"The village is pleasantly situated on the eastern bank of the Dee, which is navigable to this place, and is here crossed by a handsome bridge of five arches, connecting the counties of Denbigh and Flint. .... The adjacent scenery in many places is beautiful and richly picturesque, the noble sweeps of the Dee being frequently overshadowed by thick hanging woods, which fringe its elevated banks." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, S. Lewis, 1834]
Bangor lies in Maelor Saesneg, which is the detached part of Flintshire. The parish comprises the townships of Bangor (which is in Flintshire), and Eyton, Royton, Seswick and Pickhill (all four of which are in Denbighshire).
The parish of Bangor should not be confused with the Denbighshire parish of Isycoed, which lies a few miles to the north, nor with the Flintshire (Maelor Saesneg) parish of Iscoyd (also known as Whitewell).
They are three quite distinct and separate parishes.
In the fifth and sixth centuries, the area was dominated ecclesiastically by the monastery of Bangor, which was established in about A.D. 560 by St. Dunawd, the first Abbott. The monastery was destroyed in about A.D. 616 by Aethelfrith of Northumberland; when, according to Bede, (writing his "History" in the following century), twelve hundred monks were slaughtered and only fifty escaped with their lives. No trace of the monastery remains - some authorities believe that it lies under the present course of the River Dee.
In A.D. 669, Bangor became part of the diocese of Lichfield, and remained so until the diocese of Chester was created in 1541, when it became part of that diocese.
On 30 July 1849, the parish of Bangor was transferred to the diocese of St. Asaph, where it remains.
The name 'Bangor Monachorum' ('Bangor of the monks'), which seems to have been the preferred form in legal documents, is first recorded in 1677. The earliest recorded use of the name 'Bangor Isycoed' or 'Bangor Is-coed', the more common usage, dates from 1699.