GENUKI: The History of the Llynfi Valley, Glamorgan

By Brinley Richards M.A 1982

Published by D Brown & sons Ltd, Eastgate Press, Cowbridge ISBN 0 905928 16 4

This is a contents list prepared by Daniel Verkys 1999

Contents; These are chapter headings with numbers

1. The Llynfi Valley	2. The earliest times
3. Tir Iarll	4. Llangynwyd Castle
5. The Lordship of Glamorgan	6. The local revolts
7. Llangynwyd - Yr Hen Blwyf	8. The early rural scene
9. Lynfi Valley farms and houses	10. Llynfi Valley Wells
11. Iolo Morganwg's Visit	12. The Cwm-y-felin druidicial Society
13. The parish registers	14. Local customs
15. Local superstitions	16. Llangynwyd Church
17. The Cefn Ydfa Romance	18. The pre-industrial revolution period
19. Flannel mills

20. The iron industry	21. The Maesteg iron works
22. The Llynfi iron works (the new works)	23. Tondu iron works
24. Garth iron works	25. The Llynfi Valley Tramroad, Railway etc
26. The truck shop	27. New societies
28. Female labour	29. Local tragedies - General and Industrial
30. Strikes, lock outs etc	31. Housing during the industrial revolution
32. Llwydarth tinplate works	33. Candle making and brick making
34. The miners	35. The coal industry potential
36. The coal industry development	37. The coal industry decline
38. The outlook	39. Ownership of collieries
40. North's Chief officials	41. Pioneers of industry
a) Sir John Bowring	b) David Grey
c) Colonel John T. North	42. The present industrial situation
43. The Ewenny road factory site	44. The forge factory site

45. General	a) The Maesteg Roman Catholic school
b) Secondary education	c) General education and entertainment

46. The administration of the law	47. Local government
48. The Maesteg U.D.C	49. The Glamorgan county council
50. Population	51. Valley services
52. The political scene	a) Parlimentary
b) The County council	c) Maesteg U.D.C
d) Politics generally	53. Vernon Hartshorn

54. The Welsh language	55. Sport
56. Art	57. Music

58.	a) Early history
b) The Rev. Samuel Jones, Brynllywarch	c) Early church administration
d) Origins of nonconformity	e) The church and social problems
f) Visiting preachers	g) The Welsh religious revival, 1904-1905
h) The Roman Catholic Church	i) The Anglican Church
j) Nonconformity	k) Sunday observence
l) The drink problem	m) Biblical names
n) The rise and decline of Welsh nonconformity	o) The various valley denominations
p) The Congregationalists (or Indepentents)	q) The Presbyterians (or Calvinistic Methodists)
r) The Baptists	s) The Wesleyans (now called Methodists)
t) High office	u) Entrants to the christian ministry

59.	a) Early traditions
b) Early poets up to the end of the 17th century	c) Tribannau
d) Dafydd Nicolas	e) Literacy activity in the 19th century
f) Thomas Christopher Evans (Cadrawd) 1846-1918	g) Thomas Morgan (Llynwy) 1835-1910
h) 19th century Welsh authors	i) 19th century authors writing in English
j) Deceased Welsh writers of the 20th century writing in English	k) Contemporary Welsh authors
l) contemporary authors writing in English	m) Cultural activities generally
60. The Maesteg town hall	61. The changing scene.

[Last Updated : 22 March 2004 - Gareth Hicks]

The History of the Llynfi Valley