Pontfadog

• Anderson, Sarah  Kirsty Williams.      Pontfadog School, 1908-2008     Wrexham : Bridge Books on behalf of the authors, 2008.
• 5 walks from Pontfadog : [compiled by The Chirk and Ceiriog Valley Partnership ; text: Goff Oldaker]         Chirk : Chirk and Ceiriog Valley Partnership, [200-?]

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 232379.
The church of St. John the Baptist was consecrated on Thursday, 7th October 1847.

"The consecration of the new church and churchyard, at this interesting spot, on the banks of the river Ceiriog, took place on Thursday, the 7th inst., in the presence of a numerous assemblage of clergy and inhabitants of the surrounding districts .....
Although Tuesday and Wednesday had been exceedingly wet, and promised anything but auspicious weather for the holy solemnity, still, nevertheless, on Thursday Phoebus flung aside his cloudy veil and emitted from his cheerful disc the most gladdening rays of gratulation on the interesting occasion .....
The churchyard was afterwards consecrated; at the conclusion of which ceremony the Vicar entertained a lunch, in the Viscount Dungannon's capacious tent, which was pitched in an adjoining field .....
The church, which is much admired, was built by Mr Vaughan, of Oswestry, after a design by Mr W. Ward."
[From Chester Chronicle, 15 October 1847]

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

Church, Pontfadog   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Pontfadog :

Parish Registers

• The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
  They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  These microfilms are not available elsewhere.

Bishop's Transcripts

• Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
  Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
  The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
  In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.

I.G.I.

• There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. John's, Pontfadog.

Having been formed from townships of the parish of Llangollen, the parish of Pontfadog was assigned to the No. 2 ("Corwen") sub-district of the Corwen Registration District; which was co-extensive with the Corwen poor law Union.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Pontfadog are in the format :

• Years 1837 - 1851: Corwen XXVII. nnn
• Years 1851 - 1930: Corwen 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

Pontfadog - on wikipedia

Various landscapes/buildings   -  on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pontfadog to another place.

North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ234381 (Lat/Lon: 52.934812, -3.141121), Pontfadog which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• In 1831- this was not a separate parish.
• In 1901- the population was 888.
  [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]

• Archdeacon Thomas gives the area of the parish as 6675 acres.
  [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]