GENUKI: A Cardiganshire Bibliography, Cardiganshire

Hide

Books of General Interest for Family Historians

It is acknowledged that the principal source of the details of books etc included
on these pages is the online catalogues of the National Library of Wales

Archives and Libraries

Freeman, Michael. The History of Museums in Ceredigion. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol XIII/3 1999.
"The first plans for a public museum in Aberystwyth were discussed in 1871 - exactly 100 years before the first meetings took place to form the present Ceredigion Museum...........this paper describes the history of museums in Ceredigion during those first 100 years........."
Jones, T Howell. The County Museum (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol II
Vincentelli, Moira. The U C W Arts and Crafts Museum. Ceredigion, Vol IX/1 1980. Welsh Journals Online
"The period between 1918 and 1936 saw the formation of an important craft collection in Aberystwyth, founded by the Davies sisters of Llandinam "(Margaret and Gwendoline, grand daughters of David Davies of Llandinam).

Bibliography

Anon. Bibliography of the printed literature relating to the parishes of Cardiganshire. Card. Antq. Soc Trans, Vol III Welsh Journals Online
Jones, Glyn Lewis (ed.) A Bibliography of Cardiganshire 1600-1968 (2 vols.) Ceredigion Library (1967, 1970) [BM 2719.x.16218]
Williams, Moelwyn I. Cardiganshire in Periodical Literature. Ceredigion, Vol IV/3 1962 Welsh Journals Online
"The following bibliographical list brings together under one general heading over three hundred articles and notes relating to the history of Cardiganshire and its people........."

Biography

Anon. William Evans. ( Alaw Afan). Y Cerddor, Medi 1900
Anon. John Jones, Aberaeron. Y Cerddor, Ebrill 1908.
Anon. David Jenkin Morgan, Llechryd (1751/2?-1814). Y Cerddor, Gorph 1889
Baker-Jones, D L. Charles Evans Davis Morgan-Richardson 1857-1913 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VIII
Davies, R I. Twm Shon Gati (Thomas Jones c 1530-1609). Card. Antq. Soc Trans, Vol V Welsh Journals Online
Ellis, Mari. T E Ellis a Cheredigion (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Evans, D E. David Lewis, Llanrhystud. Y Cerddor, Ebrill 1902 & Tach 1908
Evans, D E. Parch John Roberts ( Ieuan Gwyllt). Y Cerddor, Hyd 1892
Evans, H R. Thomas Pritchard, rector of Llandysul. NLW journal, Vol XII
Hughes, Mary. Idwal Jones, Llanbedr. Llawlyfr Cym. Cered. Llundain. Vol IV
Jenkins, David. Edward Edwards ( Pencerdd Ceredigion), Aberystwyth. Y Cerddor, Tach 1897
Jenkins, David. R S Hughes. Y Cerddor, Ebrill 1893
Jenkins, Geraint H. Lewis Morris: 'the fat man of Cardiganshire' (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Jones, G . (Glan Menai) Enwogion Sir Aberteifi . Dolgellau, 1868.
Jones, T Hughes. Daniel Rowland, Llangeitho. Llawlyfr. Cym. Cered. Llundain. Vol V
Jones, Thomas Dr. David Alban Davies. Llawlyfr Cym. Cered. Llundain, Vol VIII
Lewis, W J. 'Yr Hen Syr' (John Williams, Ystrad Meurig). Ceredigion, Vol IV 1960/63 Welsh Journals Online
Lloyd-Johnes, Herbert. John Johnes (1800-1876). Ceredigion, Vol III Welsh Journals Online
Morgan, Gerald. A Welsh House and its Family : the Vaughans of Trawsgoed [Crosswood].1999.A study of the largest landowners in Cardiganshire, from the C14 to C20. The Trawsgoed estate extended over 22 Cardiganshire parishes.
Morgan, J J. Hanes bywyd Twom o'r Bryn, sef Thomas Williams, o'r Bryn, Sir Aberteifi. Cylch. Cymd. Hanes. Meth. Calf., Vol XVIII
Williams, Benjamin [Gwynionydd] . Enwogion Ceredigion. 1869.
Williams, J Gwyn. Sir John Vaughan of Trawscoed. NLW journal, Vol VIII

Business and Commerce Records

Green, F. Early Banks in West Wales. Trans. Historical Society of West Wales, 1916.
Y CYMMRODOR, XXXIX (1928) Peate: A North Cardiganshire Woollen Yarn Factory .

Cemeteries

James, Auronwy. The First Graves in the Cemeteries of Ceredigion. Cardiganshire FHS journal, Vol 4/2, June 2005.

Census

Benjamin, E. Alwyn. Human Afflictions : a study of the North Ceredigion census returns, 1851-71 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, x 2 : 155-60 (1985)
Gibson, J.S.W. and Medlycott, M.T. Local Census Listings 1522-1930 (2nd ed.), Birmingham, Fed. of Fam. Hist. Soc. (1994) 52 pp. [ISBN 1-872094-75-9]. Extracted are details of local censuses in Wales, listed by county
Wilson, Dave. Cardiganshire Census Statistics. Cardiganshire FHS journal vol 3/8 June 2004

Church History

Barker, T.W. Particulars Relating to Endowments etc of Livings .Diocese of St David's Vol3: Archdeaconry of Cardigan. 1907
Barrow, Julia. [Ed]. St Davids Episcopal Acta 1085-1280. South Wales Record Society, 1998. Contains the Latin text of all the charters known to have been issued by the bishops of St Davids down to the death of Richard de Carew in 1280, with English summaries and notes.
Beynon, Tom. Howell Harris's visits to Cardiganshire. Cylch Cym Hanes Meth Calf Cymru. Vol XXIX, XXX, XXXI, XXXII. and his 'Last visits etc 1766, 1769, 1770' XXXII
Brinkley, Richard. Connop Thirwall, Bishop of St David's (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VII
Chater, A.O. Early Cardiganshire gravestones Parts I and II. Archaeologia Cambrensis. 1976, Vol.125, pp 140-61 and Vol.126, pp 116-38.
Ellis, Mari. Thomas Beynon, Archddiacon Ceredigion 1745-1833 . (NLW's site) Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. Vol. XIII, No. 1 (1997]
Evans, D.E. Mudiad Rhydychen yng Ngogledd Sir Aberteifi. .[The Oxford movement in North Cardiganshire] Historical Society of the Church in Wales, Journal, 1954, Vol.4
Evans, George Eyre. Cardiganshire, a Survey of its Antiquities, Chapels, Churches .1903
Evans, J.T. The Church Plate of Cardiganshire. Stow-on-the-Wold, 1914
Gray, Madeleine. The diocese of St Davids in 1563. Journal of Welsh Religious History 5 (1997), p. 29-56
Green, Tyrrell Prof. Carved work in Cardiganshire churches Card. Antq. Soc. Trans., Vol I/3 Welsh Journals Online
Greenway, W. The Election of David Martin, Bishop of St David's, 1293-6. Journal of the Historical Society of the Church in Wales Vol. X, No. 15 (1960)
'Hanes Capeli'r Enwad yn Sir Aberteifi' [History of the Chapels of the Denomination in Cardiganshire]. Yr Ymofynydd : Cylchgrawn Misol Cymdeithas Undodiad Deheudir Cymru [The Enquirer: The monthly magazine of the Unitarian Society of South Wales], 1928-33
Jenkins, Geraint H. The Established Church and Dissent in Eighteenth Century Cardiganshire. Cardiganshire County History, Vol III
Jenkins, Geraint H. Yr Eglwys Wiwlwys Olau a'i Beirniaid (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol X
Jones, E D. Some aspects of the history of the church in north Cardiganshire in the eighteenth century. J Hist Soc Church Wales, Vol III/5
Jones, Ieuan Gwynedd. Church Reconstruction in North Cardiganshire in the Nineteenth Century. National Library of Wales journal. 1978, Winter Volume XX/4
Jones, I G. Church and Chapel in Cardiganshire, 1811-1914 Cardiganshire County History, Vol III
Kirkby, D.P. The church in Ceredigion in the early Middle Ages. Cardiganshire County History, Volume 1.
Levi, T A A tribute to the early church Card. Antq. Soc. Trans., Vol I/3 Welsh Journals Online
Ludlow, N. Ceredigion churches (DAT 48): church reports. Cardiff, CADW,Welsh Historical Monuments project, 1998/2000. Details and description of every church
Morgan, W T. Disciplinary Cases against Churchwardens in the Consistory Courts of St David's . Journal of the Historical Society of the Church in Wales Vol. X, No. 15 (1960)
Morris, J. Dedications of Cardiganshire Churches. Card. Antq. Soc, Trans., Vol I/4 Welsh Journals Online & Card. Antq. Soc. Trans, Vol II/1 Welsh Journals Online
Percival, D. Inventory of nonconformist chapels and Sunday Schools in Cardiganshire. Cardiganshire County History. Vol.3.
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The CGN section of these books (in Welsh) is being extracted - some with translations
Salter, Mike . The Old Parish Churches of South-West Wales. Malvern, 1994 .
Saunders, Erasmus. A view of the state of religion in the diocese of St.David's about the beginning of the 18th century : with some account of the causes of its decay,together with considerations of the reasonableness of augmenting the revenues of impropriate churches . Cardiff : University of Wales Press, 1721
Sharpe, F. The church bells of Cardiganshire: their inscriptions and founders. Brackley, Smart and co, 1965.
The Episcopal Registers of the Diocese of St.Davids, 1397-1518 : from the original registers in the Diocesan Registry of Carmarthen. London : The Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion, 1917. 3 v ; 25cm. Series title Cymmrodorion Record series ; No.6
The Welsh Church Year Book 1929. Published by The Representative Body of The Church in Wales. Cardiff, 1928. pp 624 including over 130 pages of biographies of clergy. A Cd containing a scanned copy of the book was published by Archives CD Books in 2002. With the permission of the latter part of the statistical data for parishes in the counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire has been extracted onto those GENUKI parish pages. The Explanatory notes state that;
- Where parishes have been grouped or divided then the acreage is unreliable, some town figures are not given.
- Population figures are according to the 1921 census returns.

