Llangurig

Edwards, Steven. Branch line to Llangurig : the railway that never was. Cronicl Powys. No. 57 (Dec. 2002), p. 14-15

Hamer, Edward. History of the parish of Llangurig. London, T. Richards, 1875. 370p

Llangurig Church  Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire   Vol 34  1907   Welsh Journals Online

Lloyd-Verney, George H. A description of the parish church of Llangurig, Mongomeryshire, North Wales. London : G. Pulman & Sons, 1892. 88p Monumental inscriptions : Cefn Burial Ground : Llangurig, Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 9p

Stirk, James R. View of St. Curig's Church, Llangurig, from the south east, c.1875 : Edward Salter. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 79 (1991), p. 9-10

Stirk, James R. Chevalier J.Y.W. Lloyd, Burlison and Grylls and the windows of Llangurig Church : the relationship of patron and manufacturer in Victorian ecclesiastical art. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 77 (1989), p. 137-81

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llangurig parish 1841-1901

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llangurig St Curig

Llangurig church  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Church of St Curig, Llangurig on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

• Baptisms 1687-91, 1694-1702, 1707-1861; Marriages 1683-1969; Burials 1686-1756, 1758-1875; Banns 1827-1958
  Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives
  Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Friends Burial Ground, records "The Society of Friends, also known as Quakers .......... Llangurig Friends were part of the Hereford and Mid-Wales Monthly Meeting. They operated their own cemetery in Llangurig"

Llangurig Community Council

Llangurig - on Wikipedia

Various landscape photographs of the area and surrounds - on the People's Collection Wales site

• Geograph
• Flickr

• The transcription of the section for Llangurig from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
• A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangurig to another place.

Llangurig High Street c1913  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Bwlch-hafod-y-gof Records    "Deeds, 1629-1833, relating to the Lucas and Matthews families of Bwlch-hafod-y-gof, Llangurig, Montgomeryshire"  
• Lloyd Verney, Montgomeryshire and Denbighshire, deeds   1521-1839    " The Lloyd, Youde and Verney families of the Clochfaen estate, Llangurig, Montgomeryshire, also owned other lands in Montgomeryshire from the 17th to the 19th centuries............"  
• Pengeulan (Llangurig) Deeds  "Deeds and plans, 1759-1879, relating to a farm called Penygeulan, Llangurig, Montgomery, comprising conveyances, mortgages and an abstract of title of Penygeulan, 1759-1879, with sale plans, 1921, of portions of the Clochfaen estate, Montgomery, including Penygeulan."   
• Papers of W. Wynn-Jones, Llangurig            "Papers of W. Wynn-Jones, 1703-1989, including deeds relating to Llangurig, Montgomeryshire, and Llansantffraed Cwmdeuddwr and Llandrindod, Radnorshire, 1703-1799; photographs, cuttings and other items relating to Llangurig [1886]-1986; papers of Alderman J. Wilfred Jones including letters, photographs, cuttings and ephemera, 1915-1974; papers relating to chapels and churches including Cwmbelan and New Chapel Baptist chapels, 1937-1989"

Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llangurig in 1866, and 1903

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN885813 (Lat/Lon: 52.406174, -3.606666), Llangurig which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Shearing at Nanty, Llangurig [WWII?]  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Powys Digital History Project site - Llangurig Board School

Pupils, Llangurig school (1891)  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

• Trefeglwys and Llangurig School and Poor Law Records     Include  "............. Llangurig School Board, 1874-1898.........."

Llangurig Guides and Rangers bazaar held in aid of company funds [1941?]  - on the People's Collection Wales site

Salvage effort by Llangurig Guides and Rangers - on the People's Collection Wales site