"ABERHAVESP (ABER-HAVESP), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of NEWTOWN, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Newtown, on the road to Machynlleth, comprising the upper and lower divisions, and containing 535 inhabitants. This place takes its name from its situation near the confluence of the river Havesp with the Severn, and is distinguished chiefly by its proximity to the Roman road from Caer-Sws to Mediolanum, which passed through the parish, ... The church, dedicated to St. Gwynnog, is an ancient structure, in the early style of English architecture, appropriately accommodated to the use of the inhabitants, and pleasantly situated near the river. There are places of Worship for Baptists and Independents : ... " [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
- Deanery of Cedewain; Aberhafesp Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 34 1907 Welsh Journals Online
|St Gwynog, Aberhafesp|
|Bethel English Congregational Church, Aberhafesp|
|Bwlch-Y-Ffridd English Congregational Church, Bwlch-Y-Ffridd|
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 4568 acres; Population 280 males, 279 females, total 559
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Aberhafesp St Gwynog Church
Salon Exhibit of St Gwynnog's Church, Aberhafesp - on the E-Museum of Pyrographic Art site "These amazing panels--mounted in a screen that covers most of the west wall--were dedicated to the church in 1893 by E. B. Proctor, the main benefactor, who resided at Aberhafesp Hall and owned much of the surrounding land and buildings......."
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Bwlchyffridd section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1578-1601, 1623-5, 1630-51, 1721-4, 1726-1993; Marriages 1579-1602, 1623-4, 1628, 1633-42, 1644, 1648, 1721-4, 1726-1970; Burials 1578-82, 1584-7, 1590, 1603, 1619, 1623-6, 1640-6, 1721-4, 1726-1993; Banns 1823-1878,1894-1991
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbigh Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
St Asaph Notitiae; Aberhafesp parish, Deanery of Cedewain - on the NLW site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Hamer Papers (Papers donated by Miss Hamer, Newtown) Include "............ transcripts, [20th century], from Aberhafesb registers of baptisms and burials (1757-1901).........."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aberhafesb to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Aberhafesb has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO054946 (Lat/Lon: 52.541065, -3.396835), Aberhafesb which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)