Hide

Bryneglwys

hide
Hide

"A parish in the Union of Corwen, hundred of Yale, five miles (NW) from Llangollen. This parish is situated among mountains of various elevations, and characterized by boldness of scenery." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish comprises the townships of Bodynwyddog, Bryntangor, Gwythina, Tre'rllan and Talybidwal.

Hide
topup

Bibliography

  • Clwyd, Hafina.   Hanes hynod Capel Sion, Bryneglwys    Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 44 (1995), p. 83-101
  • Clwyd, Hafina.   Hanes hynod Capel Sion, Bryneglwys    Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 45 (1996), p. 111-133
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 145474.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Tysilio, was mentioned in the Lincoln Taxation of 1291. It was restored in 1875.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

ST TYSILIO'S CHURCH, BRYNEGLWYS on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Bryneglwys :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Sion Calvinistic Methodists 192
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1687 - 1867 1691 - 1970 1687 - 1944
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1661 - 1812 1662 - 1812 1663 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1662 - 1850 1662 - 1850

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Tysilio's, Bryneglwys.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Bryneglwys was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Bryneglwys are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description & Travel

Various landscapes on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bryneglwys has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Various maps - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Plan of the townships of Bryntanger and Boddynwyddog in the parish of Bryneglwys and County of Denbigh 
  • Map or sketch of the townships or District of Gwythrania, Trellan, Tanyhedwal in the parish of Bryneglwys in the County of Denbigh
  • Map or sketch of the townships or District of Gwythrania, Trellan, Tanyhedwal in the parish of Bryneglwys in the County of Denbigh

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ146483 (Lat/Lon: 53.024716, -3.274956), Bryneglwys which are provided by:

topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 450.
  • In 1901- the population was 273.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3343 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]