Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Llangwyfan

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Llangwyfan

"A parish in the Union and hundred of Ruthin, county of Denbigh, 5 miles (E) from Denbigh, containing 264 inhabitants. ..... The surrounding scenery is beautifully picturesque, and the views from the higher grounds over the fertile and extensive Vale of Clwyd are rich and magnificent. The surface is finely undulated, and the lands, with the exception of the mountainous part of the parish, are enclosed and in a good state of cultivation." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish of Llangwyfan is quite small, and is almost entirely surrounded by the parish of Llandyrnog.
It contains the townships of Cefnygwrdy, Gales, Llan, and Coediog (or Ceidio, or Ceidiog).

topup

Bibliography

  • Llandyrnog & Llangwyfan : Cymdeithas Hanes Lleol Llandyrnog = Llandyrnog & Llangwyfan : a view of the past / Llandyrnog Local History Society.         [Llandyrnog] : Cymdeithas Hanes Lleol Llandyrnog, 2006.
  • Owen, Buddug.     Llangwyfan magic, Volume 1, "Lest we forget"      Buddug Owen, c2008.   The history of Llangwyfan hospital, which served as a TB Sanatorium. Includes a selective bibliography and many black and white photographs.    Also vol 2 published in c2009          
  • Owen, Buddug.    Llangwyfan nostalgia         Denbigh and its past, No. 20 (2005), p. 56-61          
  • Owen, Buddug.    Llangwyfan         Buddug Owen, c2007
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 120663.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Cwyfan, was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist place of worship in the Civil parish of Llangwyfan :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Ebenezer, Fforddlas Congregationalists 83
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1723 - 1991 1729 - 1968 1728 - 1992
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1676 - 1812 1683 - 1837 1676 - 1812

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1676 - 1856 1757 - 1856

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Cwyfan's, Llangwyfan.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llangwyfan was assigned to the No. 6 ("Llandyrnog") sub-district of the Ruthin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Ruthin poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llangwyfan are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Ruthin XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Ruthin 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Llangwyfan - on wicipedia

You can see pictures of Llangwyfan which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangwyfan to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llangwyfan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 264.
  • In 1901- the population was 143.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 1073 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]