Henllan

• Burns, Mollie.    Henllan     Denbigh and its past (1999), p. [3-5?]
• Ffoulkes,  William Wynne.  Pedigree of the family of Ffoulkes of Eriviat, in the parish of Henllan, in the county of Denbigh.  London : Priv. print., 1874.

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Henllan St Sadwrn Church

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 022682.

"The Church, dedicated to St. Sadwrn, was taken down and rebuilt on an enlarged scale, in 1806: the new edifice, which is a neat plain structure, occupies the site of the ancient church, and is situated on a fine level; but the tower, a massive square pile, presenting each of its angles towards one of the cardinal points, and which was always detached, stands on the summit of a rock adjoining the road, and at a considerable distance to the east of the church."
[ A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The church was again repaired in 1844, and "restored" in 1878, being re-opened on 31 January 1879.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches

Nonconformist places of worship for Henllan were included in the "Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" under the Civil parish of Denbigh. Details will be found on the parish page for Denbigh. 

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

• Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
  They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Henllan was assigned to the No. 3 ("Denbigh") sub-district of the St. Asaph Registration District; which was co-extensive with the St. Asaph poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Henllan are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: St. Asaph XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: St. Asaph 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Henllan - on wikipedia

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Henllan to another place.

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Various maps  -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Township of Bannister Issa. A tithe division of the parish of Henllan in the County of Denbigh  
• Township of Lleweni Isav, Lleweni Uchav, Llan, Rhanhir, Rhanfawr, Parc and Uwch Caerau together forming a tithe division of the parish of Henllan, County of Denbigh

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ000644 (Lat/Lon: 53.167364, -3.496956), Henllan which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- the population was 2703.
• In 1901- the population was 826.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 14,912 acres - before the creation of Bylchau and Trefnant parishes.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]