Hide
Llanbryn-mair
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANBRYNMAIR (LLAN-BRYN-MAIR), a parish in the hundred of MACHYNLLETH, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 10 miles (E.) from Machynlleth, comprising the Upper and Lower divisions, and containing 2040 inhabitants, of which number, 1067 are in the Upper, and 973 in the Lower, division. This parish extends more than eleven miles in length, and seven in breadth, and comprehends a large portion of mountainous land, affording good pasturage during the summer for sheep and young cattle, and considerable tracts of meadow and arable land, which have been brought into a good state of cultivation. ... The church, dedicated to St. Mary, is an ancient structure : ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
Bassett, Douglas A. Iorwerth Cyfeiliog Peate : a short anthology : prepared to accompany a lecture on Iorweth Peate of Llanbryn-Mair and the Welsh Folk Museum ... 24 August 1996. [Montgomery?] : Montgomeryshire Society, 1996. Burials in the Parish of Llanbrynmair in the county of montomery 1711 - 1749 : bishop's Transcripts collated with the parish registers. [Welshpool] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2002. 36pBurials in the Parish of Llanbrynmair in the County of Montgomery 1663-1711 : Bishops' Transcripts collated with the parish registers. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 2003. 58p
Griffiths, George R. Davies/Davis of Llanbrynmair, Wales. [Chandler, AZ] : [George R. Griffiths], [1993] 31p Hen Gapel Llanbrynmair, 1739-1939 : ysgrifau. [Llanbrynmair] : [Eglwys Gynulleidfaol Hen Gapel Llanbrynmair], 1989. 125p
Jones, E Pan. Cofiant y tri brawd o Llanbrynmair a Conwy. Bala : Evans, 1892. 358p. (Samuel, Richard & John Roberts) Monumental inscriptions : Llanbrynmair, Montgomeryshire : St Mary's Churchyard, Llan and Bont Dolgadfan Methodist Chapel. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1998. 46p
Parish of Llanbrynmair : Yr Hen Gapel : memorial inscriptions . [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1999. 112p
Parish of Llanbrynmair: Parish Church of St Mary, Llan Aber Independent Chapel, Capel Bethel (C.M.), Bontdolgadfan Parish Church of St David, Dylife, Tafolwern Independent Chapel, Gwynfryn (C.M.) Chapel, Dylife, Soar Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Talerddig Independent Chapel, Llan village inscription, Llanbrynmair war memorial, Seion (Zion) Welsh Baptist Chapel, Dylife: memorial inscriptions. [S.1.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society , 2001.
Petley-Jones, David. A Llanbryn-Mair puzzle. Record: Journal of the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society. 19 (2001), p. 21-22
Street-Marshall, Tirymynech & Deytheur Enclosure Act 28 Geo III 1788 Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 34 1907 Welsh Journals Online
Ward, John The Bronze Age in Montgomeryshire: The Tir y mynach or 'Guilsfield' horde Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 41 1930 Welsh Journals Online
Williams, Richard. A history of the Parish of Llanbrynmair. London : Printed by Whiting & Co, 1889. 186p
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanbrynmair parish 1841-1901
| St Mary, Llanbrynmair |
| Ty Mawr Baptist Chapel, Ty Mawr |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Parish statistics; Area 19006 acres; Population 966 males, 1016 females, total 1982
|
Church of St Mary, Llan on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Yr Hen Gapel (Cong), Llabryn-mair - on the People's Collection Wales site
Newsletter for the Independent Congregation of Llanbrynmair - on the People's Collection Wales site
Pennant chapel (CM), Llanbryn-mair - on the People's Collection Wales site
Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Bontdolgadfan
Independent churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site ; -
- Yr Hen Gapel
- former Cwm Independent schoolroom
- former Tafolwern Independent schoolroom
- former Talerddig Independent schoolroom
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). The Llanbrynmair section (in Welsh) has been extracted - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Sept 2009)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1663-1979; Marriages 1663-1934, 1938-65; Burials 1663-1981
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Venedocia, Ohio - "The original settlers of Venedocia Ohio came from farms near the towns of Llanbrynmair, Trefeglwys, and Darowen"
- The transcription of the section for Llanbryn-mair from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanbryn-mair to another place.
Diosg farmhouse, Llanbrynmair - on the People's Collection Wales site "Diosg was the farmhouse home near Llanbrynmair of the Reverend Samuel Roberts (S.R.) (1800-85), a preacher, author and radical reformer who led a party of local Welsh emigrants to America in 1856........."
John Davies recalls the history of Llanbrynmair - on the People's Collection Wales site
A recipt [sic] from Dolgoch, Llanbrynmair, that repaired bikes in the area [1902] - on the People's Collection Wales site
Ten years of the history of Talerddig, near Llanbrynmair, in the handwritting [sic] of Meirions Williams - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Bontdolgadfan (Williams family) papers "Papers of the Williams family of Bontdolgadfan, including deeds for property in Bontdolgadfan, 1731-1877; Bontdolgadfan Calvinistic Methodist chapel baptism register, 1812-1864, records of Bontdolgadfan Welsh and English chapels, Machynlleth, 1867-1877; papers relating to eisteddfodau at Bontdolgadfan, Llanbrynmair and Machynlleth, 1870-1923; account and memorandum books relating to the Post Office, Bontdolgadfan, 1884-1902; records of the Llanbrynmair Agricultural School Library, 1845-1847; balance sheets of the [Llanbrynmair] Friendly Society, 1858-1876; family correspondence, school exercise books and personal papers of the Williams, Griffiths and Roberts families, 1836-1922, journal or autobiography of the Rev. Richard Williams, 1802-1842; records of the overseers of the poor for Llanbrynmair, 1744-1876; records of Maglona Lodge of Good Templars, Machynlleth and other societies, 1863-1877; sermon notes, 1816-1917; and diary of Richard Tibbott, 1741-1742."
- Items donated by Eleri Rowlands "Gregynog estate sale particulars plan, 1913; annotated sale particulars and conditions of Wynnstay estate property in LLanbrynmair, Montgomeryshire, 1921."
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SH907017 (Lat/Lon: 52.602487, -3.615618), Llanbryn-mair which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Llanbrynmair War Memorial - on the People's Collection Wales site
Busy Farmers - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanbrynmair parish records "Tithe Apportionment Award, 1839; valuation list, 1842; Llanbrynmair Parish Council treasurer's book, 1895-1953"
The teachers Llanbryn-mair School 1898 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Pupils of Pennant school, Llanbryn-mair - on the People's Collection Wales site
Pupils of Y Wern school, Llanbryn-mair (1890) - on the People's Collection Wales site
Boys of the British school, Llanbryn-mair - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Wern Council School, Llanbrynmair, records 1913-1914 "Wern British School, Llanbrynmair, Montgomeryshire, opened in about 1872. Following the Education Act 1902 the County Councils became the Local Education Authorities and Wern British School became Wern Council School.............."
Llanbrynmair Carnival - on the People's Collection Wales site
The Llanbrynmair Aelwyd yr Urdd's Can Actol - on the People's Collection Wales site
Llanbryn-mair choir - on the People's Collection Wales site
Llanbryn-mair fair c 1885 - on the People's Collection Wales site