"LLANLLIGAN, or LLANLLUGAN (LLAN-LLUGAN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of NEWTOWN, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 4 miles (S. W.) from Llanvair, containing 361 inhabitants. ... This parish, which is nearly in the centre of the county, is intersected by the small river Rhiw, which has its source in the immediate vicinity, and, after passing by the village, pursues its course in an easterly direction, and falls into the Severn at Berriew. It is about three miles in length, and a mile and a half in breadth, and a very large proportion of it is unenclosed and uncultivated. ... The church, dedicated to St. Mary, and situated on the bank of the river Rhiw, is an ancient structure ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Barker, Eirlys M. Pryce Hughes of Llanllugan and South Carolina : a note. Montgomeryshire Collections (Transactions of the Powys-land Club) 80 (1992), p. 123-8
Carver, B E V. Monumental Inscriptions : St Mary's Church in Wales, Llanllugan, Montgomeryshire. Basingstoke : M. E. MacSorley, 1996. 16p Parish of Llanllugan : Parish Church of St Mary, Caersalem Baptist Chapel, Carmel Calvinistic Methodist Chapel village inscriptions : memorial inscriptions. [S.l.] : Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society, c1999. 36p
Owen, Edward The Cistercian Nunnery at Llanllugan Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 37 1915 Welsh Journals Online
Silvester, R J. Pillow mounds at Y Foel, Llanllugan. Montgomeryshire Collections 83 (1995), p. 75-90
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanllugan 1841-1901
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Parish statistics; Area 3945 acres; Population 191 males, 174 females, total 365
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llanllugan Convent Church of St Mary
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Mary's Church
St Mary's Church, Llanllugan - on the People's Collection Wales site
Caersalem Baptist Chapel, Llanllugan - on the People's Collection Wales site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1603-33, 1670, 1672, 1676, 1679-1702, 1731-1991; Marriages 1603-33, 1670, 1672, 1676, 1679-1702, 1731-1971; Burials 1603-33, 1670, 1672, 1676, 1679-1702, 1731-1991
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW, Denbighshire Archives and/or Flintshire Archives
The Cistercian Way site - Llanllugan to Caersws
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanllugan to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Llanllugan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ026017 (Lat/Lon: 52.604476, -3.438978), Llanllugan which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanllugan Parish and Community Council records 1948-1987