Church Records

Ifans, Dafydd [ed]. Cofrestri Anghydfurol Cymru/ Nonconformist Registers of Wales. Aberystwyth, 1994. This book includes Ordnance Survey references for listed chapels.
Jones, I.G. & Williams, D. The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Cardiff, 1976.
MacDonald, R W. The Parish Registers of Wales, National Library of Wales journal. 1976, Winter. Volume XIX/4
Rawlins, B.J. The Parish Churches and Nonconformist Chapels of Wales: Their Records and where to Find them, Vol. One, Cardigan - Carmarthen - Pembroke. P.O. Box 510652, Salt Lake City, UT 84151-0652, Celtic Heritage Research (1987). [Provides details of [ but no personal names] parish registers at the National Library of Wales and at the Carmarthenshire Record Office, and very extensive details of the various types of nonconformist records, mainly held at the PRO or at the chapel concerned.This book has been used as a source of data of nonconformist records on the Genuki parish pages.
Samuel, David. Schedule of Records and Printed Materials of the North Cardiganshire Presbytery of the Presbyterian Church in Wales [Calvinistic Methodist Archives Collection]. Chapel histories are included for the chapels of ;
- Elim, Llanddeinol
- Swyddffynnon, Lledrod
- Tabor, Llangwyryfon
- Siloh, Aberystwyth
- Bethel, Llangwyryfon
- Blaenplwyf, Llanychaearn
- Rhiwfelen, Llanfihangel-y-Creuddyn

Williams, C.J. and Watts-Williams, J. Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru: Parish Registers of Wales (National Index of Parish Registers, Vol. 13).Aberystwyth: National Library of Wales, Second edition, 2000. This book has been used as a source of data of parish records and bishop's transcripts on the Genuki parish pages

Court Records

Foley, R. The Practice of the Court of Great Sessions for Carmarthen, Pembroke and Cardigan. 1792
Griffiths, G. Milwyn. Glimpses of Cardiganshire in Sessions Records (NLW's site) Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. . Vol V, No. 3 (1966)
Pre-1858 Welsh probate jurisdictions.South Wales & Monmouthshire : a genealogical research guide to probate courts having jurisdiction in the counties of Brecon, Cardigan, Carmarthen, Glamorgan, Monmouth (England), Pembroke, and Radnor. Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S.A. : Genealogical Society of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Inc., 1970

Description and Travel

Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

'An old inhabitant'. Vanished and vanishing Cardiganshire; 1. Castle Lane, Aberystwyth. 2. Bont Cottage , Aberaeron. 3. Llanrhystud Church before restoration. 4. Nantcwnlle Church before restoration. 5. Llanfihangel-y-Creuddin in 1889. 6. Leaves from an old sketch book (relating to the Aeron valley). Card. Antq. Soc. Trans, Vol II Welsh Journals Online
Benbough-Jackson, Michael. Ceredigion and the changing visitor gaze, c1760-2000 (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Chater, Arthur. Inscriptions on Bridges in Ceredigion (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 1978
Colyer, (Moore) R J. The Teifi: Scenery and Antiquities of a Welsh River. Llandysul, 1987
Davies, Dewi. The Early Years of the Turnpike Trust in Cardiganshire. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 2003
Davies, Paul. A Company of Forts, A Guide to the Medieval Castles of West Wales. Published by Gomer, site intro; "As in the rest of Wales, the western counties of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion abound with reminders of a turbulent medieval past, - magnificent castles which grace the landscape, their inherent menace only somewhat subdued by the passing years. Paul R. Davies provides us here with an introduction to the history which led to the building of the medieval castles, and then divides the fortresses into three types - motte and bailey sites, stone-built castles and fortified manor-houses. The text is lavishly illustrated with photographs and line-drawn reconstructions, which vividly show the range of castles, both large and small, in West Wales, from mighty Pembroke and Carreg Cennen to the fortified manor-houses of Green Castle and Eastington and the atmospheric mounds such as Pencader and Llangadog......."
*Ellis, T.I. Crwydro Ceredigion.1952. Gives a fairly detailed background as to the history and geography of this mainly rural county some fifty years ago.
Horsfall-Turner, E.R. Walks and Wanderings in County Cardigan, being a descriptive sketch of its Picturesque, Historic, Antiquarian, Romantic and Traditional Features. n.d. ca 1903. Appendices include : lists of wrecks off Cardiganshire coast -1743/1901; Cardiganshire militia; nonconformist chapels (with some ministers' names).
Images of West Wales. Carmarthen Journal, 1999. Here is an index by Ruth Broad
Inglis-Jones, Elisabeth. Memories of old Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol IV
Jones, E D Some glimpses of Cardiganshire Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society vol 6/1 1943 Welsh Journals Online
Lewis, C.R. and S. Wheatley. The towns of Cardiganshire, 1800-1995. Cardiganshire County History, Vol.3.
Macalister, R A S The sculptured stones of Cardiganshire Trans. Cards. Antiq. Soc. V, 1927 Welsh Journals Online
Padfield, Roger and Barrie Burgess. The Teifi Valley Railway. Haverfordwest, 1974
Rees, T. A topographical and historical description of Cardiganshire; containing an account of its towns, castles, antiquities, churches, monuments, public edifices, picturesque scenery, the residences of the nobility &c accompanied with biographical notes of eminent and learned men to whom this county has given birth. London, 1810. Based mainly on the ancient seats of the county.
Sarn Helen-A Roman Road in Wales. Morris Marples. Welsh Outlook Press, 1939
Victorian and Edwardian Wales from old photographs. Introduction and commentary by E D Jones. Batsford 1972. Here is a brief introduction and an index of the 154 photographs.
William-Davies, John. Tom Mathias, Folk Life Photographer. Gomer site intro; "A selection of photographs from the Tom Mathias Collection and a resume of the photographer's life and work.A fascinating record of daily life in south Ceredigion and north Pembrokeshire at the end of the nineteenth century and during the early years of the twentieth century. "

Directories

Kelly's Directory of South Wales 1884 ,1910 , 1920.
Kelly's Directory of South Wales 1904
Pigot's Directory of South Wales 1835 . A classified directory of Nobility, Gentry, Clergy, Merchants, Bankers, Professional Gentlemen, Manufacturers and Traders - Not a listing of all residents or households.
Pigot's Directories of North Wales, South Wales and Monmouthshire 1822-3
Pigot's 1830 directory South Wales, and , Pigot's 1830 directory North Wales; searches within their Research Service from Cardiganshire Family History Society
Slater's Directory of South Wales and Monmouthshire 1850
Slaters Directory of North and South Wales 1858-1859
Worrall's Directory of South Wales : comprising the counties of Glamorgan Carmarthen, Pembroke, Cardigan, Brecknock and Radnor, with Newport, Monmouthshire. Oldham : John Worrall, 1875. [18],436,174p. Includes 178p of advertisements.Includes index.

Emigration and Immigration

Beddow, Deirdre . Eleanor James: Cardiganshire's only Female Transportee to Australia (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VIII, No 3, 1978
James, Evan L. Ceredigion Ancestors of Joe Tanner, Astronaut. Cardiganshire FHS journal, vol 3/9, Oct 2004
Knowles, Anne Kelly. Calvinists incorporated : Welsh immigrants on Ohio's industrial frontier Chicago : University of Chicago Press,1997. Includes a section on emigration and immigration history in 19th century Cardiganshire, and has bibliographical references to Cardiganshire individuals, and an index.
Morgan, Gerald & J Ann Davies. Americans in Cardiganshire in 1881. Cardiganshire FHS journal vol 4/1 Feb 2005
Owen, Bob. Ymfudo o Sir Aberteifi i Unol Daleithiau America o 1654 hyd 1860 (NLW's site- 2 parts) Ceredigion, Vol II 1954
Owen, Bob. 'O Sir Aberteifi i Jackson a Gallia, Ohio. Llawlyfr Cymdeithas Ceredigion Llundain XI (1955/6)
Thomas, Peter. Strangers from a Secret Land.- the voyage of the brig "Albion" and the founding of the first Welsh Settlement in Canada.Gomer, 1st ed., 1986. 329pp. The story of the original emigration from west Wales, especially from the surroundings of Cardigan and the Teifi valley, in the early 1800s, and the fate of the emigrees in Canada.
Williams, Daniel Jenkins . The Welsh Community of Waukesha County (Wisconsin).1926. This book mentions over 600 individuals who came from the Teifi Valley to Wales/Genesee (Towns), Waukesha County, Eastern Wisconsin, USA in the 1840--1850's period. The abstract lists individuals by family, local nickname, marital relationships, children, shire and farm/parish (if available) in Wales, and some birth and death dates as well as Wisconsin moves.

