Hide
Llanegwad
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANEGWAD (LLAN-EGWAD), a parish, in the union of Llandilo-Vawr, partly in the lower division of the hundred of CATHINOG, and partly in the higher division of that of ELVET, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 7 1/2 miles (W. by S.) from Llandilo-Vawr; containing 2113 inhabitants. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Egwad, who is said to have lived here in seclusion and devotional retirement, probably near the spot still called "Eisteddva Egwad," where are the ruins of an ancient and very extensive mansion. The parish extends for nearly seven miles from north to south, and about four from east to west, and is intersected by the river Cothy, which falls into the Towy at this place. The lands, which with the exception of a very small portion, are inclosed, are fertile, and in a good state of cultivation; and the village is pleasantly situated. Search was made by N.B. Jones, Esq., within the last few years, for copper-ore, of which a vein was discovered, but it dipped so considerably below the bed of the river as to render the working of it altogether impracticable. . . There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Welsh and Wesleyan Methodists. . . A day school, containing 50 boys and 20 girls, is partly supported by endowment, and partly by voluntary contributions . . ." [From A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1844).]
Hide
| Siloam Welsh Independent Chapel, Pontargothi, Llanegwad |
| Horeb Welsh Independent Chapel, Felingwm, Nantgaredig, Llanegwad |
| Siloam Welsh Independent Chapel, Pontargothi, Llanegwad |
Some church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants
|
Parish entry from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by (Archive CD Books).
|
Griffiths, G. Milwyn. A Visitation of the Archdeaconry of Carmarthen, 1710 National Library of Wales journal. 1974, Summer Vol XVIII/3. Includes the parish of Llan Egwod
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Interior view of Holy Trinity Church, Llanegwad.
- Exterior view of Holy Trinity Church, Pontargothi.
Dyfed FHS have photographs and data relating to various churches and chapels on their site
Parish registers: Christenings (1701-1901), Marriages (1701-1953), Banns (1849-1976) and Marriages for Alltyferin (1900-70) and St. John (1901-70), Burials (1701-1905), and are at the National Library of Wales with Mf copies [except Banns] at Carm.RO
Copy ts PR index C (1813-1901) M (1701-1913) Banns (1849-1945) Alltyferin (1900-70) St John (1901-70) B (1813-1905) at NLW and Carm.RO
Bishops' Transcripts, covering the period (1679, 1681-2, 1686-7, 1690, 1701-3, 1707, 1716-20, 1725-31, 1733-62, 1764-91, 1793-1800, 1802-81) are at the National Library of Wales, and have been microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Marriage index for this parish - see Dyfed Marriages, 1813-1837, Vol. 17 - Cathinog Hundred (Dyfed Family History Society, c1989)
See Bap/Mar/Bur data on FreeReg
Nonconformist Chapels:
|
Parish Church photograph and basic information from Dyfed FHS.
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales., byJones, I.G. & Williams, D. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. These statistics for this parish are extracted from this book which in turn got them from the 1851 census itself;
|
The transcription of the section for Llanegwad from The National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanegwad to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Daniel Jones, farmer, records "Deeds relating to Manor of Widigada, and to Cefn, Llanegwad, 1825,1894; letters in Welsh from America, 1838-1875; miscellaneous bills, receipts; auction book of Ffoesygareg Acution, 1867 and other items, 1857-1917; diaries of Daniel Jones, 1883-1904, and musical scores, [mid 19th century], of Daniel Jones; and farming accounts, 1872-1913."
The Baths of Alltyferin, origin, estate, mansion etc
Reader, Jean. DAVIES of Llanegwad. Dyfed FHS journal, Vol 7/30. A copy of an old newspaper obituary, a 1906 letter, and a photograph of a young soldier, led to the discovery of more than one Davies ancestor.
Brunker. John Llanegwad. John Brunker was the Headmaster at Llanegwad School, and a member of the Carmarthenshire Antiquarian Society. His great interest in the parish led him in 1937 to publish Brunker's Llanegwad. See the Llanegwad site link above for more details.Lloyd, Sir John E., (Ed.). A History of Carmarthenshire (2 vols.), Cardiff, London Carmarthenshire Society (1935, 1939). Extracts from this book can be accessed on some parish pages, see here for this parish
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Court Henry estate, records "Deeds of the Court Henry estate, mainly in Llangathen and Llanegwad, Carmarthenshire, 1770-1905"
- Glyneiddan [Llanegwad] estate, papers "Deeds and documents relating to Glyneiddan, Nantgaredig, and other premises in Carmarthenshire, 1785-1955, and papers of Henry Jones-Davies, relating to local government in Carmarthenshire, 1895-1950; and to agriculture, 1910-1945, especially to agricultural co-operatives in Wales."
Documents at the National Library of Wales:
- Deeds and documents relating to Glyneiddan, Nantgaredig, Carmarthenshire, and elsewhere in the county, C18-C20, and papers of Henry Jones-Davies (1870-1955) relating to local government and agriculture in the area.
Map of the parish of Llanegwad in the County of Carmarthen - on the People's Collection Wales site
Parish map(Kain/Oliver)
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN522255 (Lat/Lon: 51.90835, -4.149313), Llanegwad which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Places, villages, farms etc within Llanegwad as shown on the online parish map from the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Gareth Hicks)
|
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanegwad Parish Council Records 1845-1846
Held at Carmarthen Archives;
- Llanegward records including; vestry books 1704-89, poor rate book 1847-48, Charity books 1848-1959, copies from parish registers C18.