Hide

Rhosymedre

hide
Hide

The new parish of Rhosymedre was formed by an Order in Council on 24 May 1844, from the township of Coed Cristionydd and part of the township of Cristionydd Cynrig, which until then had been in the parish of Ruabon.
On 28 October 1879, a portion of the parish of Rhosymedre was transferred to the new parish of Penycae.

Hide
topup

Church History

Ordnance Survey reference SJ 283427.
The new church, which is dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, was consecrated on 6 July 1837.

The Clwyd FHS website has a photograph of the church.

A district church (or chapel of ease) to Rhosymedre was opened at Acrefair in 1894.

Nonconformist Churches

"Welsh Church Commission - County of Denbigh - The Statistics of the Nonconformist Churches for 1905" lists the following nonconformist places of worship in the Civil parish of Cefn Mawr :

Name of Chapel Denomination Number of "adherents"
Cefn Bychan Baptists 150
Cefn Mawr Mission Baptists (English language) 150
Ebenezer Baptists (English language) 250
Seion Baptists 950
Tabernacl Baptists 450
Bethel (Acrefair) Calvinistic Methodists 300
Hyfrydle Calvinistic Methodists 120
Penybryn Calvinistic Methodists 52
Saron Calvinistic Methodists 120
Trinity (Acrefair) Calvinistic Methodists (English language) 356
Not named Congregationalists (English language) 360
Bethel, Rhosymedre Congregationalists 120
Acrefair Wesleyans (English language) 110
Cefn Bychan Wesleyans (English language) 200
Gorphwysfa Wesleyans 350
Salem Wesleyans 100
Not named United Methodist Free Church (English language) 60
Rhosymedre Primitive Methodists (English language) 300
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers

  • The following Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Record Office, Ruthin.
    They may be viewed on microfilm at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, at the A.N. Palmer Library, Wrexham, and at the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    These microfilms are not available elsewhere.
Baptisms Marriages Burials
1837 - 1992 1844 - 1988 1839 - 1974

Bishop's Transcripts

  • Bishop's Transcripts for the years shown below have been deposited in the National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth.
    Around the year 1951, most of the Bishop's Transcripts which had been deposited at that time were microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; and the films are available on request at Family History Centres of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
    The films may also be viewed at the Denbighshire and Flintshire Record Offices, and at the National Library of Wales.
    In general, the Bishop's Transcripts are less complete than the parish registers.
Deposited at the National Library of Wales Microfilmed copies
1851 None

I.G.I.

  • There are no official I.G.I. entries for St. John's, Rhosymedre.
topup

Civil Registration

The new parish of Rhosymedre was assigned to the Wrexham Registration District.

In the GRO indexes to civil registration, entries for Rhosymedre are in the format :

  • Years 1837 - 1851: Wrexham XXVII. nnn
  • Years 1851 - 1930: Wrexham 11b. nnn

(GRO index references have no relevance at the local Superintendent Registrar's Office)

topup

Description & Travel

Rhosymedre - on wikipedia

You can see pictures of Rhosymedre which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Rhosymedre has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

"North-East Wales Churches and Ancient Parish Boundaries" produced by Clwyd Record Office in 1994, published by Genuki with the permission of Flintshire Record Office and Denbighshire Archives

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ285426 (Lat/Lon: 52.975961, -3.066251), Rhosymedre which are provided by:

topup

Population

  • In 1831- this was not a separate parish.
  • In 1901- the population was 5677.
    [ Royal Commission on the Welsh Church - October 1907]
topup

Statistics

  • Archdeacon Thomas gives the "area" of the parish as one and a half by one and a quarter miles.
    [ The History of the Diocese of St. Asaph , 1908-1913, Ven. D.R. Thomas]