Genealogy

Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

Ashworth, Norma. My 'Illustrious' Ancestry. Cardiganshire FHS journal, vol 3/2, June 2002. Explores the author's ancestors from Llanarth, Henfynyw, Ciliau Aeron parishes links and Sir Richard Herbert of Coldbrook, Abergavenny.
Baker-Jones, D.L. Princelings, Privilege and Power: the Tivyside Gentry in their Community. Llandysul, 1999.This has many references to the parish, its main houses and their families [including a pedigree of the Brigstockes of Blaenpant] and an extensive bibliography. Gomer 2002 Catalogue (1 85902 381 9);- "This sumptuously researched book charts the rise and fall of the Tivyside gentry from the beginning of the eighteenth century to the 1930s....."
Bridgeman, Rev. The Hon. George T. O. History of the Princes of South Wales. 1976 (Wigan) 310pp. + intro. 11 genealogical tables
Evan Thomas Rhys o Lanarth. Diliau'r awen; sef crynodeb o waith awenyddol y diweddar ardderchog brydydd Evan Thomas Rhys o Lanarth Ceredigion [yr hwn a flodeuodd tua chanol ddeunawfed ganrif] ac eraill, wedi ei gasglu gan William Hughes Griffiths, Tyhen Llandyssilio Gogo. Argraffwyd gan D Jenkins, Heol fawr, Aberystwyth 1842.
(A series of collected poems of Evan Tomos Rhys; collected by William Hughes Griffiths, Tyhen Llandyssilio Gogo and printed by D Jenkins, Heol fawr, Aberystwyth 1842.
Here is the list of subscribers from this book
Evans, W (Parch). Cyfrol o Bregethau (Book of Sermons). 1st Ed. Aberayron 1893. D.D.Williams, Bookbinder, Merthyr Tydfil.
Here is the list of subscribers - with addresses - from this book; mainly Cardiganshire but also Liverpool, London, Barry and Other Places.
Green , Francis [Ed] . West Wales Historical Records The Annual Magazine of the Historical Society of West Wales. c 1920 in 14 volumes. Here is a listing of Contents
Hughes, H Harold. Some further notes on North Cardiganshire wills and deeds. Arch. Camb. 1919
Jones, E D. John Humphreys Davies 1871-1926 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV
Jones, Francis. Gellidywyll: a Ceredigion Family South of the Teifi . Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VIII, No 4, 1979 Welsh Journals Online
*Jones, Francis. Historic Cardiganshire Homes and their Families. Brawdy Books, Newport, Pem; Nov 2000. Here is a list of parishes/houses appearing in the book.
Jones, Francis. The old families of south-west Wales (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV
Jones, Francis Lloyd of Gilfachwen, Cilgwyn & Coedmore (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VIII
Lloyd, Howell A. The Gentry of South-West Wales 1540-1640. Cardiff, 1968
Lloyd-Johnes, Herbert. John Johnes 1800-1876 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol III
Lowe, Vera. The Mortimers in Pembrokeshire and Cardiganshire and Related Families. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 7/6 Dec 2001.
Morgan, Gerald. Women's Wills in West Wales 1600-1700. Trans of Hon Soc of Cymmrodorion , 1993
Morgan, Gerald. Dowries for Daughters in West Wales 1500-1700. Welsh History Review 17, (1995)
Phillips, Sir Thomas (ed.) Pedigrees of Caermarthenshire, Cardiganshire, and Pembrokeshire, in continuation of Lewis Dwnn [i.e. of the pedigrees recorded by him in his Heraldic Visitations], to about the years 1700-10, from the MS. of John P. A. L. Philipps, etc. Jacobus Rogers, Middle Hill (1859) pp. 4. 44. fol. [BM Tab.436.b.4.(3.)]
Porter, Edward T. The Olivers of Cardiganshire 1778-1993: their descendents in Wales, England and North America and some of their related Welsh families. Author, 1993(USA). Apart from family details, contains background history of the area, especially the lead mining district around Gwnnws. Here are some extracts from the CD of the book
Rowlands, John & Sheila. Cardiganshire marriages. Ilar Hundred. Aberystwyth, 1991
Rowlands, John & Sheila. Cardiganshire marriages pre 1813, Pennarth Hundred : indexes and transcripts Aberystwyth, 1992
Theakston, Lucy E. Lloyd & Davies, John. Some family records & pedigrees of the Lloyds of Allt yr Odyn, Castell Hywel, Ffos y Bleiddiaid, Gilfach Wen, Llan Llyr, Waun Ifor.Oxford: Fox, Jones & Co (1913). Counties - Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. Family names - Lloyd, Philipps, Allen Estates/properties - Allt yr Odyn, Castell Hywel, Ffos y Bleiddiaid, Gilfach Wen, Llan Llyr, Waun Ifor, Llanfair Clydogau, Maes y Felin, Highmead, Pantstreimon.
*Thomas, David N. Dylan Thomas. A Farm, Two Mansions and a Bungalow. Seren, the book imprint of Poetry Wales Press, Bridgend, 2000 The area covered is around Talsarn, Talgarreg, Llanon, Aberaeron, Llanina, New Quay and Llangrannog.

History

Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

Afan ab Alun. 'Cestyll Ceredigion', , Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1991.
Anon. Cardiganshire prices etc in 1601. Bye-Gones, 1874-5
Barber, Jill and Derryan Paul. Catherine Chichester and Cardiganshire, 1705-1735 (NLW's site) Ceredigion XI
Barber, Jill. A Fair and Just Demand?: Tithe unrest in Cardiganshire, 1796-1823 (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 16
Bird, A.J. The Menhir in Cardiganshire: a Re-assessment (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VII, No 1, 1972.
Bowen, E G. From antiquarianism to archaeology in Cardiganshire, 1909 -1959 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol III
Bowen, E G Cardiganshire in prehistoric times Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 11 1936 Welsh Journals Online
* Cardiganshire County History . Volume1: From the earliest times to the coming of the Normans , edited by Davies J.L and Kirby, D.P. Cardiff, 1994
Volume 3: Cardiganshire in Modern Times, edited by Jenkins, Geraint H. and Jones, Ieuan Gwynedd. Published by the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society in association with the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales: Cardiff [1998].
Briggs, C S. The Bronze Age. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Briggs, C S. Historical notes on the study of Megalithic and Bronze Age sites and finds from Ceredigion (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IX
Cameron, T Duncan. Recent fieldwork in Ceredigion (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IX
Davies, D Ernest Recent finds in Cardiganshire Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 9 1933 Welsh Journals Online
Davies, D J. The Economic History of South Wales prior to 1800, Cardiff, 1933
Davies, Hettie Glyn. 'Edrych Yn Ol, Hen Atgofion Am Bentref Gwledig' Gwasg y Brython, 1958.
Davies, Gwyn. Ceredigion in the Second World War. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 2000
Davies, J Ceredig Brittany and Cardiganshire Card. Antq. Soc, Trans., Vol I/4 Welsh Journals Online
Davies, J L & A H A Hogg. The Iron Age. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Davies, J L. The Roman Period. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Davies, J. M. 'O Gwmpas Pumlumon : Atgofion a Hanesion', Cymdeithas Lyfrau Ceredigion, 1966.
Davies, T I. The vale of Aeron in the making (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol III
Davies, W H. The Romans in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol IV
Evans, Eyre. Cardiganshire; a personal survey of some of its Antiquities, Chapels, Churches, Fonts, Plate and Registers. 1903
Eyre, George Cardiganshire relics in Carmarthenshire Museum Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 12 1937 Welsh Journals Online
Gaffney, Angela. The Great War in Wales: Memory and Monuments in Ceredigion. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 2001
Green , Francis [Ed] . West Wales Historical Records The Annual Magazine of the Historical Society of West Wales. c 1920 in 14 volumes. Here is a listing of Contents
Griffiths, Ivor. The Rebecca Riots. Journal of Dyfed FHS, Vol 5, no 2, Dec 1994, pp 60-68
Griffiths, Ralph A. Gentlemen and Rebels in later Medieval Cardiganshire . Ceredigion. Vol V, No. 2 (1965) Welsh Journals Online
Hancox, Nicola. Recent finds from Ceredigion (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIII
Houlder, C H. The Stone Age. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Houlder, C H. The excavation of a barrow in Cardiganshire (NLW's site in 2 parts) Ceredigion Vol III
Hughes, Ieuan T. Lwm Bwa (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol V
Hughes, I T A regional survey of north Cardiganshire prehistoric earthworks Trans. Cards. Antiq. Soc. IV, 1926 Welsh Journals Online
Hughes, Ieuan T Some south Cardiganshire earthworks Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 7 1930 Welsh Journals Online
Hughes, Ieuan T Some observations on hill-top camps Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 9 1933 Welsh Journals Online
James, David. Ceredigion: a Natural History. Aberystwyth, 2001
Jenkins, Geraint H & Ieuan G Jones. Cardiganshire County History. Vol 3, Cardiganshire in Modern Times. 1998
Jenkins, J Geraint. Ceredigion: Interpreting an Ancient County. Gomer, 2005. ISBN 0-86381-961-3
John, A H. The Industrial Development of South Wales, 1750-1850. UWP, 1950
Jones, Ieuan G. The County and its History, 1909-1984 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, x 1 : 1-17 (1984)
Jones, J.Eurfil.J. Fairs in Cardiganshire Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 7 1930 Welsh Journals Online
"Key of all Wales" in South-West Cardiganshire. Surprising relics of prehistory on old estuary-River Teifi, etc. Western Mail & Echo: Cardiff, 1932
King, D J C. The Castles of Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 1956
Kirby, D P. The place of Ceredigion in the early history of Wales c400 - 1170 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VI
Lewis, G J. Mobility, locality and demographic change: the case of North Cardiganshire, 1851-71 (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 9
Lewis, W.J. Hanes Darluniadol o Geredigion (An illustrated history of Cardiganshire) Vol 1. Cardiganshire. Aberystwyth, 1976. Also by same author; An Illustrated History of Cardiganshire. 1970. bilingual text. numerous b/w illus., maps, drawing. Here is data based on material in the book under the following headings; Chapter headings
Description of Photographs
Growth of Non-conformity
Houses of the Early Gentry in Tudor times
Occupations in Cardiganshire from the 1831 census
Tai un nos on Mynydd Llanddewibrefi
The Middle Ages, names of commotes, and explanation, from the book's map/diagram

