Hide
Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"A parish in the Union of Llanfyllin, composed of the lower division, in the Cynlleth and Mochnant division of the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; and the upper portion, in the upper division of the hundred of Llanfyllin, county of Montgomery; 12 miles (W by S) from Oswestry, and containing 2344 inhabitants. ..... This parish is intersected by the river Moch, which, at the distance of four miles from the village, forms the much admired waterfall called Pistyll Rhaiadr. ..... The river precipitates itself with great impetuosity down a steep descent of more than 150 feet, and, being interrupted in its fall by a projecting mass of rock, through which it has formed a channel, forms a second fall beneath a lofty arch to the base of the mountain." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]
According to Archdeacon Thomas, the parish of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant at one time included the parishes of Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, Llangadwaladr, Llangedwyn; and part of Llanwddyn (in Montgomeryshire).
The townships of the parish of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant which were in the pre-1974 county of Montgomery were: Abermarchnant, Brithdir, Castellmoch, Cefn Coch, Glanhafon Fach, Glanhafon Fawr and Nantfyllon.
The townships which were in the pre-1974 county of Denbigh were: Banhadla Ucha, Banhadla Isa, Gartheryr, Henfachau, Trebrys Fawr, Trebrys Fach, Trefeiliw, Tre'r-Llan and Tre-Wern.
The parish church was on the Denbighshire side of the border; therefore the parish registers have been deposited in the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
The village is perhaps best known as the place where William Morgan, who was vicar from 1578 to 1588, completed his translation of the Bible into Welsh.
Hide
- Davies, Edward. Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), Vol. 55 (2007), p. 66-95
- Evans, Canon Silas. Hanes plwyf Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant Llandysul : Gwasg Gomer, 1940.
- Evans, Canon Silas. (translated by Ceinwen Edwards.) The history of the parish of Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant [S. l. : Ceinwen Edwards], 1998.
- Griffiths, E H. Hanes Wesleaeth yn Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant (NLW's site) Bathafarn, Cyf. 17 (1962), t. 41-46.
- Jones, Nigel W. et. al. Meusydd timber circles and ring-ditch, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, Powys Archaeologia Cambrensis, Vol. 158 (2009), p.43-68
- Powell, Nia M. W. Dr. William Morgan and his parishioners at Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant Transactions (Caernarvonshire Historical Society), Vol. 49 (1988), p. 87-115
- Pratt, Derrick. Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant's market charter, 1284 Trafodion (Denbighshire Historical Society), 34 (1985), p. 57-90
| St Dogfan, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant |
| Carmel Welsh Independent Chapel & Sunday School, Commins |
| Salem Welsh Independent Chapel, Llanrhaeadr-Ym-Mochnant |
| Tabor Welsh Independent Chapel, Maengwynedd |
Ordnance Survey reference SJ 124260.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Dogfan,was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. It was restored between 1879 and 1882.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the parish church.
A district church (SJ 136231), dedicated to St. Mary, was built at Rhos-y-Brithdir in 1892 - in the Montgomeryshire section of the parish. Presumably because of this, some family history databases and websites state that there are two parishes named Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant - one in Denbighshire, and one in Montgomeryshire. This is completely incorrect.
The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of St. Mary's church.
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Church, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant
- Bethesda chapel (CM), Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant
- Wesleyan chapel, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant
Nonconformist Churches
"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant :
| Name of Chapel | Denomination | Number of "adherents" |
|---|---|---|
| Salem | Baptists | 128 |
| Soar, Gefailrhyd | Baptists | 20 |
| Bethel, Maengwynedd | Calvinistic Methodists | 49 |
| Bethesda | Calvinistic Methodists | 175 |
| Salem, Pentrefelin | Calvinistic Methodists | 107 |
| Tabor, Maengwynedd | Congregationalists | 66 |
| Bwlchyddar | Wesleyans | 190 |
Parish Registers
- The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire, Flintshire and Powys Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
|---|---|---|
| 1678 - 1847 | 1682 - 1919 | 1678 - 1930 |
- Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials |
|---|---|---|
| 1678 - 1812 | 1678 - 1812 | 1678 - 1812 |
Bishop's Transcripts
- Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
| Deposited at the National Library of Wales | Microfilmed copies |
|---|---|
| 1662 - 1844 | 1662 - 1844 |
I.G.I.
- There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Dogfan's, Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant.
When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant was assigned to the No. 3 ("Llanrhaeadr") sub-district of the Llanfyllin Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Llanfyllin poor law Union.
In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant are in the format :
- Years 1837 - 1851: Llanfyllin XXVII. nnn
- Years 1851 - 1930: Llanfyllin 11b. nnn
(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant - on wikipedia
Various landscapes/buildings - on the People's Collection Wales site
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant to another place.
The last goods train to use the Llangynog to Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant branch line, 2 July 1952 - on the People's Collection Wales site
"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ122277 (Lat/Lon: 52.839242, -3.305383), Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Barber, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant
- The village tailor pressing trousers, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, 1 September 1955
- Cottage loaves baked in an ancient oven at Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, 5 January 1955
- The village cobbler at his workbench, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, 1 September 1955
- In 1831- the population was 2344.
- In 1901- the population was 1738.
[ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant Womens' Institute dinner
- Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant horse fair
- [People in] market square, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant
- Street scene featuring numerous individuals, shops and a donkey [near corner shop]
- [People outside] The Plough Inn, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, c. 1885