St Catherine, Bo'ness, Scottish Episcopal
It was founded in 1888.
St Catherine's Episcopal Church was formed around 1864 as a mission congregation. A Curate was appointed in 1888. St. Catharine’s was the mother church of St. Ninian’s, Blackness and St Mildred’s, (now St. Peter’s) Linlithgow. In 1979 St. Catharine’s was successfully linked to St. Mary’s, Grangemouth. The congregation purchased the old Bo’ness Parish Church at Corbiehall in 1889 and sold it in 1919. The congregation met in the Town Hall for two years until the present building in Cadzow place could be occupied from 1921. A hall was added in 1928.
The current St. Catherine's Episcopal Church is a very small, charming structure, built in a Norman Style. It features a sanctuary, chancel, crossing and transepts. The church is entered through a beautifully detailed and heavily buttressed porch, under an arched doorway. It is in good condition and in full ecclesiastical use.
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)