Hide
Llanfair Caereinion
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANVAIR, or LLANVAIRCAER-EINION (LLANVAIR-CAER-EINION), a market town and parish, in the lower division of the hundred of MATHRAVAL, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 8 miles (W.) from Welshpool, 16 (N. W.) from Montgomery, and 183 1/2 (N. W. by W.) from London, containing 2687 inhabitants. The name of this place is derived from the dedication of its church to St. Mary, and its distinguishing adjunct from an ancient encampment said to have been constructed, in the latter part of the fourth century, by Einion Yrth, tenth son of Cunedda Wledig, King of Cumbria. The town is pleasantly situated on the declivity of an eminence rising from the south bank of the small river Banwy, which falls into the Vyrnwy, and on the turnpike road leading from Welshpool to Machynlleth and Dolgelley ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
Ballantyne, Hugh. The Welshpool and Llanfair Railway : a nostalgic trip along the whole route from Welshpool (GWR) to Llanfair Caereinion. Wadenhoe : Past & Present, 2001. 80pCarver, B E V. Monumental inscriptions : Capel Horeb, Methodistiaid Calfinaidd Cymraeg : Horeb Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Chapel : Llanfair Caereinion Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 16p
Carver, B E V. Monumental Inscriptions : Penarth Independent Chapel, Llanfair Caereinion, Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 21p
Carver, M D. Llanfair Caereinion tithe apportionment. Cronicl Powys. No. 19 (1988), p. 66-7
Carver, M D. Monumental inscriptions : Old Baptist Chapel Burial Ground and Zion Baptist Chapel : Llanfair Caereinion Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M.E. MacSorley, 1996. 6p
Carver, M D. The rise of Independency in the parish of Llanfair Caereinion, Montgomeryshire. Cronicl Powys. No. 11 (1985), p. 11-12
Cerdded o fewn o gwmpas Llanfair Caereinion = Walks in and around Llanfair Caereinion. Llanfair Caereinion : Llanfair Caereinion and District Forum, 2001. 16p
Davies, T Alun. Rural clockmaking in eighteenth-century Wales : Samuel Roberts of Llanfair Caereinion, 1775-1874. Business History Review 59/1 (1985), p. 49-75
Morrell, Emily. Llanfair Caereinion. [Llanfair Caereinion] : Paul Adams, [1988] 10p
Owen, Robert. The official handbook to the Lordship of Caereinion : containing the topography and history and several legendary tales of Llanfair and the other five Parishes of Caereinion ... Welshpool : R. & M. Owen, 1903. 46p Parish of Llanfair Caereinion : Bethlehem Welsh Presbyterian Chapel ... : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, 1997. 152p
Pryce, W T R. The photographer in rural Wales : a photographic archive of Llanfair Caereinion, Powys and its region, c.1865-1986. Llanfair Caereinion : Powysland Club, 1991.
Pryce, W T R et al. Samuel Roberts, Clockmaker: an C18th craftsman in a rural community 1985
Roberts, Merfyn. 109 'dan ni yma o hyd' : hanes addysg ganolradd, eilradd ac uwchradd yn Llanfair Caereinion 1894-2003. Llanfair Caereinion : Ysgol Caereinion, 2003. 10p
Spencer, Kirsten. Local walks around Welshpool and Llanfair Caereinion. Machynlleth : Kittiwake, 2003. 32p
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Midland Bank, Llanfair Caereinion branch, papers " ............ including minutes; papers relating to the centenary of the Midland Bank in Llanfair Caereinion, 1980-1981;.........."
- R. D. Hughes & Sons, Grocer and Confectioner, Llanfair Caereinion business records 1913-1965
- Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, papers 1897-1923 "Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway, Montgomeryshire, opened in 1903, linking the rural communities around Llanfair Caereinion to the market at Welshpool. The line carried only freight from 1931 and closed in 1956 ............"
- Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, photographs 1971
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanfair Caereinion 1841-1901
| St Mary, Llanfair Caereinion |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Parish statistics; Area 16157 acres; Population 1341 males, 1386 females, total 2727
|
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llanfair Caereinion St Mary's Church
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Mary's Church
Church/chapel & group photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site
- St. Mary's Church, Llanfair Caereinion
- Old church, Llanfair Caereinion
- Canaan Independent Chapel, Llanfair Caereinion
- Penarth chapel, Llanfair Caereinion
- Wesleyan chapel, Llanfair Caereinion
- Horeb Chapel (Calvinistic Methodist)
- Bethlehem Chapel (Welsh Calvinistic Methodist)
- Seilo Welsh Independent Chapel
- Soar Chapel (Welsh Calvinistic Methodist; (Rhosaflo Township), Belan
- Zion Chapel (Bapt), Llanfair Caereinion
- Wesleyan Bible class, Llanfair Caereinion
- Calvinistic Methodist elders, Llanfair Caereinion
- Calvinistic Methodist chapel, Llanfair Caereinion
- The Disciples of Christ Chapel, Llanfair Caereinion
Church of St Mary, Llanfair Caereinion on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Penuel chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation Also Penarth chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Llanfaircaereinion chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Siloh chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Dolanog chapel (with translation by Maureen Saycell [Dec 2009]) Also Canaan chapel - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Aug 2009)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1608-1622, 1624-1666, 1669-76, 1680-1702, 1723-1992; Marriages 1608-1622, 1624-43, 1662-6, 1670-6, 1680-1702, 1723-1955 ; Burials 1608-1622, 1624-1667, 1670-6, 1680-1702, 1723-1992
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Capel Pentyrch, cofysgrifau (records) "Adeiladwyd a sefydlwyd Capel Methodistiaid Calfinaidd Pentyrch, Four Crosses, Llanfair Caereinion, yn 1834. Gelwid y capel weithiau yn gapel y Gelli am ei fod wedi cael ei adeiladu ar dir y Gelli. Mae'r capel yn rhan o Ddosbarth Llanfair, Henaduriaeth Trefaldwyn Isaf." "A certificate in order that marriages be registered for Pentyrch Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, Llanfair Caereinion, 1 December 1948.
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfair Caereinion and district
Various landscape photographs of the area and surrounds - on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Llanfair Caereinion from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanfair Caereinion to another place.
Various historic photographs relating to the parish - on the People's Collection Wales site
- The small market town of Llanfair Caereinion as seen from the High Street in the early 1900s.
- C Humphreys and son Ironmongers in Llafair Caereinion c.1930-1942
- The old Market Hall at Llanfair Caereinion, Montgomeryshire pictured before 1890, when it was demolished
- Llanfair Caerinion in 1802, with the market hall at the centre
- This account ledger contains details of every purchase made by the shop's regular customers between 1929 and 1939. Recorded in the ledger are customers' names, their addresses, details of each purchase and the price of each item.[H.Einion Jones' ironmonger and grocery shop, Llanfair Caereinion]
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Gelli estate, records "Deeds relating to properties in Montgomeryshire, 1610-1890, including y Gelli and Pentyrch, Llanfair Caereinion"
- William Edwards of Ludlow: property in Montgomeryshire "Deeds and other documents, 1809-1839, relating to property in Llanfair Caereinion and Manafon, Montgomeryshire"
- Kerry, Llanerfyl, Llanfair Caereinion and Mochdre, deeds 1617-1901 "..................... The properties of Tyddyn y Gardden and Tyddyn y Gogrydd, now Rhyd-y-Gro, were in the parishes of Llanerfyl and Llanfair Caereinion, and were owned by Rees Thomas (fl. 1723-1748) and his descendants ......................."
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfair Caereinion in 1836, and 1902
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ071080 (Lat/Lon: 52.66215, -3.374691), Llanfair Caereinion which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanfair Caereinion Public Hall and Institute, minutes 1914-1956
- Llanfair Caereinion Town Council records 1894-1981
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfair Caereinion - Victorian School Days
School related photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Llanfair Caereinion intermediate school
- County Intermediate School' on hillside
- Pupils at the national school, Llanfair Caereinion (1895)
Group photographs - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Llanfair Caereinon Girl Guides camping at Llangyniew (1909?)
- Llanfair Caereinion eisteddfod committee 1894
- Group outside the post office, Llanfair Caereinion
- Group outside W. Davies' Store, Llanfair Caereinion
- H. Einion Jones worked in the C. Humphreys & Son ironmonger and grocery store before buying and running it around 1927