Lloyd, J.E. The Story of Ceredigion 400-1277. Gregynog Lectures. U.W.P,Cardiff, 1937

*Meyrick, Sir Samuel Rush.(1783-1848) The History and Antiquities of the county of Cardigan. Collected from the few remaining documents which have escaped the ravages of time, as well as from actual observation. Longman: London ,1810.
The history and antiquities of the County of Cardigan ... to which are now added a parliamentary history, list of High Sheriffs, some notes on the present county families, &c., &c. repr. Brecon: 1907. A transcript of this book, separated into parishes etc, is viewable on the Forebears site.
This 1907 print has now been reprinted .
Here are extracts from the book;

Moore, D[ed]. The Land of Dyfed in Early Times. Cardiff, 1964.
Morgan, Gerald. Helyntion y Cardi : ysgrifau ar hanes Ceredigion. Aberystwyth : Cymdeithas Lyfrau Ceredigion,1997
*Morgan, Gerald. Ceredigion: a Wealth of History. Gomer, 2005. ISBN 1 84323 501 3
Mynegai i Ceredigion 1-X / Index to Ceredigion 1-X, edited by Howells,W.H. 1990
Rebecca Riots . Commissioners Report (1844) into the conditions in South Wales which contains a lot of background evidence and comment by Dyfed people. Backed by contemporary press extracts relating to the Rebecca Riots in the Llanelly, Llannon and Pontardulais areas. Indexed by witnesses.
Rees, D Morgan. Industrial archaeology in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol V
Rees, G. Sarn Helen: Olion y Rhufeiniaid yn Sir Aberteifi .c 1927 [Sarn Helen; Roman Remains in Cardiganshire]
Rees, S. A Guide to Ancient and Historic Wales : Dyfed. HMSO/CADW, 1992. 241p. A guide to c 150 archaelogical sites in the counties of Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire.
Richards, Melville. Is Coed Uwch Hirwen in 1651 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV
Richards, Melville. Gwynionydd is Cerdin in 1651 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV And also Gwynionydd is Cerdin in 1564 in Vol V
Rowlands, J. Historical Notes of the Counties of Glamorgan, Carmarthen, & Cardigan, and a list of the Members of Parliament for South Wales, from Henry VIII, to Charles II., Cardiff, Hugh Bird (1866) 135 p. [BL 10109.t.51.]
Saer, D J. The Story of Cardiganshire. Educational Publishing Co, Cardiff, c 1911. 165 pp, one of "Welsh County" series.
Sanders, I J. Trade and industry in some Cardiganshire towns in the middle ages (NLW's site) Ceredigion, iii 4 : 319-36 (1959)
Sansbury, Arthur R Recent finds in Cardiganshire Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 7 1930 Welsh Journals Online
Sansbury, Arthur R Bronze objects of the Bronze Age found in Cardiganshire Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 7 1930 Welsh Journals Online
Williams, W Ogwen. Some Notes on Tudor Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VI, No 2, 1969.
".....Until the reorganisation of the government of Wales by the Acts of Parliament passed in 1536 and 1543, Cardiganshire formed part of the principality as it existed after the Edwardian Conquest.....the principality consisted of the five counties of Anglesey, Caernarvon, Merioneth, Cardigan and Carmarthen and was divided for administrative and fiscal purposes into two parts... the principality of North Wales consisted of the three northern counties and the principality of West Wales, sometimes called the principality of South Wales, of the counties of Carmarthen and Cardigan. This division of the principality between 1284 and 1536 was not simply a matter of geography, though there was in the Dovey estuary a marked geographical divide such as might form a frontier between two separate and independent states on the continent of Europe...."
Williams, Moelwyn I. Cardiganshire in periodical literature (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV

Land and Property

Bowen, D Q, The Land of Cardiganshire. Cardiganshire County History, vol 1, 1994
Cave, R & B A Hains (eds). Geology of the country between Aberystwyth and Machynlleth. HMSO 1986
Colyer, (Moore), R J. The Landed Gentry of Ceredigion. Cardiganshire County History . Volume III
Davies, Alun Eifug. Enclosures in Cardiganshire, 1750-1850 (NLW's site) Ceredigion (Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society) Vol VIII No 1 [1976].
Davies, Elwyn. Hafod, hafoty and lluest - their distribution, features and purpose (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IX
Davies, J H. Cardiganshire Freeholders in 1760. West Wales Historical Records iii, 1913
Evabns, E D. A Cardiganshire Crown Land dispute (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Huws, Daniel . The Lewes Family of Abernantbychan . Ceredigion, Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol V1/2 1969. Estates of Sir John Lewes and James Lewes settled in 1650. Compiled by Gareth Hicks, the index of data in two deeds has been produced in table format showing properties, parishes, occupants and annual value
James, Brian Ll. The Great Landowners of Wales in 1873. National Library of Wales journal. 1966, Summer Volume XIV/3
Jenkins, Dan. Cartrefi Ceredigion. Llawlyfr Cym. Cered. Llundain, Vol II, III & IV
Jones, Francis. Blaenbylan: Chronicle of a Minor Gentry House (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VII
Jones, Francis. Gellidywyll - a Ceredigion Family south of the Teifi (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VIII
Lewis, W J. Some freeholders of Cardiganshire in 1632 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol III
Lloyd-Johnes, Herbert. The lesser country houses of Cardiganshire. (Vol II on NLW's site in 3 parts) Ceredigion, Vol II & Vol III
Morgan, Gerald. Twf a diflaniad ystadau Dyffryn Ystwyth (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIII
Parkinson, A J. Wheat, Peat and Lead : Settlement Patterns in West Wales, 1500-1800. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, x 2 : 111-30 (1985)
Richards, Melville. Gwynionydd Is Cerdin in 1564. Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol V/2, 1965. Welsh Journals Online . This article is a listing of the rent roll of the manor of Gwynionydd Is Cerdin in 1564, made by Howel John Lloyd. The parishes contained are Gwestva Llandyssill, Llangynllo, Llanvair olloyn, Llandyvriog, and Trevigod a Dihewyd. There are more than 150 properties listed, all in the format "Tir.............". Refers very briefly to a later survey made in 1651 which the author published in the Ceredigion for 1963.
Rudeford, C C. Soils and Land Use. Cardiganshire County History, vol 1, 1994
Smith, Peter. The domestic architecture of the county. I. The rural domestic architecture: ffermdy, plas a bwthyn. Cardiganshire County History, Vol.3.
Vaughan, H M. Some historic houses of Cardiganshire. Llawlyfr Cym. Cered. Llundain, Vol II(1935/6)
Vincent, J E. The Land Question in South Wales. London, 1897
White, P. The domestic architecture of the county. II. The secular urban architecture in context. Cardiganshire County History, Vol.3.
Wood, Juliette. The Mid Wales context of Hanes Taliesin - Local place names in the manuscript tales (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IX

Language and languages

Aitchison, J W & Harold Carter. The Welsh Language in Cardiganshire 1891-1991. Cardiganshire County History Vol, III
Davies, W Beynon. Ffiniau iaith ac arferion (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IX
Evans, Huw & Marian Davies. Fyl'na Weden I: Blas ar dafodiaith canol Ceredigion. Llanrwst, 2000
Jenkins, David. Trefn Ffarm a llafar gwlad (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV
Jones, D Gwenallt. Cyfieithwyr Ceredigion. Llawlyfr Cym. Cered. Llundain, Vol III(1936-7)
Thomas, David. Some of the remains of the 'lost' Goidelic language in Cardiganshire. Trans. Cards. Antiq. Soc. V, 1927 Welsh Journals Online
Thomas, David The old system of numeration found in south Cardiganshire Card. Antq. Soc Trans, Vol III Welsh Journals Online

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. An exceptionally useful set of maps showing parish boundaries, on a one inch to the mile scale
Lewis, M. Gwyneth. The Printed Maps of Cardiganshire, 1578-1900, in the National Library of Wales. A descriptive list with a tabular index. (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol II
Lewis, W. J. (William John). Atlas hanesyddol Ceredigion (Cardiganshire historical atlas )Aberystwyth : Cymdeithas Lyfrau Ceredigion, 1969

