Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog

"A parish in the Union of Corwen, hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; 3 miles (SSW) from Llangollen, containing 543 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the river Ceiriog; the village occupies a low and very retired situation, entirely encompassed by lofty mountains. It contains slate of excellent quality and in abundance, in procuring which some extensive quarries are now being worked with much profit to the proprietors. ..... The manufacture of flannel is carried on to a considerable extent; and on the stream of the Ceiriog are two fulling mills, to which extensive bleaching-grounds are attached." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833 & 1849, Samuel Lewis]

The parish was at one time a Chapelry of Llangollen. It comprises the townships of Llafar Ucha, Llafar Isa, Nantir Ucha and Nantir Isa.

topup

Bibliography

  • Glyn Ceiriog to Pandy.  Wrecsam : Cyngor Bwrdeistref Sirol Wrecsam, [2003?]
  • Jones, Robert Owen.   The Glyn Quarries Limited, Glyn Ceiriog, Denbighshire      Hel achau, No. 66 (Nov. 2000), p. 20-22
  • Milner, John.     Slates from Glyn Ceiriog            Chester : Ceiriog, 2007.
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 205385.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Ffraid (St. Bridget), was rebuilt about 1790. It was restored in 1839 and 1887.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

 ST BRIDE'S CHURCH;ST BRIDGET'S CHURCH;ST FFRAID'S CHURCH, GLYN CEIRIOG - on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Capel Pandy, Glyn Baptists 114
Capel Nantyr Baptists 43
Salem, Glyn Baptists 60
Seion, Glyn Baptists 476
Saron, Nantyr Calvinistic Methodists 50
Soar, Glyn Calvinistic Methodists 192
Bethel, Glyn Wesleyans 63
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1768 - 1898 1754 - 1970 1768 - 1891
  • Clwyd FHS has published full transcriptions of the registers (complete with indexes) for the following years :
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1768 - 1814 1754 - 1814 1768 - 1814

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by the LDS; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of the LDS.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1662 - 1851 1662 - 1847

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. Ffraid's, Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog.
topup

Civil Registration

When Civil Registration was introduced (on 1 July 1837), the parish of Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description and Travel

Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings - on the People's Collection Wales site

You can see pictures of Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llansantffraid Glyn Ceiriog has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Population

  • In 1831- the population was 543.
  • In 1901- the population was 994.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 5125 acres.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]