Hide
Eaglesham
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"EAGLESHAM, town and parish in south-east of Renfrewshire. The parish is about 7 miles long and 6 miles broad, and comprises 15,666 acres. Real property in 1880-81, £14,675. Pop. 1385. The surface list at elevations of more than 500 feet above sea level, has hills from 1000 to 1200 feet of altitude, and includes a considerable aggregate of moor. Polnoon Lodge is a chief residence; and Polnoon Castle, the seat of the ancestors of the Earl of Eglinton, but now reduced to mere sub-basement, is a chief antiquity."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Hide
| Eaglesham, Church of Scotland |
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Eaglesham parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1659-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1723-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Eaglesham to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS557499 (Lat/Lon: 55.72074, -4.299037), Eaglesham which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.