Merchant Marine

Campbell-Jones, Susan. Welsh Sail. Gomer 1976. Here is an index by Mary Jane Stephenson
Davies, A Stanley. Cardiganshire salt-smugglers. Arch Camb, 1936
Davies, E Beynon. Llongau a llongwyr y bae. Llawlyfr Cym. Cered. Llundain, Vol IV (1937-8)
Eames, Aled. Ships and Seamen in Rural Wales in the Age of Victoria - Some Cardiganshire Examples (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VIII, No 3, 1978
Heaton , P.M. Welsh Shipping - Forgotten Fleets, 1989. Biographical details restricted mainly to owners & managers, and details of ships owned. Here is an index by David Webb .
Jenkins, David [principal author]. The Maritime Heritage of Dyfed . NLW: 1982
Jenkins, David. Shipping and Shipbuilding. Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Jenkins, David. "Cardiff Tramps, Cardi Crews" : Cardiganshire shipowners and seamen in Cardiff, c.1870-1950 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, x 4 : 405-30 (1987)
Jenkins, J.Geraint. Maritime Heritage,The Ships & Seamen of Southern Ceredigion. Llandysul: 1982.14 maps and diagrams. 63 b/w photo illus. area covered is coastline between mouth of Teifi and village of Aberaeron. Two appendices give trade list of freights from Bristol to Cardigan and The Diary of Simon Jones of Llangrannog. Here is an index and review by Mary Jane Stephenson.
Jenkins, J Geraint. The maritime heritage of some Southern Ceredigion villages (NLW's site) Ceredigion, ix 2 : 111-27 (1981)
Lloyd, Lewis. A Real Little Seaport : the port of Aberdyfi and its People, 1565-1920. 1996. Although Aberdyfi is in Merioneth, this book in the context of Cardigan Bay has numerous references to Cardiganshire men and families.
Morgan, Gerald. Adeiladu llongau yng Ngogledd Ceredigion 1700-1880 (North Cardiganshire shipbuilding 1700-1880 ) Aberystwyth : Coleg Prifysgol Cymru, Adran Efrydiau Allanol,1992
Rotie, D J. The Passing of a Fleet (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol 1
Rowlands, John. Trinity House Petitions - A Little Known Resource for Maritime Ancestors. Cardiganshire FHS journal vol 3/5 June 2003. And vol 3/6 October 2003
The People of Dyfed and the sea. Dyfed FHS journal Vol 6/4 Aug 1998. An extensive article, pp 134/142 describing resources available and several examples found at the various county Archives. Other headings include ; Steam Packets, Pembroke Dockyard and Pembrokeshire Lighthouse Keepers on the 1891 census.
Troughton, W. Ceredigion Shipwrecks. 2006, Ystwyth Press ISBNO-9552125-0-
Williams, Moelwyn. Commercial Relations. Cardiganshire County History, vol III

Military History

Davies, Reginald[Dr]. Welshmen at the Battle of Trafalgar Was your ancestor a one legged survivor of the Battle ?. Part I. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/5 Dec 1995. Concentrates on the story of one man, James Davis of Pembroke.
Davies, Reginald[Dr]. Welshmen at the Battle of Trafalgar [21 Oct 1805]. Part II. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/6 April 1996. The author refers to the index he has produced of all Welshman at the battle.
Owen, Bryn. History of the Welsh militia and volunteer corps, 1757-1908 Wrexham, Clywd: Bridge Books, 1989. Vol 4, pt. 2. Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire & Cardiganshire
Parfitt, Geoffrey Archer. Some notes on the Royal Cardigan Militia and its heirs and successors being the auxiliary forces of Cardiganshire . Shrewsbury: 1981
Retallack, John . The Welsh Guards Foreword by H R H The Prince if Wales.Published (1981) by Frederick Warne (Publishers) Ltd. London. Here is an index by Allen Powell
Sinnett, R J M[Lt Col]. The Royal Welch Fusiliers at the Battle of Waterloo. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 5/4 Aug 1995. Lists 50 names of soldiers who came from the 3 Dyfed counties.

Names, Geographical

Davies, Elwyn. Hafod, Hafoty and Lluest: Their Distribution, Features and Purpose. Ceredigion, Vol IX/1 1980. Welsh Journals Online
" Hafod and lluest are words of considerable antiquity. Both occur in manuscripts of the Welsh Laws written in the 13th century........... Hafoty does not appear in Welsh literature until 'as late as the 16th century'....."
Wmffre, Iwan. The Place-Names of Cardiganshire. 3 vols. BAR British Series 379 2004. Oxford, British Archaeological Press, 2004
Wood, Juliette. The Mid-Wales Context of Hanes Taliesin: Local Place Names in the Manuscript Tales. Ceredigion, Vol IX/1 1980. Welsh Journals Online
"According to the version of Hanes Taliesin copied by John Jones in 1609, the baby Taliesin is found by Elphin son of Gwyddno in his father's weir located 'yn y traeth rrwng Dyfi ag Aberystwyth garllaw ei gastell ei hun'....."

Names, Personal

Celtic Educational Ltd. Welsh First Names for Children - Their meanings explained . 1978
Lloyd, Annie. Welsh Surnames and Given Names, 1996
Morgan, T J/Morgan, Prys. Welsh Surnames. UWP, 1985.

Newspapers

A Guide to Local Newspapers in Dyfed. Dyfed County Council Archives Department.
Ballinger, John, 1860- . Gleanings from a printer's file. Aberystwyth, The National Library of Wales,1928 . Extracts from the records of the publisher of the Tivyside advertiser, Cardigan, from 1825 to 1865, illustrating the value from the point of view of local history of the products of local printing offices."The papers here reprinted were written for the Transactions of the West Wales Historical Society, and printed in vols. IX-XII."
Jones, Aled. Sir John Gibson and the Cambrian News (NLW's site) Ceredigion XII

Occupations

Books marked * have an entry on the separate Review/Contents page.

