Hide

Llandyrnog

hide
Hide

"A parish in the hundred and Union of Ruthin, county of Denbigh, 3 miles (E by S) from Denbigh, containing 708 inhabitants. This parish is beautifully situated in the fertile and picturesque Vale of Clwyd, and in the earlier periods of Welsh history must have been a place of some importance." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish comprised the townships of Bachgern, Bancar, Boderwog, Cae'r Fedwen, Cwmdylluan, Tre'r Llan, Llanerch Deuddwr, Rhiwbebyll, Speddyd and Ystrad.

Hide
topup

Bibliography

  • Llandyrnog & Llangwyfan : Cymdeithas Hanes Lleol Llandyrnog = Llandyrnog & Llangwyfan : a view of the past / Llandyrnog Local History Society.         [Llandyrnog] : Cymdeithas Hanes Lleol Llandyrnog, 2006.
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 108651.
The church was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. The present building, which is dedicated to St. Tyrnog, is believed to date from the fifteenth century. It was restored in 1877, and re-opened on 5 March 1878.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

 Church, Llandyrnog  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llandyrnog :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Not named Baptists 63
Dyffryn Calvinistic Methodists 206
Not named Wesleyans 45
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1664 - 1866 1664 - 1970 1664 - 1969

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1676 - 1856 1676 - 1856

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms (94% extraction) Marriages
1813 - 1845
18?? - 1856
1813 - 1837
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llandyrnog was assigned to the No. 6 ("Llandyrnog") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llandyrnog are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description & Travel

Llandyrnog on wikipedia

You can see pictures of Llandyrnog which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llandyrnog has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ116662 (Lat/Lon: 53.18592, -3.32448), Llandyrnog which are provided by:

topup

Occupations

Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site

  • Milk testing at Llandyrnog Creamery )and other related photographs)
  • Car with milk churns (pre 1950)
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 708.
  • In 1901- the population was 560.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 3370 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]