Hide
Greenock
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"GREENOCK, town and three parishes on Firth of Clyde, in north-west of Renfrewshire. ..... The parishes are East, Middle, and West; they are treated in many respects as one; and they contain Fort Matilda and a suburb of Port Glasgow. Their length along the coast is 4¾ miles; their greatest breadth nearly 3 miles; their area 6021 acres. ..... Pop. of the East, 21,6111; of the Middle, 6180; of the West, 40,627. ..... The shore is low and sandy; the immediate seaboard, or belt contiguous to the shore, is low and flat; the western section inward from that belt is Binnan's Hill, rising gradually to a high, bold, abrupt face overhanging Fort Matilda; the tract immediately south-west of the town is a fine hill-girt vale, traversed by road and railway toward Innerkip; the tract from that vale to the eastern boundary is a hill-group or hill-ridge with summits from 804 to 995 feet high; and the south-eastern section is high moorland, with sources of Gryfe river. Sandstone and trap rock are quarried."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Hide
| St John, Greenock, Scottish Episcopal |
| Greenock, Church of Scotland |
| Middle Church, Greenock, Church of Scotland |
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Greenock, East parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1809-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1809-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records;
for Greenock, Middle or New parish:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1741-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1741-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1741-1752;
and for Greenock, West or Old parish:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1698-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1698-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1722-1747.
Bartholomew's Greenock and District Directory 1930-31 (including Port Glasgow and Gourock). General, commercial and street directory with supplement including interesting local information also a new plan of the district.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Greenock to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Greenock has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS282735 (Lat/Lon: 55.923655, -4.75067), Greenock which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.