Anon. Cardiganshire silver. See 'A relic of the Mackworth works' in Trans Neath Antq Soc, Vol VII
Anon. The passing of the Coracle. P.D. Review, 1948, no 76
An Abstract of the Proposals of Sir Carbery Pryse and his present Partners, concerning their Famous Lead-Mines called Bwlchireskirhir, in the County of Cardigan. (A Short Account of Sir Carbery Pryse's Lead-Work, given in the First of June, 1693, by William Waller, Steward there.). 1693
Bateman, D I. Cardiganshire Agriculture in the Twentieth Century: an Economic Perspective. Cardiganshire County History . Volume III
Bick, David E. The Old Metal Mines of Mid-Wales . Parts 1-4 in a new paper back, 1978..
Bick, David Ewart and Davies, Philip Wyn . Lewis Morris and the Cardiganshire mines Aberystwyth : National Library of Wales, 1994
Bick, David. Remnants of Mining in Ceredigion before the C19 (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VIII, No 3, 1978
Bick, David. Waller's Descriptions of the Mines in Cardiganshire. Black Dwarf, 2004
Boon, George C. Cardiganshire silver and the Aberystwyth Mint in peace & war Cardiff : National Museum of Wales,1981
Burt, Roger & Peter Waite & Ray Burnley. The Mines of Cardiganshire. Exeter, n.d
Carr, Tina & Schöne, Annemarie. Pigs & ingots : the lead/silver mines of Cardiganshire . Talybont,Y Lolfa, 1993
Carpenter, Kathleen Edith. Notes on the history of Cardiganshire lead mines. Aberystwyth ,1923
Colyer, Richard. The Welsh Cattle Drovers (1976). Here is a contents listing/introduction and an index by Catherine Davies-Shiel. Reissued in 2002 by Landmark Publishing Co, with revision of some chapters, now p192.
Colyer, (Moore), R J. A Land of Pure Delight. Landysul, 1992
Colyer, R. J. Moore.Further References to the Welsh Cattle Trade. National Library of Wales journal. Volume XXV/3 Summer, 1988. Extract of this article by Bill Griffith-Jones 2002
Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 1 National Library of Wales journal. 1972, Winter Volume XVII/4
Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 2 National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Summer. Volume XVIII/3
Colyer, Richard. Welsh Cattle Drovers in the Nineteenth Century - 3 National Library of Wales journal. 1975, Summer. Volume XIX/1
Colyer, (Moore), R J. Agriculture and Land Occupation in Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Ceredigion. Cardiganshire County History . Volume III
Davies, Arthur Stanley. Cardiganshire Salt Smugglers, etc . Archaeologia Cambrensis, 1936. [BM 7711.c.30.(9.)]
Davies, Dan. 'Atgofion Dau Grefftwr' 1963
Davies, J Ll. The Livestock Trade in West Wales in the C19th. Aberystwyth Studies, XIV, 1936, pp99 and 108
Davies, J Ll. The diary of a Cardiganshire farmer, 1870-1900. Welsh Journal of Agriculture, Vol X.
Foster-Smith. The Mines of Cardiganshire N.M.R.S. British Mining No. 12
Francis, Absalom, 1823-1891. History of the Cardiganshire mines from the earliest ages, and authenticated history to A.D. 1874, with their present position and prospect.1987. Mining facsimiles ; reprint no. 14
Francis-Jones, Gwyneth. Cows, Cardis and Cockneys,1984, Welsh Books Centre
Hall, George. A Note on the Decline of Mining in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VII, No 1, 1972.
Hall, G W. Metal Mines of Southern Wales, Kington, 2nd. edn., published privately, 1993 - A detailed account of mining in the pre Carboniferous rocks of south Cardiganshire, Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire and Brecknockshire
Howell, David. The Agricultural Community of Cardiganshire in the C18. (NLW's site) Ceredigion [new paper back format] : Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol 2, No 1, 1993
Howells, Brian. Social and Agrarian Change in the Early Modern Cardiganshire. Ceredigion 1974/5 Welsh Journals Online
Hughes, Simon John Southworth. Cardiganshire, its mines and miners. Ceredigion, Talybont, The author (1976) [BM X.429/10150]
Jenkins, D. The Agricultural Community in South-West Wales at the turn of the 20th Century. Cardiff, 1971
Jenkins, David. Land and Community around the Close of the Nineteenth Century Cardiganshire County History . Volume III
Jenkins, David Braslun o hanes argraffu yn Sir Aberteifi Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society vol 7/4 1953 Welsh Journals Online
Jenkins, J Geraint. Rural Industry in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VI, No 1, 1968. A most detailed article; - 'Cardiganshire had a great variety of rural industry in the nineteenth century, they may be divided into categories............Extractive industries such as... stone quarrying and mining for non-ferrous metals; .............Processing industries such as ... corn milling, lime-burning, malthouses, tanning hides, woollen industry.............. Service industries such as... the joiner and the cobbler...............Creative industries such as...bowl turning and spoon carving, clog sole making, fishing, stone cutting and lead smelting, brick making, hat making, woollen manufacturing, saddlery, founding, sail/rope makers, shipwrights, blacksmiths, butter/cheese making, brewing, quilting and needlework ..........'
Johnes, Thomas. A Cardiganshire landlord's advice to his tenants. Hafod: 1800
Jones, David Ceri. The Board of Agriculture, Walter Davies ('Gwallter Mechain') and Cardiganshire, c 1794-1815. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 2001
Jones, R L. Changes in the pattern of Cardiganshire farming. Roy.Welsh Agr. Soc. Trans., Vol XXVII
Jones, T J. Farming Cameo: Central Cardiganshire. Agriculture, Vol LXV
Lewis,W.J. The condition of labour in mid-Cardiganshire in the early C19 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, IV, 1963
Lewis, W J. Some aspects of lead mining in Cardiganshire in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol I
Lewis W J. A Welsh Salt Making Venture of the Sixteenth Century. NLW journal Vol VIII/4 Winter 1954. Here is the article which relates the story of the salt works on the Cardiganshire side of the Dyfi.
Lewis, W J. The Cardiganshire miners' drinking song. Ceredigion, ii 1 : 53-4 (1952)
Liscombe and Co The Mines of Cardiganshire and Montgomeryshire S.J.S. Hughes Talybont
Lloyd, T & Turner, D. General View of the Agriculture of Cardiganshire. London: 1794
Macve, Jennifer. The Search for Zinc Blende in Mid-Cardiganshire during WWII (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 1991
Morgan, D J. The State of agriculture in the County of Cardigan towards the end of the eighteenth century. J.U.C.W. Agric Dept, Vol VI
O'Brien R Barry. Last of the coracle men. Ship and Boat Builder, Nov 1950
Palmer, Marilyn. "The richest in all Wales" : the Welsh Potosi or Esgair Hir and Esgair Fraith lead and copper mines of Cardiganshire . Sheffield : Northern Mine Research Society,1983
Peake, Harold The introduction of metal into Wales Trans. Cards. Antiq. Soc. V, 1927 Welsh Journals Online
Phillips, D Rhys Pioneer printing in Wales Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 13 1938 Welsh Journals Online
Phillips, Richard. Some aspects of the agricultural conditions in Cardiganshire in the 19th century. Welsh J. Agric, Vol 1.
Phillips, Richard. Amgau tir ar Fynnydd Bach (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VI
Pretty, David. ' Gwrthryfel y Gweithwyr Gwledig [The Revolt of the Rural Workers] yng Ngheredigion 1889-1950'. Ceredigion, vol 11 1989 Welsh Journals Online
Roberts, Gomer M Argraffwyr Aberteifi Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society vol 10/2 1968 Welsh Journals Online
Rowlands, John. Family connections and ship ownership. Cardiganshire FHS journal, vol 3/7 Feb 2004. Includes details of the owners of the barque M A Evans first registered in Aberystwyth in 1864; demonstrates a high level of same family ship ownership, even by farmers.
Rowlands, Marc A. Mining Plans of Cardiganshire; The Human Dimension.Ceredigion (NLW's site) Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol XIII, No 2, 1998.
Sanders, I J. Trade and industry in some Cardiganshire towns in the Middle Ages. Ceredigion, Vol III Welsh Journals Online
*Toulson, Shirley/Forbes, Caroline. The Drovers' Road of Wales. II Pembrokeshire and the South. Whittet Books Ltd, 1992 This is the second book in the series and covers from the Englishry of Pembrokeshire around Angle and Castlemartin up through Carmarthenshire, across from Ceredigion through Gower into Glamorgan and over the Black Mountains into the Welsh Marches.
Tucker, Gordon and Mary. The Old Slate Industry of Pembrokeshire and Other Parts of South Wales. National Library of Wales journal. 1983, Winter. Volume XXIII/2. Extract by Bill Griffith-Jones
Tucker, Gordon & Mary. Slate Working in North Cardiganshire with Particular Reference to Cwmerau. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, xi:1, 75-80 (1988-9)
Turner, D. General View of the Agriculture of the County of Cardigan. 1794
Vaughan, H M. Cardiganshire book-binders a century ago Journal of the Welsh Bibliographical Society vol 2/2 1917 Welsh Journals Online
Waller, William. A description of the Mines of Cardiganshire (1704) Reprint
Williams, M I. Seasonal Migration of Cardiganshire Harvest Gangs to the Vale of Glamorgan in the C19th. Ceredigion, III, no 2, 1957, pp156-9.

Periodicals

Green, Francis (ed.) West Wales Historical Records: The Annual Magazine of the Historical Society of West Wales. Quintin Publications. Here is a Contents listing of vols 1-14

Politics and Government

Barber, Jill. A Fair and Just Demand? Tithe Unrest in Cardiganshire, 1796-1823. Welsh History Review, 16 (1992)
Escott, Margaret M. Parliamentary Representation from the French Revolution to the Passage of the Reform Bill, 1790-1832. Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Hughes, John. A History of the Parliamentary Representation of the County of Cardigan. Aber, 1849
Jones, Ieuan Gwynedd. Cardiganshire Politics in the mid 19th Century . Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. Vol. V. No. 1 (1964)
Jones, Francis. Cardiganshire Election Songs (NLW's site) Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. Vol. V. No. 1 (1964)
Jones, Howard C. The Labour Party in Cardiganshire 1918-1966 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IX
Jones, Ieuan G. Cardiganshire politics in the mid-nineteenth century (NLW's site) Ceredigion, v 1 : 14-41 (1964)
Jones, J Graham. The Cardiganshire Election of 1959. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol XII/2 1994.
"During the 1950s Cardiganshire was widely regarded as the safest Liberal seat in the whole of Britain. Indeed the Liberals had first captured the seat in the epoch-making election of 1868, and from 1880 onwards the party had enjoyed a seemingly impregnable ascendancy...................."
Jones, J Graham 'The Young Upstart': Dr E Roderic Bowen 1913-2001 (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Jones, J Graham. Cardiganshire Politics, 1885-1974 Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Jones, J Graham. The Cardiganshire County Council, 1889-1974 Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Jones, J Graham. Dame Margaret in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Jones, Richard. The strange case of a wartime pig and a judicial enquiry into the conduct of a Cardiganshire Bench (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Kirkby, D P. The Political Development of Ceredigion. c 400-1081 Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Madgwick, P J & Non Griffiths, Valerie Walker. The Politics of Rural Wales - A study of Cardiganshire. Hutchinson, London, 1973. pp272
Morgan, Kenneth O. Cardiganshire Politics: The Liberal Ascendancy, 1885-1923 (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol V, No 4, 1967.
" 'There is a spirit of vassalage among the tillers of the soil, begotten by the tyranny of the past. The shadows of the oppression and evictions of 1868 have not lifted from among the people'. ( Royal Commission on Land in Wales and Monmouthshire, Evidence, 1895). This evidence given before the Welsh Land Commissioners at Aberaeron in 1894, evokes the spirit of the modern phase of Cardiganshire politics - the politics of nostalgia...."
Phillips, J R. A List of the Sheriffs of Cardiganshire. 1868
Richards, Melville. Local Government in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol IV/3 1962.
Smith, Robert. "Enlightened Radical Cardiganshire": David Ivon Jones and his Native County. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 1995
Thomas, Peter D G. County Elections in Eighteenth Century Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion XI
Thomas, P D G. Parliamentary Representation from the Glorious Revolution to the French Revolution, 1688-1789. Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Thorne, Roland G. Parliamentary Representation from the First to the Third Reform Acts, 1832-1885 Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Williams, David. Cardiganshire politics in the mid-eighteenth century (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol III

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Benjamin, E. Alwyn. Of Paupers and Workhouses (NLW's site) Ceredigion, x: 2 147-54 (1985)
Davies, Alun Eirug. Some Aspects of the Operation of the old Poor Law in Cardiganshire, 1750-1834 NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VI, No 1, 1968. Introduction summary;-The principal evidence for the operation of the old Poor Law in Cardiganshire is found in three sources. Firstly, the minutes of Vestry meetings and overseers' accounts, these are extant in some part for about 33 Cardiganshire parishes. Secondly, there are the Cardiganshire Quarter Sessions Order Books which exist from the year 1739. Thirdly, the Poor Law Enquiry Commission appointed in 1832 collected a good deal of information concerning the administration of the Old Poor Law in the form of reports and questionnaires; the Report itself was published in 1834. As far as Cardiganshire is concerned there were detailed questionnaires completed for only Aberystwyth, Lampeter and Llansanffraid.
Davies, Alun E. The New Poor Law in a Rural Area 1834-1850 (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VIII, no 3, p 245-290.
Evans, Alan Eurig. Poor Law Administration in Cardiganshire 1750-1948. 1999
Jones, Dot. Pauperism in the Aberystwyth Poor Law Union 1870-1914. Ceredigion, ix 1 : 78-101 (1980)
Martin, Shirley. The New Poor Law Act of 1834 . Cardiganshire FHS journal Vol 2/3, p 62-3. Not a long article but a good bibliography included for further reading on the subject vis a vis Cardiganshire.
Morgan, Gerald. "Bottom of the heap": identifying the poor in west Wales records 1600-1680. Llafur VII, 9 (1996)
Palmer, Helen. Documentary evidence on the lives of the poor in the later C19 in Cardiganshire. (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol XIII, No 2, 1998.

