Hide
Bryncroes
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"BRYNCROES, a parish in the hundred of Commitmaen, in the county of Carnarvon, North Wales, 10 miles to the S.W. of Pwllheli. It lies near the extremity of the peninsula forming the N. boundary of Cardigan Bay, on the banks of the small river Sochan. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Bangor, value £107, in the gift of C. W. G. Wynne, Esq. There are charitable endowments for the poor, worth £18 a year." [From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) - Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Hide
- Jones, R Gerallt. Hunangofiant 1937-1940 : Bryncroes ac Ysgol Bryncroes / Rhan1. Taliesin Cyf. 109 (Haf 2000), p. 10-17
Robert Thomas, Bryncroes Account Book 1790 - 1821 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"Robert Thomas of Ty Engan, Bryncroes was a fairly substantial farmer. He played an active role in the Wesleyan cause in the Llyn peninsula and in the local Bible Society..."
Bryncroes 1891 census - on the Rhiw.com site
| St Mary, Bryncroes |
| Bethel Welsh Independent Chapel, Bryncroes |
| Ty Mawr Chapel, Bryncroes |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Bryncroes Parish; Statistics; Area 3646 acres; Population 441 males, 482 females, total 923
|
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Capel Tyddyn, Wesleyan Methodists
- Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Hebron chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Eleri Rowlands (Feb 2010)
ST MARY'S CHURCH, BRYNCROES - on the People's Collection Wales site
Joyce Hinde has supplied a list of Parish Registers held at the Caernarfon Area Record Office.
Bryncroes churchyard - some inscriptions on Alwyn's Godsacre site
Bryncroes - on wicipedia (Welsh)
Various landscapes - on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Bryncroes from The National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bryncroes to another place.
Rowlands Family Papers, 1982 [includes transcriptions of letters dated 1851-1903] - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales "William Rowlands (Gwilym Lleyn; 1802-1865), Wesleyan minister and bibliographer, was born at Bryncroes, near Aberdaron ...."
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Memorandum of Recognizance of Margaret verch David Gruffyth of Bryncroes, widow in the sum of £20 to appear at the next Quarter Sessions and to keep the peace towards Elizabeth Gorton of the same place, on the pledges of Gruffyth Thomas of Aber-erch, yeoman and Owen Evan of Bryncroes, yeoman. dd 3 July 1652
- Depositions dd 26 May 1652:
1. John Evans of Aberdaron aged about [?32] deposes that on 10 April he saw John Thomas of Bryncroes strike Elizabeth Gorton with a 'threshle or flayle' at a place called Ty'r Toppyn. He also saw Margarett verch Griffith, the mother of J. T., strike E. G. with a rack.
2. Agnes verch Rob[er]t of Bryncroes, spinster aged about 30 deposes that on 10 April she saw J. T. assault E. G.
3. Catherin Gorton and John Evans of Aberdaron and Richard Thomas of Bryncroes all depose that they heard Moris Griffith tell J. T. and M. G. to come to the house of Richard Thomas [husband of E. G.]. They then saw J. T. strike E. S. with a cudgel, close to her husband's house.
Gwynedd Family History Society have a diagram of the ecclesiastical parishes of Caernarfonshire (under Parishes) - with some links to photographs of parish churches
The parish of Bryncroes, Carnarvonshire - on the People's Collection Wales site
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH220316 (Lat/Lon: 52.852387, -4.645629), Bryncroes which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
William Owen Roberts, Plas Llangwnadl Manuscripts 1793-1966 - details of extant records on Archives Network Wales
"The collection consists of transcripts of the parish registers of ............. Bryncroes, 1730-1962 .... "