Hide

Llanbadarn Trefeglwys

hide
Hide

"LLANBADARN - TRÊVEGLWYS (LLAN - BADARN-TRÊV-EGLWYS), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 12 miles (S. by W.) from Aberystwith, containing 982 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the river Arth, formerly constituted one of the prebends in the collegiate church of Llandewy-Brevi, and was rated in the king's books at £12. The living is a discharged vicarage, with that of Kilkennin annexed, in the archdeaconry of Cardigan, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £6, endowed with one-third of the tithes, and with £1200 parliamentary grant, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church is dedicated to St. Padarn, or Paternus. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists. The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is £ 170.2."
[From Samuel Lewis's A Topographical Dictionary of Wales 1833]

Hide
topup

Church History

The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales., by Jones, I.G. & Williams, D. UWP, Cardiff, 1976.

  • Llanbadarn Trefeglwys Parish Church Services in Welsh James Jones, Vicar

Parish entry for Cilcennin with Llanbadarn Trefeglwys from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by Archive CD Books).

  • Holy Trinity & St Padarn (Llanbadarn Trefeglwys)
  • Incumbent and Curates; R D Rees
  • Rural Deanery of Glyn Aeron
  • Acreage 3,419 & 6,348 ; Population 1,013

St Padarn's church - photograph on Dyfed FHS

topup

Church Records

See Notes on Church/Chapel Records page

Parish Register;
Baptisms 1724-88, 1813-1978. Marriages 1724-88, 1813-37. Burials 1724-88, 1813-1993 NLW with copies of some dates at Cer.RO
PR CB 1789-1813 M 1798-9, 1805-12 recorded in 1933 seemingly lost.
Copy manuscripts PR CMB 1724-85 NLW. Typescript PR Marriages 1724-1837 with index NLW/Cer.RO
Bishops Transcripts; see Cilcennin

See Bap/Mar/Bur data on FreeReg

Index to Burials from Parish Registers 1813-1837 available for purchase from Cardiganshire Family History Society Volume 3: Ilar (Lower) Hundred . Parishes covered: Cilcennin, Henfynyw, Llanbadarn Trefeglwys, Llanddeiniol, Llanddewi Aberarth, Llangwyryfon, Llanrhystud, Llansantffraid, Llanychaiarn, Trefilan

Nonconformist Chapels; see Chapels database

topup

Description & Travel

The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales., by Jones, I.G. & Williams, D. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. These statistics for this parish or chapelry are extracted from this book which in turn got them from the 1851 census itself;

  • Area 6283 acres; Population 402 males, 533 females, total 965

With the kind permission of the publisher, these selected extracts below are taken from " The History of Cardiganshire" by S R Meyrick, 1810, specifically the reprint of the 1907 imprint published by Stephen Collard in July 2000.

  • "Called also Llanbadarn vach, in contradistinction to Llanbadarn vawr, in the upper part of the county, adjoins the parishes of Llanddewi Aberarth and Llanychaeron, lying to the north-east of them."
  • "The church is dedicated to St Padern or Paternus. He was the son of Pedredin ab Emyr Llydaw, and the cousin of Cadvan, with whom he came into Britain."
  • "The tithes are thus divided ; one-third to the vicar, one-third to the family at Crosswood, and one-third to R Price Esq., M.P. of Knighton, Radnorshire. The vicar's share of the great and small tithes are in kind, except the hay, for which there is a modus. The farms from which the Earl of Lisburne receives the tithes are called grange lands, and are divided into two hamlets."
  • "The four last incumbents [of the parish church] were ; 1732, David Jones ; 1739, Howel Howels ; 1752, Vavasor Davies ; 1796, Timothy Evans."
  • "Mynachty, or Monk's house, as the name implies, no doubt was originally a cell, or hospitium, of the monks of Strata Florida Abbey ; but is now the property of A T Gwynne Esq. In the grounds belonging to this estate is a small hill, between two others, called Hero Castell, and probably the site of the keep of Dinerth Castle."
  • "Tyglyn, called Tyglyn isaf, or Lower Tyglyn, to distinguish it from Tyglyn uchaf, belonged to the ancient family of the Jones's, the last of whom, Henry Jones, left a daughter, and heiress, Susanna, who married Alban Thomas Esq., of Newcastle Emlyn...........who was able to trace the Thomas's in a direct line from the lords of Towyn."
You can see pictures of Llanbadarn Trefeglwys which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for Llanbadarn Trefeglwys from The National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Genealogy

Cardiganshire Families

Godwin, W H. FREE of Llanbadarn Trefeglwys, CGN, Dyfed FHS journal. 1995. An outline of the life, and writings, of the Rev. Richard William Free who was a missioner in the East End of London. He published a number of books between 1886 and 1933.

Owen, Richard Gareth. My dear Reverend cousin (Alban Gwynne of Monachty) (NLW's site) Ceredigion Vol VIII

Roberts, Gwyneth. "The Conscientious and Curious Cleric; the parishes of Llanbadarn Trefeglwys in the C19th." Ceredigion Archives Newsletter, Winter 2000. The article on contains a good number of names from burial entries in the parish registers for the 1846-70 period, some baptisms too.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanbadarn Trefeglwys has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Land & Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Monachty estate, records 1642-1882 "A Gwyn family had owned Monachty (or Mynachty), Llanbadarn Trefeglwys since the sixteenth century................"

Held at the NLW ;

  • Mynachty. Estate and family records of Gwynne of Mynachty, Cardiganshire, 1642-1882.
topup

Maps

 Map of the parish of Llanbadarn Trefeglwys, Cardiganshire  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Parish map (Kain/Oliver)

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN539629 (Lat/Lon: 52.244721, -4.141588), Llanbadarn Trefeglwys which are provided by:

topup

Names, Geographical

Places, villages, farms etc within Llanbadarn Trefeglwys as shown on the online parish map from the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Gareth Hicks)

  • Llanbadarn Trefeglwys (53); Afon Arth; Afon Bran; Bethania; Bron-wenau; Bryn-maen-mawr; Cae-bislan-isaf; Castle; Cefn-gwyn; Clwyd-goch; Cross Inn (village); Frongdu; Gors-ddalfa; Hafod; Hafod hir-isaf; Hen-draws; Llanbadarn Trefeglwys (village); Llwyn Owen; Moelfryn; Monachty; Monachty bach; Nant-coy; Pant-yr-onen; Pen banc; Pen-farteg; Pennant; Pont-rhyd-saeson; Rhos Cilcennin; Rhos Haminiog; Rhyd-galed; Talwrn; Tre-faes; Wern-ddu;
topup

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Llanbadarn Trefeglwys Parish Council and Community Council Records 1912-1987
topup

Schools