the Clauchan Croft, near Creetown, and is conveniently situated for the inhabitants of the village, although not particularly so for the landward part of the population. On the southern and eastern extremities of the parish, some of the people are six miles from church....

There is one place of worship in Creetown belonging to the Seceders. It will hold about 300...

There are 27 families belonging to the Seceders; 27 to the Roman Catholic; 1 to the Episcopalians; 1 to the Cameronians; 340 to the Church of Scotland..."

Rev. John Muir, Minister, New Statistical Account, Blackwood.


Church Records

Church of Scotland records are held at the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Copies of the pairsh register on microfilm may be consulted in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Refer to the county page for additional details.

Records AvailableBaptismMarriageBurialReference
Church of Scotland1703-18541820-18541820-1840OPR 873

Kirk Session Notes: The Kirk Session minutes start in 1703 and continue into the twentieth century, there are many gaps in this time frame. (CH2 673)


Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Kirkmabreck which are provided by:






You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NX504602 (Lat/Lon: 54.913975, -4.335961), Kirkmabreck which are provided by: