Hide

Llangadwaladr

hide
Hide

"A parish in the Union of Llanfyllin, in the Cynlleth and Mochnant divisions of the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; 9 miles (W by N) from Oswestry, containing 205 inhabitants. This place was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, but was separated from it by Act of Parliament, and formed into a parish of itself. The village is situated in a small valley surrounded by barren mountains of dreary aspect, and is not distinguished by any peculiar features." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The ancient parish comprised the townships of Tre'r Llan, Tregeiriog, and Nantyr. These two latter townships were entirely detached, lying north of the river Ceiriog, and surrrounded by the parishes of Llansilin, Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog and Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog.

Hide
topup

Bibliography

  • Jones, Morfudd.    Hanes Eglwys Sant Cadwaladr, Llangadwaladr   [Llangadwaladr] : Eglwys Sant Cadwaladr, [1986]     
  • White,  Richard B.   The Llangadwaladr glass      Denbigh : printed by Gee & Son, 1972.
topup

Churches

topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 182303.
The church, which is dedicated to Cadwaladr Fendigaid, king and martyr, was mentioned in the Lincoln Taxation of 1291 as "Bettws Kadwaladr", a chapelry of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant.
The church was restored in 1840 and 1883.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church of St Cadwaladr - on CPAT

 ST CADWALADR'S CHURCH, LLANGADWALADR  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llangadwaladr :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Tregeiriog Calvinistic Methodists 135
Gwynfa Wesleyans 44
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire, Flintshire and Powys Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1736 - 1995 1739 - 1967 1736 - 1947
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1736 - 1813 1739 - 1813 1736 - 1813

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1666 - 1854 1666 - 1854

I.G.I.

  • The following have been incorporated into the I.G.I., as part of an "official extraction" programme.
    They were extracted from the Bishop's Transcripts, not from the Parish Registers.
Baptisms Marriages
1814 - 1854 1813 - 1838
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llangadwaladr was assigned to the No. 3 ("Llanrhaeadr") sub-district of the Llanfyllin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanfyllin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llangadwaladr are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Llanfyllin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Llanfyllin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description & Travel

Llangadwaladr - on wikipedia

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangadwaladr has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Map of part of the parish or parochial chapelry of Llangadwaladr in the County of Denbigh   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ186318 (Lat/Lon: 52.877573, -3.21084), Llangadwaladr which are provided by:

topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 205.
  • In 1901- the population was 386.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 6167 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]