Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Selkirkshire Maps

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Selkirkshire Maps

Selkirkshire is covered by the following Ordnance Survey Landranger maps (scale 1:50000, or 2cm:1km, or 1.25inch:1mile):

  • Sheet 73: Peebles, Galashiels & surrounding area
  • Sheet 79: Hawick & Eskdale area

The following Ordnance Survey Pathfinder maps cover places in the county (scale 1:25000, or 4cm:1km, or 2.5inch:1mile):

  • Sheet 471: Tweedsmuir
  • Sheet 483: White Coomb
  • Sheet 484: Ettrick
  • Sheet 485: Hawick & area

Much of the county formerly covered by Pathfinder maps is now covered by the Ordnance Survey Outdoor Leisure map number 44 "Tweed Valley". This runs from Peebles in the west to St Boswells in the east, and from Lauder in the north to Ashkirk and Minto in the south. The map covers a larger area but is at the same scale as the Pathfinder maps, i.e. 1:25000. It is double-sided to permit this extra geographical coverage.

For a map with broader coverage including this county try the Ordnance Survey Travelmaster Sheet 4 "Southern Scotland and Northumberland". This runs from Dundee (Angus) in the north down to Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Northumberland) in the south and east, and over to Campbeltown (Argyll) in the west. The scale is 1:625000, or 4cm:25km, or 1inch:10miles.

The county is also covered by reprinted one-inch to the mile Victorian Ordnance Survey maps. These are published by Caledonian Maps. The maps covering Selkirkshire are:

  • Sheet 16: Moffat, including Beattock, Eskdalemuir, Ettrick Water, Hart Fell, St Mary's Loch, Thirlestane, Tweedsmuir and Yarrow
  • Sheet 17: Hawick & Jedburgh, including Ancrum, Ashkirk, Bedrule, Bonchester, Cheviot Hills, Hobkirk, Lilliesleaf, Minto, Teviotdale, and Watling Street
  • Sheet 24: Biggar & Peebles, including Carlops, Culter, Broughton, Dolphinton, Dunsyre, Innerleithen, Leadburn, Traquair, Walkerburn and West Linton
  • Sheet 25: Kelso & Melrose, including Earlston, Galashiels, Gordon, Greenlaw, Lauder, Polwarth, Roxburgh, St Boswells, Selkirk and Westruther