Public Records

Aitchison, J W. & Harold Carter. The Population of Cardiganshire. Cardiganshire County History Vol, III
Jones, ED. Cardiganshire Quarter Sessions Order Books, 1739-1800. Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 12 1937 Welsh Journals Online
Jones, ED. Court Leet Records. Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 11 1936 Welsh Journals Online

Religion and Religious Life

Books marked * have an entry on the separate 'Review/Contents' page.

Anon. The Quakers in Cardiganshire. Card. Antq. Soc. Trans., Vol I/2
Anon. Quakers in Cardiganshire. Carmarthen Notes, Vol II
*Barnes, David Russell . People of Seion. A history of non-conformist religious movements in Cardiganshire and Carmarthenshire from the 1730's (Methodist Revival) to the mid C19.Llandysul: Gomer Press, 1995.
Bowen, E G. The Celtic Saints in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol I
Bowen, E G. The Teifi Valley as a religious frontier (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VII
Carter, Jane. Santesau Ceredigion. (NLW's site) Ceredigion 1998
Cunnane, James. Ceredigion and the Old Faith. (NLW's site) Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. Vol. II, No. 2 (1994).
"This talk is about overt signs of Catholic belief or customs persisting in Ceredigion after the Reformation. It does not deal with physical reminders of the Old Faith - religious houses, churches, oratories, holy wells or pilgrim paths - nor Catholic place names, unless they come within my brief....."
Davies, T Eurig. Dyddiau bore Annibyniaeth yn Sir Aberteifi. Llawlyfr Cym Cered. Llundain, Vol III(1936-7)
Davies-Evans, Herbert. Life of Saint Nennock. Card Antq Soc Trans, Vol I/4
Evans, Henry. Holwyddoreg ar Hanes Dechreuad y Bedyddwyr yng Ngogledd, Ceredigon [Catechism on the History of the Baptist Origins in North Cardiganshire]. Aberystwyth, Gibson.
Evans, John, 1830-1917. Hanes Methodistiaeth, rhan ddeheuol Sir Aberteifi : oddechreuad y "Diwvgiad Methodistaidd" yn 1735 hyd 1900 . Dolgellau , 1904 (Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Church History in the southern part of Cardiganshire from 1735 to 1900) This book contains an entry for each CM chapel in existence in South Cardiganshire at the end of 1900. It includes a history of preaching in the area before the chapel was built, lists deacons, ministers etc, and contains a wealth of genealogical information.
Evans, John, 1830-1917. Y trydydd byr-gofiant : yn cynwys hanes oddeutu cant o bregethau anordeiniedig a fu farw yn Sir Aberteifi o ddechreuad y cyfundeb hyd 1913 . Dolgellau, 1913
Evans, W.G. Nonconformist chapels and Sunday schools: education in Cardiganshire, 1700-1974. Cardiganshire County History, Vol.3.
Hanes Creffydd yn Sir Aberteifi [History of Religion in Cardiganshire]. National Library of Wales, Add. Manuscript 361A
Himbury, D.M. Churches in fellowship: a short history of the English Baptist Associations in South Wales, Priory Press (1960) 27, [1] p.
James, Heather. The Archaeology of Early Christianity in Cardiganshire. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Jenkins, Geraint H. Bywiogrwydd crefyddol a llenyddol Dyffryn Teifi 1689-1740 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VIII
Jenkins, Kathryn. 'Pantycelyn a'r Cardis' (NLW's site) Ceredigion, 1993
Jones, David. Hanes y Bedyddwyr yn Neheubarth Cymru [History of the Baptists in South Wales].Carmarthen, 1839 [ LDS GS 994005]
Jones, E D. Ymneilltuaeth gynnar yng Ngheredigion (NLW' site) Ceredigion, Vol IV, 1961
Jones, I.G. Religion in Cardiganshire, 1811-1914. Cardiganshire County History, Vol.3.
Kirkby. D P. The Coming of Christianity. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Lewis, D Evan. Braslun o Hanes Henduriaeth Gogledd Aberteifi 1873-1972 [ A Brief Historical Sketch of the North Cardiganshire Presbytery, 1873-1972].Carnarfon : Llyfrfa'r M.C., 1972
Morgan T R. Bedyddwyr Parthau Uchaf Sir Aberteifi [Baptists in the Upper part of Cardiganshire]. Trafnodion Cymdeithas Hanes Bedyddwyr Cymru. Cardiff, 1924
Morgan, T R. Y Bedyddwyr yng Ngheredigion. Llawlyfr Cym Cered Llundain, Vol IV(1937-8)
O Riain, Padraig. The Saints of Cardiganshire. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Roberts, Gomer M . Methodistiaeth Gynnar Gwaelog Sir Aberteifi (NLW's site) Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. Vol. V. No. 1 (1964)
Roderick, H. A fire made of shavings?: the 1904 Revival in Cardiganshire. Ceredigion, 2005, Vol.15(1), pp 107-38.
Thomas, W Gwyn. The Early Christian Monuments. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Thickens, John. Ceredigion a'r Diwygiad Methodistaidd. Llawlyfr Cym Cered Llundain, Vol I(1934-5)
Williams, David. The Census of religious worship of 1851 in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol IV

Schools

Beynon, Tom. The Circulating Welsh Charity Schools in Cardiganshire. Cylch. Cymd. Hanes Meth. Calf. Cymru, Vol XX and XXI
Davies, B L. British Schools in South Wales, The Rev William Roberts (Nefydd), South Wales, Representative of the British and Foreign School Society, 1853-1863 , National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Winter. Volume XVIII/4
Davies, Griffith G. Addysg elfennol yn Sir Aberteifi, 1870-1902 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV
Edwards, John. Rhai o hen ysgolion y Sir. Llawlyfr Cymd. Cered. Llundain, Vol II (1935/6)
Evans, Leslie Wynne. Copper-Works Schools in South Wales during the Nineteenth Century. National Library of Wales journal. 1959, Summer Volume XI/1.There are 27 Appendices which contain data concerning individual schools in Kilvey, Hafod, Llanelly, Pembrey, Margam, Maesteg and Pontamman
Evans, W Gareth. The Aberdare Report and Cardiganshire (NLW's site) (An Assessment of Educational Conditions and Attitudes in 1881) Ceredigion, vol IX/3, 1982.
" 'At the present time Cardiganshire is to Wales what Scotland is to England. It is the county that has kept education to the front in Wales, and the spirit of education prevails in Cardiganshire more than in any other place. Therefore I think Cardiganshire has a claim, not as a question of justice or of right, but of expediency, as being the the county in Wales where education has been most appreciated, and therefore, we may infer, where it would still be most appreciated.' " ( Aberdare Report, p60)
Evans, W Gareth. Education in Cardiganshire 1700-1974 Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Griffiths, Stuart. The Welsh Intermediate Education Act and Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VIII, No 1, 1976
Jenkins, Gwyn. Cultural Institutions in Cardiganshire. Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Jones, Aidan. Education in Cardiganshire 1846-47: The Blue Books. Cardiganshire FHS journal vol 3/8 June 2004
Jones, E D. The Journal of William Roberts ('Nefydd'), 1853-62. National Library of Wales journal Vol VIII/2 Winter, 1953 et al.
Morgan, Gerald . Circulating schools in Cardiganshire, 1738-1777. Aberystwyth : U.C.W.,1991
Report of Commission of Enquiry into the State of Education in Wales. 3 vols. 1847. This page has some of the Commissioners overview reports relating to Cardiganshire (and Brecknockshire, Radnorshire) as well as a list of the parishes in Cardiganshire that have the individual reports online.
But the whole thing is now online - The Blue Books of 1847. An inquiry into the state of education in Wales - on the NLW's Digital Mirror site
Thomas, Dewi W. Addysg yng Ngheredigion [ Education in Ceredigion], 1800-1850, Yn Ol Y Cofiannau. (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VI, No 1, 1968
Thomas, Owen. Log Books of Cardiganshire schools. Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 13 1938 Welsh Journals Online
Trott, A L. Educational charities in Cardiganshire in the period 1833-35: their origin and value (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol IV
Trott, A L. Elementary day schools for the children of the working classes in Cardiganshire in 1847 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol II
Trott, A L. The Implementation of the 1870 Education Act in Cardiganshire during the period 1870-1880 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, vol3

