Hide
Trefeglwys
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"TREVEGLWYS (TREV-EGLWYS), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of LLANIDLOES, county of MONTGOMERY, NORTH WALES, 3 1/2 miles (N.) from Llanidloes, containing 1820 inhabitants. This parish is situated in the pleasant vale of Llanidloes, and is intersected by the small river Taraunon, which flows into the Severn near Caer-Sws. ... The church, dedicated, according to some authorities, to St. Luke, but according to others to St. Michael, ... There are places of worship for Baptists and Welsh Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists, ..." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833]
Hide
A Trefeglwys Charter Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 33 1904 Welsh Journals OnlineBennett, Richard. Methodistiaeth Trefeglwys, 1754-1814. (Cyfnod Daniel Rowland a Thomas Charles). Llanidloes : John Ellis, [1932?] 68p
Edwardes, Evan The registers of Trefeglwys Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 33 1904 Welsh Journals Online & Vol 33 1904 Welsh Journals Online
Evans, Charles. Perllan y dyffryn : neu, hanes crefyddol yn mhlwyf Trefeglwy. Dolgellau : Argraffwyd gan E.W. Evans, Swyddfa'r 'Goleuad', 1900. 148p
Jenkins, Hugh M. The history of education of Lower Trefeglwys. [Caersws] : [H.M. Jenkins], [1983?] 27p Monumental inscriptions. Parish church of St. Michael. No: MM1, ; Parish of Trefeglwys. [S.l] : Powys Family History Society, [1993] 95p
Morris, E Ronald. Lloyd of Cefnbarrach, Trefeglwys, Montgomeryshire. Cronicl Powys. No. 19 (1988), p. 12-15 Parish of Trefeglwys : Parish Church of St. Michael : memorial inscriptions. Welshpool : Montgomeryshire Geneaological Society, 2003. 94p
Pryce, Huw. The church of Trefeglwys and the end of the 'Celtic' charter tradition in twelfth-century Wales. Cambridge Medieval Celtic Studies 25 (1993), p. 15-54
The registers of Trefeglwys Collections historical & archaeological relating to Montgomeryshire Vol 32 1902 Welsh Journals Online
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Trefeglwys parish 1841-1901
| St Michael, Trefeglwys |
| Penycoed Independent Chapel, Penycoed |
| Quakers Garden And Burial Ground, Staylittle |
| Former Christ Church, Llawr-Y-Glyn |
| Society Of Friends Meeting House, Esgair Goch, Staylittle |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 11, North Wales. Ed. by Ieuan Gwynedd Jones, UWP, 1981. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Parish statistics; Area 18166 acres; Population 923 males, 870 females, total 1793
|
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Trefeglwys, St Michael
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Ebenezer CM Chapel, Llawryglyn
Church of St Michael, Trefeglwys on the Montgomeryshire Churches Survey site
The church and cemetery at Trefeglwys - on the People's Collection Wales site
Gleinant chapel (CM), Trefeglwys - on the People's Collection Wales site
Wesleyan churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Zoar, and Llawryglyn English Wesleyan
Baptist churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site - Staylittle
Calvinistic Methodist (Presbyterian) churches on the Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society site :-
- Gleiniant
- Llawryglyn
- Staylittle, Graig
Rees, Thomas & John Thomas. Hanes Eglwysi Annibynnol Cymru (History of the Welsh Independent Churches), 4 volumes (published 1871+). Here is the entry from this book for Penycoed chapel (in Welsh ) - with translation by Maureen Saycell (Dec 2010)
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Montgomeryshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1625-6, 1630-8, 1660-89, 1695-1957; Marriages 1661-89, 1695-1971; Burials 1632-9, 1661-1691, 1695-1988
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW, and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Trefeglwys, the Parish - "This site aims to be a comprehensive resource for a single parish and its people: Trefeglwys, Montgomeryshire."
Trefeglwys - on Wikipedia
Venedocia, Ohio - "The original settlers of Venedocia Ohio came from farms near the towns of Llanbrynmair, Trefeglwys, and Darowen"
- The transcription of the section for Trefeglwys from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Trefeglwys to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Ashton family, of Llawryglyn, papers [late 19th century]-1974 "The Ashton family lived at Llawryglyn, in the parish of Trefeglwys, Montgomeryshire, in the 20th century. Owen Ashton, of Chapel House, Llawryglyn, was called up to the armed services in 1916, and served in the trenches during World War I"
- Will of John Evans of Bryn Owen, Trefeglwys "John Evans of Bryn Owen, Trefeglwys, Montgomeryshire, was a farmer. He died on 21 April 1844, leaving all his real estate in Trefeglwys to his brother, Charles."
Old factory, Trefeglwys - on the People's Collection Wales site
Some old Photos of Trefeglwys [collection[ - on the People's Collection Wales site
Map of Montgomeryshire parishes on Montgomeryshire Genealogical Society's site - shows dioceses
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN915913 (Lat/Lon: 52.508425, -3.599782), Trefeglwys which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Trefeglwys and Llangurig School and Poor Law Records Include; .........................Poor Law Records of Newtown and Llanidloes Poor Law Union for the parish of Trefeglwys, Montgomeryshire, including: rate books, 1845-1892; Overseer's receipt and payment books, 1849-1872; and Collector's unpaid rates statement books, 1853-1883; and miscellaneous papers, 1879-1897"
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Trefeglwys Parish and Community Council records 1826-[1990s]
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Trefeglwys and Llangurig School and Poor Law Records Include "............. Records, 1841-1897, of Trefeglwys School Board.........."