Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Capel Garmon

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Capel Garmon

"A parochial chapelry in the Union of Llanrwst, hundred of Isdulas, four miles (S by E) from Llanrwst. This chapelry, which comprises a considerable extent of rugged and barren hills, contains lead ore, but the works for procuring it have been discontinued of late years." [ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish of Capel Garmon was originally a Chapel of Ease to Llanrwst, comprising the townships of Garth Garmon and Tybrith Uchaf.
It became a separate parish in 1927.

topup

Bibliography

  • Yates, M. J.  and M. Jones.     Excavation and conservation at Capel Garmon chambered tomb, Betws-y-coed, Gwynedd, 1989     Archaeology in Wales, Vol. 31 (1991), p. 1-5
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SH 815554.

"The chapel, dedicated to St. Germanus, is of very ancient foundation: the present edifice was built in 1789, near the site of a former chapel, which had fallen into decay."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The church to which Lewis refers had itself fallen into decay by 1862, and was demolished. A new building was erected, being consecrated on 11 November 1863.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Capel Garmon Church -  exterior and cemetery on the People's Collection Wales site

The church was closed some years ago; and, for ecclesiastical purposes, the parish of Capel Garmon is administered jointly with the parishes of Llanrwst and Llanddoget.

Nonconformist Churches

Nonconformist places of worship for Capel Garmon were included in the "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" under the Civil parish of Llanrwst Rural. Details will be found on the parish page for Llanrwst.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

The registers have been in a poor condition for very many years, and had to be repaired after they had been deposited at the Ruthin Record Office. The church was given facsimile copies of the repaired registers.
  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1702 - 1910 1707 - 1969 1702 - 1869
The Rector of Llanrwst loaned the facsimile copies of the repaired registers to the Clwyd Family History Society for transcribing.
The Society is grateful to Mr. Alun Rawson Williams, of Denbigh, for his assistance in making available to the Society transcripts which his father made in the early 1930s. Soon after he had made these transcripts, a storm blew open the door of the church vestry, and scattered some pages of the registers across the open countryside. Some were recovered, but many were lost. The Society was therefore fortunate to have these transcripts, which are the only extant copies of many pages of the registers. The entries for 1696 were taken from the only early Bishop's Transcripts to have survived.
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1696 - 1842 1696 - 1812 1696 - 1841

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1696 - 1853 1696 - 1853

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for the parish church of Capel Garmon .
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the chapelry of Capel Garmon was assigned to the Llanrwst Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanrwst poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Capel Garmon are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Llanrwst XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Llanrwst 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Capel Garmon - on wikipedia

Various landscapes on the People's Collection Wales site

Houses, shop, church and a street; John Thomas poster outside shop on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Capel Garmon which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Capel Garmon to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Capel Garmon has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was not recorded.
  • In 1901- the population was 730.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Schools

Capel Garmon School, 1916 on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Social life and Customs

Group portrait of women knitting next to a large spinning wheel c1875 on the People's Collection Wales site

topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 7992 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]