Social Life and Customs

Bevan, Teleri. Years of my time : glimpses of a Cardiganshire upbringing . Llandysul : Gomer,1997
Brennan, T et al. Social Change in South-West Wales. (First half of C20th). 1954, p200.
Colyer, R J. The Gentry and the County in C19th Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Welsh History Review 10
Cecil-Williams, John. Y Cymmrodorion yng Ngheredigion. Llawlyfr Cym Cered Llundain, Vol VII(1951-2)
Davies, Alan Eurig. Wages, Prices and Social Improvements in Cardiganshire, 1750-1850 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol X
Davies, Jonathan Ceredig C. The Folklore of West and Mid Wales. Aberystwyth: Welsh Gazette 1911. There is a review of the book in the Cardiganshire FHS journal vol 2/8, June 2001.
Davies, Llinos M. Crochan Ceredigion. Aber, 1992 .
Dodgson, R A. Early Society and Economy. Cardiganshire County History . Volume1, 1994
Ebenezer, Lyn. Cerddi Ceredigion. Llandysul, 2003
Edwards, Ifan ab Owen. Urdd Gobaith Cymru yng Ngheredigion. Llawlyfr Cym Cered Llundain, Vol V (1938-9)
Evans, Howell. County of Cardigan: A Retrospect of the Nineteenth Century relating especially to Crime and its Prevention , the Administration of Justice, and the creation of the Police Force. Aber, 1901
Evans, R M. Folklore and customs in Cardiganshire. Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 12 1937 Welsh Journals Online
Fleure, H J. The people of Cardiganshire. Trans. Cards. Antiq. Soc. IV, 1926 Welsh Journals Online
Forty Welsh traditional tunes Trans. Cards. Antiq. Soc. V, 1927 Welsh Journals Online
Ifans, Dafydd. Lewis Morris ac arferion priodi yng Ngheredigion (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VIII
Lewis,G.J. The Demographic Structure of a Welsh Rural Village (NLW's site) [Bow Street] during the mid 19th century. Ceredigion: Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society. . Vol V, No. 3 (1966)
Griffiths, Rhidian. Music and Popular Culture. Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Griffiths, Ralph A. Gentlemen and Rebels in Later Mediaeval Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol V/2 1965.
"I shall be concerned, firstly, with those gentlemen who, in time of peace or rebellion, were recognised as the leaders of society and the moulders of opinion in the county........................Secondly, I shall be concerned with those Cardiganshire men who led revolt and rebellion against the Crown in the later Middle Ages.....these I have called rebels...."
Howell, David W. Patriarchs & Parasites: The Gentry of South-West Wales in the 18th Century. 1986 (Cardiff: University of Wales Press) ix + 310pp. inc. appendixes, bibliography, notes and index. 2 maps - 1 foldout. the area covered is Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. an examination of the fortunes and character of the ruling class but much else besides.
Howells, Brian. Social and Agrarian Change in Early Modern Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol VII, No 3/4, 1974/5.
Jenkins, D. Rhyfel y Sais Bach (NLW's site) Ceredigion, i, 1951. This relates an enclosure dispute in 1820 in an area called Mynydd Bach, the hilly land between Lampeter and Aberystwyth, the 'Sais Bach' is an English gentleman called Augustus Brackenbury.
Jenkins, David. Some Cardiganshire Broadsides (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol II
Jenkins, J Geraint. Rhai o grefftau Ceredigion (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IV
Johnes, Thomas, 1748-1816 Edited by Moore-Colyer, Richard J. A land of pure delight : selections from the letters of Thomas Johnes of Hafod, Cardiganshire,1748-1816 . Llandysul, Dyfed : Gomer,1992
Jones, D J V. Distress and Discontent in Cardiganshire, 1814-1819 (NLW's site) Ceredigion, v, no 3, 1966
Jones, D J V. More light on Rhyfel y Sais Bach. Ceredigion, v. 1965. [see Jenkins entry above] Welsh Journals Online
Jones, David J V. Crime and Policing in the Twentieth Century (The South Wales Experience). UWP
Jones, Emyr Wyn. Medical Glimpse of Early Nineteenth Century Cardiganshire . National Library of Wales journal. 1966, Summer Volume XIV/3
Jones, G Penrhyn Cholera in Wales. National Library of Wales journal Vol X/3 Summer 1958.
Jones Pierce,T. Medieval Cardiganshire - A Study in Social Origins' Ceredigion, vol 3 1959 Welsh Journals Online
Jones, Rosemary A. N. Popular Culture, Policing, and the Disappearance of the Ceffyl Pren in Cardigan, c. 1837-1850. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, xi:1, 19-40 (1998-9)
Knowles, Anne Kelly. The Structure of Rural Society in North Cardiganshire, 1800-1850. Cardiganshire County History . Volume III
Lewis , D . Pobl Wrth Eu Gwaith/People at Work . Llandysul 1987. Here is an index by Jill Smith
Lewis, G J. Mobility, Locality and Demographic Change: the case of north Cardiganshire. Welsh History Review 9, no 3 (1979)
Linnard, William. Merched y gerddi yn Llundain ac yng Nghymru (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol IX
Lloyd, H A. The Gentry of South-West Wales 1540-1640. Cardiff, 1968
Loffler, Marion. Mudiadau ieuenctid yng Ngheredigion cyn yr Ail Ryfel Byd (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIII
Meyrick, Robert. Famous among the Barns: the Cardiganshire landscapes of John Elwyn (NLW's site) Ceredigion XIV
Miles, Dafydd. Rhai agweddau ar hanes cerddoriaeth yn Sir Aberteifi (Notes on the history of music in Cardiganshire - 2 parts) (NLW's site ) Ceredigion Vol VI
Millward, E.G. Beirdd Ceredigion yn Oes Victoria. (NLW's site) Ceredigion : Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol XI, No 2, 1990
Morgan, Gerald. Women in Early Modern Cardiganshire. (NLW's site) Ceredigion, xiii:4, 1-19 (2000)
Owen, Trevor M. Some aspects of the bidding in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol IV
Palmer, Helen. The Shadow in the Family. Cardiganshire FHS Journal, Vol 2~ No 6, Oct 2000.The author's concluding words are ; " Let us remember when researching family history or social history, not only the physical conditions, but also the psychological conditions which our ancestors shared. The fear of consumption and the reality of the condition was a dark shadow at the edges of their lives."
Parry-Jones, D. A Welsh Country Upbringing. 1948 (Batsford) 139pp. + index. 88 b/w photo. illus. frontispiece in colour. views of Cards./Carms. border in early years 20th cent.
Peate, Iorwerth C. The Welsh House A Study in Folk Culture First published in 1940, reprinted by Llanerch Publishers, Felinfach in 2000. ISBN 1 86143 112 0. Here is a review and listing of Contents, Illustrations, Figures and houses/sites mentioned, from the 1940 edition.
Peate, Iorwerth C Rhai o grefftau Ceredigion Transactions of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society Vol 7 1930 Welsh Journals Online
Phillips, Richard. Ychwaneg am 'Ryfel y Sais Bach' 1820-29 (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VI
Pierce, T Jones. Medieval Cardiganshire - a study in social origins (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol III, 1959
Pretty, David A. Gwrthryfel y gweithwyr gwledig yng Ngheredigion, 1889-1950 [The rising of rural workers in Cardigan 1889-1950] (NLW's site) Ceredigion vol XI
Price, Cecil. Some Welsh Theatres, 1844 - 1870, National Library of Wales journal. 1961, Winter Volume XII/2. The towns featured are; Aberystwyth, Abergavenny, Brecon, Carmarthen, Merthyr, Monmouth, Newport, Tredegar and Wrexham.
Roberts, D Hywel E. Noddi beirdd yng Ngheredigion - rhai agweddau (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VII
Scourfield , Elfyn . Welsh Rural Life in Photographs. Barry, 1979. Here is an index by Jill Smith
Thomas, Colin. Rural Society in 19th Century Wales: South Cardiganshire in 1851 (NLW's site) Ceredigion (Journal of the Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society) Vol VI No 4 [1971]
Vaughan, H M. The South Wales Squires. London, 1926
Wiliam, Eurwyn. Home-made Homes: Dwellings of the Rural Poor in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion XII
Walker, R F. Tourism in Cardiganshire, 1774-1974 Cardiganshire County History, vol III
Williams, D. Rhyfel y Sais Bach (NLW's site) Ceredigion, ii, 1952.
Williams, Gareth W. The Disenchantment of the World: Crisis and Change in Cardiganshire (NLW's site) Ceredigion; Vol. IX, No. 4 (1983).
"I originally undertook to address the Society on aspects of religion and recreation in Cardiganshire in the late nineteenth century and I proposed as a title 'Fighting Parsons'............the turbulent priests of my original title were those fifteen representative of the Lampeter College rugby team whose brawling ordinands were once memorably headlined in the Carmarthen Journal as 'Fighting Parsons'......... But if this was civilisation, the vast majority of the population of Cardiganshire was untouched by it. For one thing, less than a quarter of them were Anglicans (1851 census)..... for another Ceredigion to this day has remained obdurately, some might say perversely, resistant to the game of rugby...... what mattered far more to ordinary people, and sustained them in their everyday lives, was a varied repertoire of magical beliefs and superstitions that were still held and practised in Cardiganshire well into the nineteenth century........."
Williams, John and Eben Davies, 'Fferm, Ffair a Phentre', Cymdeithas Lyfrau Ceredigion, 1958.
Williams, Moelwyn I. Glimpses of Life in C17 Cardiganshire. Ceredigion [new paper back format] : Cardiganshire Antiquarian Society, Vol XII, No 4, 1996
Williams, M I. Did Handel visit Cardiganshire ? (NLW's site) Ceredigion, Vol III
Williams-Davies, John. Merched y gerddi - Mudwyr tymhorol o Geredigion (Seasonal migration from Ceredigion [to London]) (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VIII
Willis-Bund, J W. Cardiganshire Constabulary. Rules, Orders and Guides to Constables, also a short history of the force. Aber, 1897

(Gareth Hicks : last updated 4 Nov 2013)

Hide

A Cardiganshire Bibliography

hide

Hide

Books of General Interest for Family Historians